Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 13 Mar 2004
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I love this record!!! This is a completely joyous album, and if you don't have a huge smile on your face by the end of it then you're beyond help. Skip the last track ("A Long Day" - 45 minutes of nothing in particular) and the rest of it is solid gold. Stand-out tracks for me are "Light and Day / Reach for the Sun", "Hanging Around The Day" and "It's The Sun", but in all honesty it's all perfect stuff. Love it to bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Album!, 3 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I first saw the spree on later with Jools Holland a few months ago and was impressed but not completely taken in by them. However, i borrowed the album without the extra dvd and listened to it pretty much non-stop for weeks. After this, i went to Cardiff with somes friends to see the spree and found it was one of the greatest experiences of my life! Not only do they capture the beautiful and powerfulness of the album but they beat it. On and off stage, these songs are some of the most happy, amazing and joyous songs i have ever heard. The album itself is pure quality which unique and a pleasure to hear. If your sad this will make you happy, if you're happy it'll make u rejoice in the wonderous specticle that is The Polyphonic Spree. The DVD makes the purchase twice as good, as they link Hanging Around and Soldier Girl with the perfect drum fill - just as they did in Cardiff. The album just oozes happiness and you will soon find yourself not only loving, but joining the cult of The Polyphonic Spree. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh the joys of finding such an amazing album!, 5 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. P. T. Trainor "petemachine" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
What a toptastic album of face grinning magnitude. Its one of those easy listening feel good albums that although gets pretty samey, its samey in a really good way. It all kind of blends into one big muppet-esque happy anthem. Its great to start listening to something & get a really happy vibe from it!!! Bring on the second album... and the third... and the forth... and the fifth, and may 23 people strong rock pop chours rule the world!!!!!!!!! Hooora.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy? You will be., 17 July 2003
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The Polyphonic Spree isn’t just a group of happy-go-lucky Texans who’ve formed a bizarre cult-band and dress in long white robes. Well, actually, that’s exactly what it is. What I mean to say is, they’ve actually got some talent. Not only is this one of the most original albums of the 21st century so far, it sounds good too.
After seeing their spectacular live act, I just had to get a memento of the uplifting performance. The special edition album does not disappoint. ‘Hey now, it’s the sun, and it makes me smile’ is an example of the incredible cheeriness of The Polyphonic Spree songs. And you just can’t help smiling yourself. Luckily, they don’t take themselves too seriously, which further adds to the album’s overall effect. Yet this album is far from a joke in terms of quality. They vary the tempo of the songs well and there is a good balance between musical sections, the solos of lead singer Tim Delaughter (appropriately named) and the whole-hearted input of the choir. The songs are well constructed and often catchy enough to have you singing along until well after the end of the song.
The only real criticism I have is that there simply aren’t enough songs on the album. ‘Hanging around the day’ has been split into two parts (the first part of which is simply the musical intro) and ‘A long day’ hardly counts as a song since it is just some strange noises. So I suppose there are just 8 proper songs on the album.
Luckily, this special edition offers ‘alternate versions’ of four of the best songs so you get 47 minutes worth of The Polyphonic Spree instead of the mere 33 minutes on the basic album. Also, the DVD features The Polyphonic Spree live at The Shepherds Bush Empire in London. This gives a taste of what they are all about and is one of few bonus DVD performances worth taking the time to check out. Unfortunately however, it only lasts about 15 minutes. The other bonus material is not very interesting.
This is worth buying. It is something different, but in a good way. A refreshing start from an original group (something that is regretfully hard to encounter at the moment). Be sure to buy this version and not the basic album though, if you want value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop preaching I am already converted!, 9 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
How can you not fail to like a band/collective/cult made up of 25+ people who look like the love-children of Shaggy and Velma from Scooby Doo? Every record collection needs a few timeless jewels to keep it warm. This is definitely one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the spree hit greenbelt, 27 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
polyphonic spree played the greenbelt festival on aug bank holiday in the uk. and went down a storm. a total mix of styles and masses of energy on stage. i personaly thought pink floyd in their early days. top notch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What fun, 29 July 2003
By 
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Wow, this band has an energy quite unlike anyone else. They are a refreshing break from polished acts and their pressence on stage is outstanding. They have managed a good blend of Pixies/Ozzy/Jellyfish with a choir thrown in for luck. Their sound is large and exciting and the lyrics are thoughtful and amusing, if not a little spartan (also refreshing). The album is a bit odd as half of the tracks are alternate versions, but they stand up in their own right. The playing is loose but they hold it together with their energy, obvious joy and the front man, who is very charismatic.
If your looking for a good fun time for all sexes and ages then these are your boys and girls...and the free DVD is excellent.
Hope to hear from them again soon.
A must see stage show....roll on the next tour/album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .thanks for buying it and thanks to those who even stole it., 10 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Ok, i never review anything, but....This is an evening where i had a bottle of red whilst playing my latest purchases ......Nick Drake ( chilled tastic ) and to my suprise (polyphonic spree). All i can say is 'ocean colour scene meets pink floyd' in a very unpretentious 'sit down layback and dream of the better things in life' cd. Buy it, or do like i did, jump onto milk and cookies web site to hear it whilst playing their mind bending games. Whoever dragged the review score down to 4.5 wants shooting. I bet they secretly have a Nick Berry album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Spree, 1 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This first album from The Polyphonic Spree is a great start. I got it after seeing the Spree play an amazing gig at the Greenbelt festival which completely blew me away. While there is little chance that that could be matched, the album is still very good. The only reason it does not get 5 stars is because while it is full of energy this is not as important on a CD as it is at a live concert and perhaps musically the tracks do suffer slightly as a result - yet the songs are still excellent to listen to.
Technically good songs and clearly very well thought through- The Spree are a fantastic band although personally I feel they must be seen live to be fully appreciated. A great DVD accompanies the album which in my mind secures the neccessity of 'The Beginning Stages Of...'. The highlight of the DVD is the three tracks on it from a Shepherds Bush gig- this lets you see how superb the band are.
To conclude, a great album- it should be bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut but best was yet to come., 20 April 2010
This review is from: The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The other reviews detail the positive, uplifting sound of TPS.
This is a good album, a little underproduced but it sounds like the band were having a great time making it.
The follow-up, "Together We're Heavy" is their classic. Much richer in sound and with a superior production but there are some great tracks on this debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10f677e0)

This product

The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD]
The Beginning Stages Of... [CD + DVD] by The Polyphonic Spree (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews