Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mellow masterpiece
To hardcore Police fans of yesteryear, this album could have been construed as a disappointment. Who cares? The fact that this album was a monumental best seller that appealed to millions of people is a testament to its finely crafted pop tunes.

Sure, there are a couple of dogs on this album, namely the excrutiating Mother, the less than overwhelming Murder by...
Published on 29 May 2007 by John Holmes

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one track favourite
This group is not a favourite of mine, but I love 'I'll be watching you' and sing along with this track through gritted teeth while I reflect on this Goverment and the harm it is doing to our Nation and people. Worth buying for this reason alone.
Published 24 months ago by Mrs. S. Ayling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mellow masterpiece, 29 May 2007
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
To hardcore Police fans of yesteryear, this album could have been construed as a disappointment. Who cares? The fact that this album was a monumental best seller that appealed to millions of people is a testament to its finely crafted pop tunes.

Sure, there are a couple of dogs on this album, namely the excrutiating Mother, the less than overwhelming Murder by Numbers, and the pointless Miss Gradenko. However, these tracks are more than made up for by the searing intensity of Synchronicity II, the brilliant Wrapped Around Your Finger, and galactico uber hit Every Breath You Take.

Here we have a three piece band at the very height of their song writing and musical powers - the perfect time to call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Side one filler battles side 2 genius, 1 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The police released this, their final record (save the clumsy and doomed reunion of 1986) in 1983, 3 years before my birth. It's a testament to the record that not only has our vinyl copy lasted 20 years, but so has the music in its grooves. A few of the opening cuts could do with the cutting room floor treatment - notably Walking In Your Footsteps, which proves that songs about dinosaurs should be killed without prejudice. But the fist side closes on a high, with the sharp and darkclassic Synchronicity II. Side 2 is wall to wall quality, from the international, ironic mega-hit Every Breath You Take to the all time classic King of Pain, and a synth-laden return to their pop-reggae roots on Wrapped Around Your Finger. Yes, ill-concieved rhymes abound (Museum/see 'um) but overall, buy it cheap and revel in its glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh my precious Synchronicity, 5 Dec 2007
By 
Daniel Ash "DanAshSupermod" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Although all their albums are perfetly structured and worth a listen nothing ever sounded quite like Synchronicity. From start to finish the album grabs your attention with key songs like the title track, Walking in Your Footsteps and O My God! Side Two however is where the gems are and is worth the buying price alone. King of Pain, Every Breath you Take and my personal favourite Police track ever Wrapped Around Your Finger are beautiful songs with well written melodies and as always fantastic drumming and production. A perfect note for the police to finish on, and album with all but one filler (The for some unlistenable Mother). Apart from this minor glitch a great final album, if you were only going to get one Police album, get this one, even just for side 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album along with "Regatta De Blanc", 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Bearing in mind that the band broke up a year or so after recording this album, its not difficult to think that this sounds almost like a sting solo album in places. It's certainly unlike anything The Police had recorded previously, much of the reggae influence is absent here(but not totally), and in its place a more straight ahead rock sound (check "Synchronicity II"). There isn't a single dud track on here, it's also probably their most diverse album to date as well. There is so much more on this to enjoy than "Every Breath You Take". Fave tracks include "Synchronicity I", "Mother", "Wrapped around your finger" and the brooding "Tea in the sahara". If you don't own any Police records, get this and "Regatta de Blanc" first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the last of the greats, 8 Oct 2007
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Being a big Police fan since I was 6 years old this album to me isn't their best. Although The Police were the biggest band around with this album and it's not difficult to see why with songs such as Sychronicity I & II, Oh My God and Tea In The Sahara. But it also includes songs such as Walking In Your Footsteps, Mother and King Of Pain which to me are not some of their best. It does include one of the best songs ever written though with Every Breath You Take.
It is still a great album but not a patch on Regatta De Blanc and Ghost In The Machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowing Out With Style, 18 Aug 2005
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
This is the final visit of The Police to the studio (with the exception of the horribly revamped Don't Stand So Close To Me) and it's a good way to go out - arguably their best album. Musically diversifying still further, this ranges from dreamy songs like Tea In The Sahara and Wrapped Around Your Finger to out-and-out rock with the brilliantly dark Synchronicity II, which still makes me laugh with delight - "we try to shout above the din of our rice krispies"! Lryically and musically superior to all their previous efforts, it is a fitting final offering from a great band. It has to be 5 stars for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Farewell to Kings, 16 Oct 2003
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The Police's last studio album contained one of their best known hit singles in "Every Breath You Take" but the track is rather an oddity on the album as the band's sound became more expansive on this album (progressive?) than ever before barely resembling the rock/reggae crossover they so well exploited on early albums.
Like all other Police albums, I like this album alot as overall, the songwriting is of a high quality, the production is good and the album sounds good to listen to. For me, the standout tracks are "Walking In Your Footsteps", "Mother" (Don't ask me why - I just think it is great that Andy Summers was able to get this mad song on the album - think Oedipus Complex), "King of Pain", "Wrapped Around Your Finger" and "Tea in the Sahara" - at least half the album is fab!
A great way to bow out on i must say...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying but rather dark album ..., 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
I first heard this album soon after it came out so many years ago, and was impressed. Having lost the CD a long time ago, I bought it again this week and listened to it twice this evening. It still impresses, but I couldn't help thinking how lacking in joy this album's songs come across in listening. The internal strains of the Police as a band and with personal difficulties to face in their lives could not but influence the kind of music they would produce for this their last album. That said, it's a very accomplished work, both musically and verbally.

Stand-out tracks for me are Every Breath You Take, King of Pain, Wrapped Around Your Finger, and Tea in the Sahara, all on side two. Some of the other tracks on side one are not without considerable merit, such as Synchronicity 1 and Walking in Your Footsteps, and none of the rest on both sides is bad (even if one or two tracks are quite disliked by many fans). The change in mood in the album compared to the previous ones is noticeable, and the beginning of a solo Sting career in the making is also evident, with all the best songs written and sung by him. But the combination of wonderful guitar work by Andy Summers and brilliant drumming by Stewart Copeland shouldn't be underestimated, and they, together with Sting's bass and unique vocals, made the sound of Police instantly recognisable. No wonder that the Police were regarded as an excellent band in their time, and their legacy continues in that people still want to listen to and dance to their music. Not many bands from thirty or so years ago could say that.

I don't think I can say much more about Synchronicity without repeating what many people have already said over the years, but for me it provides a worthy conclusion to their brief career. Since I now possess all five of their albums (all re-bought or bought for the first time this year), I think I have finally acquired a true measure of how great a band they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last offering??, 28 Feb 2008
By 
andy "andy" (Cornwall, England UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
When i first bought this album aged 13 on vinyl from woolworths in 1983, i was blown away by the difference of the song structure from the previous LP, Ghost in the Machine.
It opnes with one of the standout tracks Synchronicity 1, which is completely brilliant, catchy, compelling and driving.
The next track, Walking In Your Footsteps again shows an unusual stripped down sound which grabs the attention.
Then we are back on almost Zenyatta territory with O My God, which again is a great song, with that distinctive Andy Summers guitar twang.Messy ending though.
And next is the one that is love or hate; Mother.
This song is a Summers song in the mould of 'Friends' which was the b side to Don't Stand So Close To Me, and there you have it really; this one should have been a B-side to a single and allowed great songs that WERE b sides to singles off this album to actually make it onto Sychronicity itself, such as Someone To talk to, and the very dark and compelling Once Upon A Daydream, but there you go, these masterpieces we were denied, unless you buy the vinyl singles, or Message In A Box.
Miss Gradenko i love, because it has the quirky Stewart Copeland identity which there was not enough of on Police albums, and it harkd back to the Regatta album.
Sychronicity 11 i always disliked. I thought it was a bit pointless and just doesn't quite work as a song. Good lyrics though.
Every Breath You take, what can i (yawn) say? Everyone knows it, its a great song but been played to death, not their best though i don't think.
The songs that make up the rest of the album show The Police at their finest.
King Of Pain, Wrapped around Your Finger and Tea In the Sahara show a breathtaking musicanship, songwriting ability and diversity of song style which makes for an interesting listen. Tea in the Sahara is just amazingly brooding and atmospheric, made all the more so by Andy Summers echoplex guitarwork.
Then Murder by Numbers, a B side which was an extra track on the original cassete release, and again suffers froma messy ending, but is very bluesy, great guiar work and a nice drum riff.
What you get is a very diverse album that even today does not sound dated, and that is always the mark of a great album.
Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes me back to the 80's, great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Synchronicity
Synchronicity by The Police (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews