Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANTLY FUNKY CLASSIC
this is snoop dogg when he was good, this is real gangsta rap, this album is laced with very catchy hooks and beats, and snnop dogg has a great flow, also good guest appearances from kurupt, lady of rage, daz, warren g and nate dogg, though this album is no great lyrical masterpiece and the lifestyle it projects is violent and sexist it was revolutionary for its time and...
Published on 1 Jan 2006 by chris cahil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tracks wrong
It came really fast but all the track were in the wrong place, under the wrong name on my pc. Whether this was my pc or the cd's fault, just thought I'd mention it.
Published 7 months ago by pinhead


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANTLY FUNKY CLASSIC, 1 Jan 2006
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
this is snoop dogg when he was good, this is real gangsta rap, this album is laced with very catchy hooks and beats, and snnop dogg has a great flow, also good guest appearances from kurupt, lady of rage, daz, warren g and nate dogg, though this album is no great lyrical masterpiece and the lifestyle it projects is violent and sexist it was revolutionary for its time and its just oen of those albums you can put in your car stereo and play the whole way through, this is a must have any rap fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beware of the dogg, cause hes good., 14 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
this is quite simply one of the best rap albums of all time, fact. dirty bass lines, thumping beats, catchy melodies, great lines all from a guy with a colonel sanders beard. with dr dre producing the whole album theres not one bad tune. its packed with classics like gin and juice, who am i, and the awesome aint no fun. if you get the chance to hear that song listen carefully to the lyrics of nate dogg opening up the track. he raps like a 50s lounge singer with lines dirtier than hugh hefner. if youre just getting into rap music and want to build up a good foundation of the best rap then doggystyle is the perfect start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now., 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
"I've never heard a perfect album, but I'd like to make one."
A direct quote from Dr. Dre immediately before the sessions for this album began. Did he succeed in making a "perfect album"? Of course he did.
With Doggystyle, he took everything which made The Chronic a classic and improved on it. The main difference between the two is that Snoop Dogg does nearly all of the rapping and Dr. Dre focuses strictly on production. I won't claim not to like Dr. Dre's rhymes. I get a good laugh out of them sometimes. But Snoop Dogg is perfect for this kind of material. This production suits no-one better than him. So it's only fitting that Doggystyle became one of the top 20 greatest Hip-Hop albums ever.
Even though it came so soon after The Chronic, Dr. Dre seems to have improved on his production by 120%. There's not a bad beat on here. They're all good. From the hypnotic "Lodi Dodi", which pays homage to Slick Rick (and sounds great when stoned) to the laid-back party track "Doggy Dogg World", everything is perfect.
And Snoop Dogg is just Snoop Dogg. An unbelievable vocalist who can flow over Dr. Dre's production effortlessly and with considerable class.
A true masterpiece. Buy it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOGGY STYLE IS SUBLIME, 22 Feb 2001
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
I bought TOP DOGG before i bought this and loved that album so i just had to have more. People i knew told me about this album and i knew i was gonna have to have it. I was not dissapointed at all with smooth west coast rapping and the best production possible by the great Dr DRE this is a classic from the G Funk Era.
Some of the best songs i have ever heard are on this album two of them being " Who Am I" a bit of a ghetto anthem but ever so good. the other joint that will blow your mind is "Aint No Fun" you know the Mariah Carrey song with the video featuring Snoop Dogg and Da Brat i could never figure out why he was there until i heard this. This is the original and so much better than mariahs the catchy tune is still there but with the gangsta rapping over the top ot is so muh more than she made of it. The rest of the album is just as good with the best rapping i have ever heard and with complete DRE production this makes this snoops best album to date which says something because it is his debut. When he does better than this it will blow up the gangsta rap scene again keping snoops place as one of the kings of west coast rap very firm for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC-SNOOP COULD NEVER DO AN ALBUM AS GOOD AS THIS, 2 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
now, even though now snoop dogg is just another average rapper, is 93 he was the man, this album is a classic in every sense of the word, first off, the production is simply amazing, perhaps the best production on an indivual album of all time, all the beats are melodic g-funk, and every beat just makes you want to dance, thats whats so great about doggystyle, its so funky. snoops butter smooth flow and unbelievable wordplay is immacualte, this album also has extremely catchy choruses, and athough the lyrics may not be deep or meaningful, they are very catchy, and snoop actually has quite a good vocabulary on this, overall, this is a classic, and one of the best rap albums ever, if you dont have it, then you cant call yourself a hip hop head, peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best rap albums....ever, 3 Sep 2001
This review is from: Doggy Style (Audio CD)
not only is this snoop's best cd by far, its also one of my favourite rap albums ever.
the music is just so good (dre stands tall), and the tight verses and hooks by snoop and co make this an absolute gem.
classic songs: gin n juice, murder was the case, serial killer, whats my name, ain't no fun, doggy dogg world, gz and hustlaz.
thinking about a rap cd, get this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Classic, 14 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best, if not the best, rap album of all time. I still love this album and even 12 years after its release nothing comes close. The production is absolute genious from Dr Dre and the raps are just stunning. After you listen to this album once all the way through you will fall in love with it because its amazing. Throughout Snoop's career he never comes close to this, if you have liked any other Snoop song then you need this album. Released in the prime of the Death Row era with Snoop and Dre at their best it has the perfect formula. Snoop's smooth lyrics just merge beautifully with the g funk beats. No point choosing a best song because the album is so good.
An essential for any music fan.
Don't be put off becasue it's 12 years old.
The greatest album of all time.
In my opinion better than The Chronic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could you not want this album!, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggy Style (Audio CD)
This was one of the first albums, borrowed from my brother, that inspired me into the world of hiphop!i just love the style of snoopdogg and all the original tunes get you on your feet dancing and singing along.all words that are true and spoken from the heart of an experienced rapper.infact this album is so good i think you should buy it now, i would list my favourites from this album but i love them all so thats all you need to know really.this album is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best hip hop albums ever, 26 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best hip hop albums ever, every song is brilliant and the lyrics are funny and clever and the producing and mixing is great. Whats my name is probably my favourite song ever in any music gendre. It is great value for money because you'll never get tired of it. It is snoop's best album ever and this is mostly because Dre produces all the songs. It also features Daz, Nate Dogg, Lady of Rage, Warren G and Dr.Dre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Freshest, Funniest Rap Album Ever", 11 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggy Style (Audio CD)
I have been an avid rap/hip hop fan for several years now, and this is the album that started me off. I was aged about ten or eleven when I first obtained this album, and back then I must have listened to it for a whole year. It not only displays the unique talents of the dogg, but snoop raps with some of hip hops most prestigious artists, including, a very notable and hefty contribution from the one and only Dr .Dre. This album contains a lot of stuff that was not new to the genre, but melds all the best features of rap into a musical masterpiece. My own personal favourite is 'Gz and Hustlaz,' which, typical to a lot of the album contains an extremely funny insert at the beginning, and once the bass line kicks in, its as if you're really there with snoop and the rest of the dogg pound. This album is pure genius, and is easily the best of his many, and I feel that any hip hop, nay, fan of music with any self respect should purchase this album NOW NOW NOW! Murder may have been the case that they gave him, but I'm giving him a big fat five shiny gold stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doggystyle
Doggystyle by Snoop Dogg (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews