Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning of the end...
Buffy the Vampire Slayer has probably surpassed many people's expectations as TV series - despite having a small audience, the show and its stars have become modern pop culture icons. Last year they grew up, dealt with sex, death and addicition. As this season starts, all the characters must come to terms with their demons.
Buffy is now training Dawn, and gets a job...
Published on 16 July 2003 by MR GJ HUGHES

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing episode!
I recently bought the 1st part of series 7 on video. On the whole this is fantastic although it is probably overall my least favourite series of BTVS. HOWEVER! I have an episode missing... it skips straight from 'Bring on the Night' to 'Potential', missing out 'Showtime'. Is my version a one-off? Be careful when you buy and make sure you check before handing over any...
Published on 30 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning Of The Best Season!!, 23 May 2003
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is easily the best season of Buffy as it is the last and it has so many good episodes, the highlights of season 7.1 are Lessons the season premeier which is an average episode, has some pretty good fight scenes and a very good ending.
Selfless which explores Anyas past and is very funny again another great amazing fight scene between two of the main characters.
Conversations With Dead People this episode could easily be the best of the series as it only has 3 of it's main characters present for this episode and it sets up an amazing story arc about The First and it's intentions.
Sleeper is another great episode which is mainly centred around Spike, this is where the episodes start to get good as there is more of The First Evil around and you start to learn more about it plus it has a great ending.
Bring On The Night is one of the best episodes of the season with a very dangerous vampire rising from the hellmouth which kicks Buffys ass twice and it shows you that The First isn't messing around anymore, plus the ubervamp plays an important part in the finale and the potentials start to arrive.
Showtime which is the last episode of the boxset is a conclusion to Bring On The Night and again it is a very good episode with a great fight scene and more potentials arrive.
Overall this is the beginning of the best season, which builds up to an amazing series finale if you think this is a good boxset you haven't seen nothing yet!!
I give it a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 23 Nov 2000
The second video of the first season which includes the episode 'the pack' were Xander and some others are turned into hyenas and end up eating the principal. It also includes the episode 'Angel' were Buffy realises she is in love with Angel.I think these are some of the best episodes from this season .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back to the Hellmouth..., 3 Jun 2003
By 
"miley50" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
These first 11 episodes of Buffy Season 7 begin what is the most focused and consistent series of the most talked-about show of the last 7 years.
Eshewing the 'darkness' of the sixth season, Buffy Season 7, Part 1 goes 'right back to the beginning' in terms of story, style, comedy and nail-biting action. A new Sunnydale High School complete with a mysterious new principal, a new and seemingly unimproved soulful Spike, a magic-wary Willow and the hilarious comedy duo of Xander and Anya are all ingredients in this magical recipe.
The episodes really benefit from being watched back to back, as they fit together to form one epic finale to the series. While there are a few stand-alone comedy episodes (including one of the most hilarious denouements in 'Him' which has all the girls infatuated with the same guy) Joss Whedon and his talented writers and directors have pulled out all the stops to make sure that the celebrated series goes out on a high. We are introduced to new foes (the Ubervamp, anyone?) and comedy foils (last season's Uber-Geek, Andrew) that provide some of the series' highest points ever.
Threaded throughout this season is the extension and culmination of the whole Slayer mythos, as potential Slayers from all over the world are called to Sunnydale en masse to fight this year's 'Big Bad', a malevolent force called The First. Assuming any form it wants, The First tries to drive our heroes half insane, or just sends its blind minions, The Bringers, to hack and slash at anyone in their way.
Fans really couldn't have asked for anything more from Mr. Whedon for this last season. Not only are we kept thrilled and entertained, we are also teased and titillated by plot twists and killer dialogue. All episodes are good, but standouts are 'Conversations With Dead People' that weaves multiple - and quite unnerving - storylines; 'Selfless' in which Anya is finally forced to confront her whole vengeance demon identity, and 'Showtime' which is just that; a Sunnydale showdown. But there's much, much more to come...
A truly wonderful beginning of the end for an amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Final Series of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This promised such a lot and in the end failed to deliver. After the darkness and angst of Series 6 we were promised a lighter and brighter final series, with the main theme being back to the beginning. Yes, in Lessons we see Dawn starting high school and reminding us of the trauma that Buffy suffered during her high school days, but after that it went off topic. The main theme became the redemption of Spike; not that I objected to that as Spike is far and away my favourite character, but all the other main characters suffered as a result and became marginalised. There were some good episodes and some good scenes within episodes, but most of the comedy has gone and Buffy has become such a pain! Where is the witty repartee and the funny and wonderful interaction between the core Scoobies? On the plus side there is lots of semi naked Spike. There were major issues, yet we see little or no discussion of them. I can't help but feel that Joss missed an opportunity for some high drama there.
Joss was involved with 2 other television shows during much of this series and it shows. He needed to pay more attention to his original concept.
Having said all that, overall Buffy is still probably the best American television show to make it to this side of the pond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Begining Of The End, 12 July 2003
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
The seventh season of Buffy is tremendous. Firstly there's Buffy teaching Dawn the valuables of life and how to slay. Then in 'Beneath You' something is terrorizing Sunnydale but from beneath. Does it have anything to do wiyh Anya? In 'Same Time, Same Place' a man is found murdered SKINLESS the gang believe it has something to do with Willow, the only way to be sure was if they could see her! Then in 'Help' a girl is convinced that she will die can Buffy help her? In 'Selfless' a group of frat boys are found murdered with their hearts torn out. When the evidence points to Anya Buffy wants to put an end to her once and for all. Meanwhil in 'Him' all the girls are under a spell and in love with the same guy including Willow, leading to dramastic consequences. In the following episode 'Conversations With Dead People' Willow is visited by a dead person claiming to have a message from Tara. While Dawn is stuck at home with a ghost wanting to kill her. Then in 'Sleeper and Never Leave Me' Spike is back to his old ways dispite his soul and chip. Then in the final two episodes of this boxset 'Bring On The Night and Showtime' Buffy has to fight the thoughest vampire around the uber-vamp and not even a stake through the heart can kill them. This is truely the begining of the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Sep 2003
By 
J. E. Bamber "JJJJJ" (Seattle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I cant believe that this is the last season of Buffy. Why ? at least this box set is truly spectacular. Alyson Hannigon is the best in this season, she is coping with her magic addiction and she turns out some brilliant performenses, shes brilliant in conversations with dead people, when she has to cope with the idea that Tara is up there watching her it really made me cry.
I also think that Michelle Transberg's charecter has improved greatly, she's also brilliant in Conversations with dead people, she has to cope with the idea that her mum is being attacked by a demon. When Joyce does appear she stirs thing up for her though.
My faviourite episodes are: Conversations with dead people
Showtime
Bring on the night
lessons
and him
All the cast and crew deserve a pat on the back for their work here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show....shame about the ending!!, 23 Sep 2003
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I have been a masive Buffy fan since the film and have loved every season.Up till now!
Up until now Buffy has been a original, kinda addictive show, which just leaves you wanting more but i felt this season was a real let down.Granted I still enjoyed it but i was left feeling like I needed more.Like things were rushed and the show just kinda..ran outa steam.
Heres what I mean...Is is really believable that Willow would start a serious relationship so soon after what happen to Tara,her soulmate?I don't feel they delt with what happened at the end of series 6 as well as they could and should have.What really happened to Spike at the end and why did Sunnydale collapse? Personally I just felt things were'nt explained and were far to rushed.This series should have been great and memerable, seeing as it was the final.But it wasn't and because of that I feel let down!!
But still, great show and I will miss my Buffy fix from now on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning of the End..., 18 May 2003
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Well, those words have never been truer for Buffy. This box set contains the first 11 episodes, of Buffy's 7th and Final Season. This is the big build-up to the storyline of The First evil, and Buffys final battle. Of this writting the series finale has not yet aired, but Everyone can already tell it will be wonderful. The Episode in this set are...
- Lessons - Dawn attends Sunndydale High-School, and Buffy gets offered a Job as a counceiler.
- Beneath you
- Same Time, Same Place - Willow Returns to Sunnydale
- Help
- Selfless - Anya's History is releaved finally
- Him
- Conversations With Dead People - Season 7's answer to "Hush", "the Body" for "Once more with Feeling"
- Sleeper
- Never Leave Me
- Bring on the Night - Giles returns to Sunnydale with the first batch of potental slayers.
- Showtime - Buffy battles the fiercest vampire in history
Well thats it, the first half of the last season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A walk down memory lane, 1 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This is a great Buffy dvd for those of us who loved the series but couldn't quite bring ourselves to pay for all those series. Its really good value and all the episodes are quality entertainment not a bad one among them. Everyone is going to have different opinions about whether they were the right selection so here's mine...
My only complaint was that there was a heavy emphasis on earlier episodes. Two episodes about Oz and Willow but nothing from the series where Tara dies and Willow becomes the big bad. In Spike a couple of fairly random (though quality) episodes about him wanting to kill Buffy but it only touches on Spike's feelings for Buffy and completely misses the whole, soul return, saving the world arc that Spike goes through - a pretty major character development! Maybe I'm being fussy but it seems strange that a couple of such major story lines for the characters would be completley ignored and that both of these stories involve the later series.
Well worth the money though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good although slightly dissapointed with the Willow DVD, 6 Feb 2010
These sets are great for people who aren't bothered about the full season boxsets. Each disc has 4 of the characters best episodes and includes a character profile which includes interviews with the actors. The episodes for the Angel dvd and the Spike dvd are well picked but unfortunately the Willow dvd was centred more around Oz than it was Willow (with 'Doppelgangland' being the one exception). The slayer collection had a total of 8 dvds: Faith, Xander, Giles, Cordelia and Dawn also have their own spotlight DVDs and I would reccomend them all for those who don't have the boxsets. However if you do have the season sets (although the character profiles are interesting) I would not bother buying these as you aren't getting much extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998]
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Series 7 Part 1 [VHS] [1998] by Sarah Michelle Gellar (VHS Tape - 2003)
14.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews