Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-Fi, 18 Mar 2004
By 
Sasa Husaric "sasa28" (Dugo Selo, ZG Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Season 2 (Box Set) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Farscape season 2 continues the fine tradition set in the first season. After finishing the season one cliffhanger when nearly everyone was left for dead the show continues with some very good and some excellent episodes in season 2.
About the boxed set
The set contains all 22 season two episodes divided in 5 sets of DVD's containing 4 or 5 episodes each. Some DVD's contain bonus features but these are merely comments and brief promotional videos and are a bit disappointing.
The DVD's have a nice layout but a bit annoying is a wormhole sequence which is played at absurdly loud sound level everytime you select an episode.
The set is nicely packaged but the quality of the package remains questionable since it is made out of paper. I own the season 1 and 2 and for now the package is not damaged but we will see about that when the show gets in the hands of some of my friends.
About the show
The story is about a pilot named John Chricton which during an experimental flight gets sucked in the wormhole and ends up on the other end of the galaxy. There he stumbles in the middle of a prison break and ends up with the escaped criminals on a living ship called Moya.
In the second season we see further development in character relations between the crew. Some fight and tensions as no one gets along all that well. We see some romances develop and some deals get broken. Nobody is completely without flaws but somehow they all pull together in tough spots and get through them.
My favorite episodes in second season are "The way we weren't" where we learn a little bit about Aeryn's and pilot's past and "Won't get fooled again" where Crichton wakes up on earth again. There is an excellent three part episode called "Liars, Guns and Money" when the crew of Moya decides to rob a bank to get enough money to buy D'argo's sun from slave traders.
The best episode must be "Die Me, Dichotomy" which is the last in the season but I won't spoil it for you.
Quality an conclusion
The picture quality is very good as the show is presented in 16:9 wide screen. The sound and special effect remain to be top notch. The creature and prosthetics keep getting better and more elaborate. If you loved the first season you'll love the second even more. The boxed set is much better than buying all the volumes separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Sci-fi, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Season 2 (Box Set) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Farscape was easily the best science fiction TV and during its woefully short 4 season run it gave us original, sometimes daring, often thought provoking and always absorbing episodes. It had everything - action, drama, romance and the acting was amongst the best I've seen in any genre.
Season 2 was an incredible season which charted John Crichton slowly having a nervous breakdown whilst his companions become increasingly concerned and frustrated with his increasingly bizarre behaviour and all with the imminent threat of being tracked down by their enemy, the downright creepy Scorpious. It might sound depressing, but in amongst the incredible drama there is a great deal of humour (some of it quite surreal - well, Crichton is having a nervous breakdown after all)). Some of the episodes are stand-alone but most evolve from what has gone before and you really need to watch the season in order to understand fully what is happening to the characters.

The trouble with something this good is that it has a rabid fan base (and I include myself here) who have already bought the original DVDs (of all four seasons) as soon as they came out, two discs at a time, and who are faced with the choice of 'upgrading' to this boxed set (I could spend quite some time ranting about this sort of marketing). For us it comes down to the extras; there are quite a few featurettes but they are available on the existing DVDs. The real difference is the commentaries from the cast and crew. Whilst interesting enough they are probably not worth shelling out such a hefty price for - not every episode has a commentary and I didn't find them particularly informative or amusing and I'm a Farscape obsessive!
If you are brand new to the world of Farscape but are committed to finding out what all the fuss is about then these full season boxed sets are a good idea - but buy it with the Season 1 box set or you'll be missing out on where it all began and the events in that season have tremendous impact on Season 2. And please, please, please don't be put off by the fact that Jim Henson's Creature Workshop is involved - this is not Muppets in Space, the puppets are very good and about half and hour into the first episode you watch, you'll forget they are anything other than living beings.
If you only have Season 2 on video then buy this instead of the other DVDs for the 'extra' extras. It probably works out cheaper too (although you should check that as I haven't done my sums).
But if you already have the episodes on DVD then think very carefully before succumbing to such a cynical marketing ploy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set of videos breaks away from all the conventional sci-fi films like star trek or voyager. There are no boundaries or rules that can't be broken, they don't go back to right any wrongs its just pure entertainment right they way through. There are the references Chriton makes to old movies and KFC and McDonalds that no-one else on board Moya understands. If you think that a living ship sounds just too fantastic and out of this world then watch the videos its so credible you feel that you are actually there with them. The action never stops from beginning to end. A very worthwhile buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A word about the bonus episode, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Farscape Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This release (UK 2010/2011) contains a "bonus episode" called Re-Union.
After watching the first 10 minutes and skipping forward a bit, it appears to merely be a different edit of the episode "Dream A Little Dream" (in which Zhaan gets in trouble on the planet of lawyers). Some scenes are cut, some are extended, but I doubt that it will turn out very different in the end. The video quality was also rather compressed compared to the original.
This didn't bother me because I didn't own any version of Season 2 previously, but if you already have Season 2 on DVD, think again before buying this edition just for the bonus episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and no problems with the discs!, 7 Jun 2011
By 
Andy (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farscape Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Farscape series 1 after randomly remembering it after about 10 years! Unfortunately this was just as the last set of Farscape DVDs went out of production, so series 2 has been a long time coming for me. Thankfully overall I haven't been dissapointed and infact as the series progresses it gets better and better, probably even surpassing series 1. The first 3 episodes did seem a bit weak however and I was almost regretting my purchase, a good example being D'Argo who appeared to have covered in curry powder in the first episode and sounded like a normal bloke rather than a hyper-rage capable Luxon warrior! (and also in a lesser extent the 2nd)

One thing that put me off buying the box complete box set was some people mentioned the poor quality of the DVDs and I admit the quality doesn't look fantastic, however all discs have played fine in my Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive with no vibrations or anything. Only slight thing I noticed was one of the title screens sound does seem to be 100% in sync (Kult TV logo) but thats no problem and the menu/episodes are fine.

/Goes off to order series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farscape Season 2 DVD Boxset, 2 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Season 2 (Box Set) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Not much to say really. If you are a Farscape fan you will enjoy the continuing saga of this Australian made series. If you are a sci-fi buff you should enjoy it too, however the first 3 seasons are not as enjoyable as when you watch them in sequence. Watch season 1 and progress through to the Peacekeeper Wars. Well worth it and deserves the 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now this is where it REALLY gets good, 29 July 2011
By 
Mr. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farscape Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season two is my personal least favourite series of this utterly wonderful sci-fi experience, which still propels it head and shoulders above other sci-fi shows. You immediately notice some changes from the previous season; a darker tone; slightly different direction; shorter run-time for each episode, surprisingly making the episodes seem snappier; faster, more wittier dialogue (some episodes go very West Wing from here on in, even Deadwood). But it's the same Farscape, the same characters, the same everything, though it still doesn't quite go all serial on us like it would eventually in season three.

The first is a wrap-up of the season one cliffhanger, and right from the off you'll notice some differences, especially in the character of Crichton, who has become a little bit mental in the head. The next two are regularly rated the worst episodes of Farscape ever by us Scapers (yeah, that's what we call ourselves, up yours), which is then followed by Crackers Don't Matter - an episode that was written in a rush because they needed a quick bottle show; Crackers shows us what this show is truly capable of, paving the way for some knock-out episodes, the writers and producers taking more risks than other shows took at the time.

And then there's the Liars, Guns and Money trilogy, and by Christ if you haven't seen it yet you're in for a treat. It still makes me clap my hands with glee even after over 50 viewings. If you haven't seen it, you just don't know what you're missing, and I pity you. I pity your empty, deplorable existence.

So, in summary then: season two is an uneven series to say the least, with more mediocre episodes than any previous or future season, but you can see the beginnings of greatness here, opening the door for season three, which is by far the greatest 22 episodes ever made of anything ever. Motherfreller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rigel XVI for king!, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Legal Vampire (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farscape Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Extremely mixed standard of episodes and beginning of Season a let down after the end of Season 1.

However, the main characters continue to be a strength. The episodes 'Won't Get Fooled Again' and 'Die Me Dichotomy' are highlights and worth viewing more than once. So is the 'Blooper' reel that is more than just bloopers. Other 'extras' mostly disappointing, except for the commentary on the final episode.

Mixed series from an often great programe. Fortunately the next Season, Season 3, is great.

Rigel XVI for king!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watch and watch again, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farscape Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I perchased Farscape DVD for my partner and I must say I love it to we are Farscape addicts now as I did'nt think that I would enjoy it, it came well packaged and in time stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sci fi at its best, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farscape Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
i love farscape and its nice to be able to purchase the new version. If you havent seen farscape and your a sci fi fan then your missing out. Would recommend this series to all. In fact you should buy all 4 seasons and the peacekeeper wars.......Season 2 is great liars gun n money stands out for me but the whole thing is a pleasure....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3463618)

This product

Farscape: Complete Season 2 (Box Set) [DVD] [1999]
63.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews