Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I believe!!.... Do you?
A variation on the theme of Scrooge/Christmas Carol, where Susan Stone (Ally Walker) is visited by the "ghost" of her past, herself at the age of 7, and makes her realise just what a grump she has become! Little Suzie convinces big Suzie to make changes. The spirit of Christmas is alive and well!! A lovely movie which does make you wonder, just how would you react if your...
Published on 25 Jan 2008 by Combat Minnie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheese anyone?
Susan Stone a 30 something workaholic has stopped believing in Christmas. When, one night, she slips and bangs her head her seven year old self appears as a ghost to remind her of who she once was and about the spirit of Christmas.

This was too much of A Christmas Carol meets the Scrooge for my liking - I can't stand either film. It was a slow paced film and a...
Published 8 months ago by Zoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I believe!!.... Do you?, 25 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
A variation on the theme of Scrooge/Christmas Carol, where Susan Stone (Ally Walker) is visited by the "ghost" of her past, herself at the age of 7, and makes her realise just what a grump she has become! Little Suzie convinces big Suzie to make changes. The spirit of Christmas is alive and well!! A lovely movie which does make you wonder, just how would you react if your younger self came to visit you? Loved it!.... every household that loves Christmas should own a copy of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Christmas Film, 30 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
As a collector of Christmas films, it is a lovely way to pass a miserable rainy day and with all of this genre, there is a great deal of morality, actually it is a film for any day of the year, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you believe, 20 Dec 2007
By 
Boof (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
After having watched a few humdingers this Christmas in the straight to video stakes, this one was OK (just OK, mind).

After settling down with my mince pie and almost persuading my husband to join me (I told him that the cheerleader from "Heroes" stars in it, which got him half way to the couch until he found out she's 8 in it and made a hasty retreat) I actually managed to get to the end and heave a tiny satisfactory sigh. Brilliant is certainly isn't but it did warm the cockles for an hour or two.

Susan is a 40-something, divorced, bitter workaholic who hates Christmas and just as she's been cast out of her brothers house for telling her 8 year old neice that Santa isn't real, she slips and bangs her head. When she gets back to her appartment she meets her 8 year old self (Cheerleader from Heroes - who is very overly dramatic and stage-school brat in this, by the way) who wants to do all the stuff they used to do like go ice-skating and to the opera. Of course, grumpy Susan thinks she's going mad and is having none of it. To cut a long story short, Susan discovers that being a scrooge isn't such a good life afterall and even manages to fall in love.

It's cheesey, not the best acting in the world or the best plot, but it put a smile on my face and made me feel a bit Christmassy so it can't be all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm a believer!, 20 Nov 2008
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film...much more than I thought I would.
The premise of the film is that an unhappy thirtysomething woman is banned from her brother's family Christmas for telling her niece that Santa doesn't exist. She's then visited by a ghost of herself aged 7 with the aim of showing her just how grumpy she has become.

What sets this apart from the normal 'straight-to-video' film is the acting from the two female leads. I normally can't stand 'cute' kids in films. Fortunately cute wasn't called for. They played off each other wonderfully and for that reason it was very easy to accept the idea of a ghost.
I would recommend this for Christmas Eve viewing....grab a hot chocolate and relax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Linda Jean Craddy (HARTLEPOOL ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes this film is old now but I love it. Watched on tv so was delighted to find I could order. Look out for Hayden Panettiere as the young girl who is now one of the stars of Nashville.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun seasonal reminder not to ignore your inner child., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
From a cute little ghost to a handsome hero, the chast of this charmiming Christmas tale does its best to bring joy into a jaded young lady's life. Watching this will become a regular event for me around Christmas each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheese anyone?, 11 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Susan Stone a 30 something workaholic has stopped believing in Christmas. When, one night, she slips and bangs her head her seven year old self appears as a ghost to remind her of who she once was and about the spirit of Christmas.

This was too much of A Christmas Carol meets the Scrooge for my liking - I can't stand either film. It was a slow paced film and a bit boring in places. There was some entertaining scenes but they were few and far between. The two main female actors worked well together, almost as if they were playing off of each other. It definitely had the cheese factor with a not so great story line or the greatest acting but like most Christmas films you just can't help but smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you Believe, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Received in excellent order and what a bloody good film with excitement and thrills to keep you engaged and watching, brilliant and enjoyed from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
i love christmas so i am a christmas film adict loved this film would watch it again even it it was not christmas time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice dvd, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Believe [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
love this dvd see it a few years ago and it stayed with me so i bought it for xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Believe [1999] [DVD]
If You Believe [1999] [DVD] by Alan Metzger (DVD - 2003)
11.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews