Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a film to watch over and over and over again
watching it, i was surprised just how quickly it got under my skin.
Jessica and Hugh play their parts perfectly and so, so naturally.
A truly beautiful happening that re-affirms one's faith in the sheer
niceness of true love. One only wishes that some of it would rub
off .....on one's own life for example ,
Published 14 months ago by smokyashton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and Boring
This film could have been a lot more than it was but failed to deliver. Jessica Alba is her usual dull self. Once again, her character completely lacks in any personality, which isn't helped by the fact that she isn't a hugely talented actress. Hugh Dancy was better although I can't imagine this being an exciting role for him either. It was evident he had no on-screen...
Published 7 months ago by Chatterbox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a film to watch over and over and over again, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
watching it, i was surprised just how quickly it got under my skin.
Jessica and Hugh play their parts perfectly and so, so naturally.
A truly beautiful happening that re-affirms one's faith in the sheer
niceness of true love. One only wishes that some of it would rub
off .....on one's own life for example ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love and romance, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
Who should tell us how to behave and what is right? Old English colloquial standards set the scene here of adultery and deceit but through it all comes true love and romance of a forbidden young couple. If you like romance then you will like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 4 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is set in Sarawak in the 30's, and being from around this area, i can see how close to the truth it is! Although Alba is of a hispanic mix, she plays the character of an Iban girl very well, including the accent! Dancy is also..*ahem* yummy and really knows how to play the naive Englishman! I recomend this movie to all who enjoy love stories like this. Definately a ladies movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Love Story, 9 Jun 2014
By 
sassy28 (norfolk,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film yesterday and it was a perfect film for a lazy sunny Sunday afternoon. I thoroughly enjoyed this and was captivated by Hugh Dancy he is a delight to watch as John Truscott. Jessica Alba does what she does best which is basically look pretty while being stubborn and sassy. This is a film I'd happily watch again and again. It's not going to change the world but it does make you think and is very enjoyable a really lovely good old fashioned film with a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and Boring, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
This film could have been a lot more than it was but failed to deliver. Jessica Alba is her usual dull self. Once again, her character completely lacks in any personality, which isn't helped by the fact that she isn't a hugely talented actress. Hugh Dancy was better although I can't imagine this being an exciting role for him either. It was evident he had no on-screen chemistry with Alba at all, so despite his undying love for her character, the passion just wasn't coming through despite his best efforts. The fact that his character was so stereotyped into your typical boarding-school-Oxbridge Englishman didn't help make things exciting either. And Emily Mortimer was completely wasted in this movie when they could have done so much more with her.

The story is totally predictable and lacks both the imagination and the complexity to deliver anything romantic or interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Enjoyable Film, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Keith Dymock "Admirer" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
This well-acted and interesting film is of a recently-graduated young man from England who takes up a position of authority in the British colony of Sarawak in 1936.

He is told by the Governor that, in order for him to learn the local language, he should live with a hand-picked young local lady. This is a normal practice and before long, he has fallen in love with this beautiful young woman and his love is returned.

Everyone who sees the film will like it. It is different to the "normal" film that one sees. Take a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the movie the 1st. Time, since it is banned in malaysia, even when the movie was made there. Its a nice story and scenery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb story, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
Great Story line filmed in a beautiful jungle landscape. Very recommendable for anyone who enjoys Drama and romance at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sleeping Dictionary review, 25 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This is a beautiful film. Full of passion. I just had to keep watching it over and over again. Music is great too - very provokative. Well worth watching. Not many features on the dvd though, but the film definately makes up for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Mr C D West (Hackney, London, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] (DVD)
Great little film gem that went under the radar. Happy to have found it, only wish it was cleaned and on blu ray so I could see all the vistas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD]
The Sleeping Dictionary [DVD] by Guy Jenkin (DVD - 2004)
£4.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews