Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You know how I do..."
... The film is not a sequel to 'Swingers' and does not follow on from the 'Swingers' story at all (there are no "money" references to be found).
Anyway, a lot of you who haven't seen this film will be thinking 'Is 'Made' similar to 'Swingers'?'. Well, yes and no. Yes, in that it is another superb film written (and this time directed) by Jon Favreau, who again stars...
Published on 21 Sep 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The problem...
...is that Jon made Vince's character just so irritating and unlikeable. He is in fact downright dislikable. Pity - 'cos yes, it should have been much better.
Published on 25 Sep 2007 by Nicola La


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You know how I do...", 21 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Made [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
... The film is not a sequel to 'Swingers' and does not follow on from the 'Swingers' story at all (there are no "money" references to be found).
Anyway, a lot of you who haven't seen this film will be thinking 'Is 'Made' similar to 'Swingers'?'. Well, yes and no. Yes, in that it is another superb film written (and this time directed) by Jon Favreau, who again stars with Vince Vaughn, proving that 'Swingers' wasn't just a fluke, and that it's another dialogue-orientated comedy. And no, because the story and characters in 'Made' are very different to what we found in "Swingers"...
Firstly, 'Made' is a much darker film than 'Swingers'. It's set in a low-key mafia environment, and the action switches from Los Angeles to New York and back again. Jon Favreau plays wannabe boxer Bobby, who acts as protection for his stripper girlfriend (played by Famke Janssen) when she's on call. He loves her and her young daughter (who's "not even his"), and will do anything to make their lives easier - even doing odd jobs for small-time mob boss Maxi (the croaky, almost incomprehinsible Peter Falk - great value, as always), who just happens to employ Bobby's girlfriend as one of his team of strippers. When Maxi calls on Bobby to go to New York to do a mysterious "drop", Bobby gets his life-long friend Ricky to go along with him. Vince Vaughn is brilliant as Ricky, a total idiot, so different to the effortlessly cool Trent, who Vaughn played in 'Swingers'. The hapless Ricky provides most of the comedy in this film, his hilariously cringe-worthy efforts to appear streetwise and in-the-know, especially when trying to impress Maxi and his mob partner in New York, Ruiz. Sean Combs (a.k.a. Puff Daddy / P. Diddy) does well in his limited amount of screen time as Ruiz, although you do get the feeling he's maybe playing himself up to a point.
The cinematography and soundtrack to the film are excellent (especially in and around the New York nightspots), with the soundtrack varying from upbeat hip hop favourites - De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, Jurassic 5 - to Dean Martin. There are a lot of familiar faces who appear in peripheral roles (keep your eye out for actors from The Sopranos and a bizarre cameo by a cast member of early 90s teen show Saved By The Bell).
All in all, this is a great movie which is well worth buying, that further enhances Jon Favreau's reputation as a superbly deft scriptwriter, and confirms that Favreau and Vaughn are a marvellous on-screen duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The problem..., 25 Sep 2007
This review is from: Made [DVD] (DVD)
...is that Jon made Vince's character just so irritating and unlikeable. He is in fact downright dislikable. Pity - 'cos yes, it should have been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made, made good, 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: Made [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
A sequel but by no means a follow on to the hilarious 'swingers'. Same cast playing different characters, a typical straight man funny man routine but done well. The two main characters play off one another very successfully, and the combination of the quiet get the job done guy and the laddish out for adventure guy is perfect. if you liked the first movie you will love this one...... buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I could have been so good, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Made [DVD] (DVD)
Why? Why, why, why? I bought this film because of its connection with Swingers, which is a brilliant five star film. This on the other hand is not. I gave it three stars because I didn't have the heart to give Jon Favreau two stars but come on fellas, you could have done better.
The film follows Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughn and their flirtation with the mob. Jon Favreau plays a failing boxer named Bobby, he is shy and just like his character in Swingers but the love isn't there.
Vince Vaughn plays Max who is confident and good chums with Bobby (sound familiar). Unlike Swingers this film doesn't have you involved with the characters enough, you just don't care. If you like Swingers it deserves a watch, don't get me wrong it is good, just not great.
I won't do a long-winded and pompous review telling you where the lads went wrong, watch it on TV when it's on or borrow it off a friend. I can't condone downloading but whatever floats your boat.
I you haven’t seen Swingers I urge you to buy it, it’s only a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One for the charity shop, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made [DVD] (DVD)
Gave this a try but 10 minutes was all I could take of Vince Vaughn's arrogant, dumb, motor-mouth character. Juveniles with low IQs may find it amusing, I decided life is too short to waste on this kind of rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Swingers - then give this a go, 27 Oct 2008
By 
A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a fan of Jon Favreau's early work - and this film didn't disappoint.
Funny nearly all the way through - the 2 main characters are brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as ....., 4 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Made [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Whether you find your way to Made via Swingers or a.n.other route this is a true gem worth buying and rewatching again and again.
It's a satire on all the mob movies/TV shows that make a life of crime out to be something glamorous. Some reviewers have complained about the overuse of the f-word but that's the whole point I think Jon Favreau was trying to make - you can talk the talk but that doesn't make you a gangster. It's a dirty dangerous unpleasant business...as our anti-heros Bobby and Ricky find out.
The performances are excellent all round especially Jon Favreau as the quiet long suffering good guy and Vince Vaughn as the loud mouthed aggravating but ultimately loyal best friend. It's Vince's movie...and he looks like he's having a ball. The DVD commentary is worth the price of the disk in itself...watch for the game of noughts and crosses and the f-word score chart. Him and Jon Favreau really bring out the best in each other and the outtakes are hilarious.
It's seriously funny, sharply written, great direction - an all round fantastic movie...if not as easily accessible as Swingers. It's hard to compare the two. Swingers is the naive innocent little brother that you'll always love...Made the darker, cynical elder that won't be ignored - the product of Jon Favreau's five years in the battlefields of Hollywoodland following the making of Swingers.
Buy it...watch it...don't show it to your granny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be Made available!, 16 July 2003
This review is from: Made [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The follow-up to one of the best comedy/road trip/relationships film 'Swingers'. John Favreau really has it Made with this second film - I'm becoming a fan and have been looking out to purchase this film since I first saw it but as usual anything involving clever writing which is funny and intelligent is always hard to find. Make this a Saturday night viewing whether on your own or with a partner/friends - it suits any occasion (other than probably with your parents - they won't get it AT ALL). See it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They ain't no Goodfellas..., 19 Aug 2004
"Made" is the story of two misfit boxers who are best buddies (even though they're always arguing and fighting). Bobby is dating a dancer and doesn't like what her job entails, so he's hoping that he can find something that will solve their money problems so she won't have to dance anymore. Ricky is a fast-talking and always outspoken character who thinks he's all that when in reality he doesn't have a clue. The two friends are offered a gig by a mob boss that offers a big payoff. It's their chance to live the life of the gangsters that they grew up watching in movies. However, they're about to learn how different real life is from the movies... and how horrible they are at being gangsters.
This isn't the type of comedy that offers the obvious laughs or a "wacky" finale. There are no "zany" gimmicks or an over-the-top plot. The movie relies on the tone, which is very subtle and has great timing. The characters are real because they are written that way. While it may be hard to believe that any mob boss would give these two guys a job, we're able to buy it because it's written and structured in a very realistic manner. This is probably why the film isn't overly popular with many folks, but that's fine by me. I really enjoyed myself when I watched this, and even had a better time watching it the second time. Jon Favreau is great in his role, as he knows that he's not the showstopper and has to make sure that he's subtle and mostly quiet--that is, unless he's arguing with his buddy. Vince Vaughn is the definite showstopper, and you can tell that he has a lot of fun with the role. He plays it perfectly, and I'm convinced that nobody else could pull off such a stunt. We also must not forget the very funny Peter Falk, and it must be said that Sean Combs ("Puffy") does a very good job with his part as well.
I must warn you that the movie has TONS of profanities in it. It even outdoes "The Big Lebowski" in the F-Bomb department, believe it or not. If you're not a fan of non-stop vulgar language, then you better stay clear from this. I think the language works because the movie is trying to play like a "Goodfellas" gone completely wrong. The DVD has some really great special features. The picture looks really good, and the sound isn't bad either. Some of the extras include commentary, deleted scenes, outtakes, a scene edit workshop, documentaries and much, much more. Plenty of goodies to play around with.
"Made" is a movie that really worked for me. I think it's an extremely clever comedy that is character-driven all the way. It's entertainingly written and very well directed. Keep in mind that you will be taking a chance on this one if you decide to check it out. People have mixed feelings about it. With that in mind, I would suggest that you rent it first before you decide to purchase, just to be on the safe side. It's a short movie so it won't take up much of your life should you end up not liking it. If you're looking for a funny comedy that doesn't rely on the usual gags, then this is something that is worth checking out. -Michael Crane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Made me wish I'd rented a different film, 1 July 2005
This review is from: Made [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I'm not going to say this is the worst film I've ever seen because that would be to give it ideas above its station, but it's pretty awful. The story is trite and predicatable and the two main characters spend most of their time engaged in the most immature, school-boy squabbling - we are obviously supposed to find their incompetence hilariously funny, which it is for all of 2 seconds before becoming incredibly annoying.
To make matters worse they shout over each other so much that often it is unclear what is being said and to top this off the characters they play are both profoundly unlikeable - making me wonder why on earth I should care what happened to either of them.
It comes to something when the best thing in a film is Sean 'Puff-Daddy' Combes, but in this context his turn as a smooth gang leader, talking to his stockbroker on the phone about the bursting of the dot.com bubble, is side-splittingly funny by comparison. In fact his scenes come as a blessed relief as he is the only one of the cast who doesn't feel the need to deliver his lines accompanied by a fit of shrieking, undecipherable hysteria . I'm giving it one star for him.
It says a lot that the Vaughn and Favreau not only star in this but produced it as well - as this whole film smacks of a self-indulgent vanity project. I've not seen 'Swingers' but it seems to me that although Vaughn and Favreau might just about have been bearable in these roles as cameos, whoever thought that their sub-Chuckle Brothers clowning routine deserved its own movie needs their head examined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made [DVD]
Made [DVD] by Bill Capizzi (DVD - 2002)
3.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews