Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will see light in the darkness
The Police's fourth studio album saw them expand their sound from previous albums with the inclusion of brass sections and an increase in the use of keyboards rather than the more traditional three piece sound of the first three albums (bass, guitar and drums). Luckily for The Police this evolution did not prevent them from scoring a massive hit with "Every Little Thing...
Published on 16 Oct 2003 by the_man_in_the_star

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY STINGY
I LOVE the police,but cannot bear to listen to stings solo stuff,so for me this sounded like Sting trying to change what was such a great sound, into this album. Some good tracks,but for me,a step in the wrong direction for the band.I can just see Sting when i listen to this,topless,MASSIVE ego-BBBBBBLLLUUUGGGHHHH !!!
Published 16 months ago by Event2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will see light in the darkness, 16 Oct 2003
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
The Police's fourth studio album saw them expand their sound from previous albums with the inclusion of brass sections and an increase in the use of keyboards rather than the more traditional three piece sound of the first three albums (bass, guitar and drums). Luckily for The Police this evolution did not prevent them from scoring a massive hit with "Every Little Thing She Does is Magic" (throwaway pop IMO!) whereas the other two singles (Invisible Sun (referencing "the troubles") and Spirits In The Material World) are rather more thoughtful songs as seems to be most of the album. In terms of the other tracks, it ranges from the brilliant "Secret Journey" ("you will see light in the darkness") and "One World" to the rather laboured "Demolition Man". Sting's songwriting is generally very good on this album and as previously mentioned above he could still write a great pop song. I would add an honourable mention goes to Andy Summers's "Omegaman" while Stewart Copeland's "Darkness" is possibly not the best song he wrote for the band.
In conclusion, this is one of my favourite Police albums as it attempts to change the (winning) formula of the first three albums although in reality probably sowed the seeds for Sting's future solo career...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back With A Vengeance!, 18 Aug 2005
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
The two-year gap between this album and the previous Zenyatta Mondatta, allowed the band to craft some really excellent songs, and change musical direction once again. The fast pop / reggae crossover of previous albums briefly appears with Rehumanise Yourself, but the rest of the album (with the obvious exception of Every Little Thing...!) is musically a lot more substantial. There is extensive use of synthesiser and saxaphone, which Sting learned to play in a few months, prompting Copeland to (only half) jokingly label him as a "crummy little creep"! The relational cracks between those two, which ultimately broke up the band, were obviously well-known by this stage, but they seemed to have spurred them on to greater things in this album. Sprits In The Material World is a great opener, followed by the brilliant Invisible Sun (ridiculously banned, because a certain broadcaster viewed it as pro-IRA!). Whilst Sting could obviously still write great pop songs (Every Little Thing...), this was altogether more serious stuff. Other great songs include Omegaman, Secret Journey and Darkness, but the rest of the album doesn't quite hit the spot, hence only 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong case for the format!, 9 Dec 2003
This review is from: Ghost in the Machine (Audio CD)
The Police were an excellent band and this is an excellent Police album.
Ghost in the Machine marked a change in the way they wrote music; it’s a ‘darker’ album than the previous three and certainly more adventurous musically and lyrically. I can’t think of one bad song, even the token tracks by Stewart Copeland & Andy Summers are good. Definitely one of the best albums of the eighties, and although Synchronicity was hailed as their greatest achievement I think that Ghost is in many ways superior. Thoroughly Recommended!
The SACD version is sublime, definitely a strong case for the format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everylittle thing they did, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
supuerb, what can you say the agnostic and dynamic relationship between Sting and Copeland is fully exhibited in this grand jesture. They were the best band in the world and although this is all to forgotten nowadays the bass lines especially on "Hungry for you" and "Secret Journey" speak volumes
if you haven't got it get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every little song they wrote was magic!, 15 Feb 2002
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
The year was 1981 and the Police were on top of the world, musically and lyrically. This album is remembered most for the most beautiful pop song of them all..."every little thing she does is magic..". Not surprisingly it still sounds so fresh and cheerful in 2002. Other high points are
"Spirits in the material world", "Invisible Sun" and the most clever of clever guitar riffs in "Omegaman". "Secret Journey" is testing and tuneful (echos of the "message in a bottle"
guitar sound). Some of the songs are lacking something.. "Rehumanise yourself" and "Demolition man" just don't do anything for me. However on a very bright note , it finishes with the wonderfully gloomy "Darkness"...
Ah..the great '80's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sounding album., 14 May 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was not always into the music from 'The Police', but this was one time I thought they sounded particularly good, and my favourite single from this album was 'Spirits In The Material World' which was not their most successful. It didn't make the top ten, whilst two others did - 'Invisible Sun' which made number two; and 'Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic' which gave them another chart-topper.

All the singles appear on the album one after another, and so after the first three tracks, all is pure album material.

Note: Some CD copies have the Video included for their number one hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sounding album., 14 May 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost in the Machine (Audio CD)
I was not always into the music from 'The Police', but this was one time I thought they sounded particularly good, and my favourite single from this album was 'Spirits In The Material World' which was not their most successful. It didn't make the top ten, whilst two others did - 'Invisible Sun' which made number two; and 'Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic' which gave them another chart-topper.

All the singles appear on the album one after another, and so after the first three tracks, all is pure album material.

Note: Some CD copies have the Video included for their number one hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
this has got to be the police at their best . i like every song on this album, and some , like invisible sun are better than their biggest hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spirits, 9 Nov 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
Not up to the simple creativity of their first 2 and final releases and probably on a par with Zenyatta... . It starts superbly with the peerless 'Spirits in the Material World'. I remember this as being one of my few first experiences of pop songs. This and the opening to 'Invisible Sun' still have a haunting quality for me, as a gateway to a time of my life that is slowly becoming cloudier. It is not purely because of this personal connection that I rate the first 3 tracks so highly; they are simply excellent songs. And 'Every Little Thing...' is almost a template for perfect pop song writing. Tingly.

After this however the quality subsides rather than disappears altogether. 'Hungry For You' is a good, mid-paced 80s dance track. It's gor rhythm and funk but not much in the way of tune or melody. 'Demolition Man' is similar. It builds on a repeated riff, adding reggae to pop as opposed to the other way round which arguably works better. It's an ok song that feels more of a jam. 'Too Much Information' and 'Rehumanize Yourself' follow this pattern although they are not as long. They sound fun and upbeat but also sound like a band wanting to be classified as World Music instead of the pop act they had become. 'One World' is the LiveAid track insomuch as it sounds perfect for an elongated jam infront of thousands of people trying to bring down apartheid but not so special as part of an album.

Luckily it ends as it started - with a few crackers. 'Omegaman' is a great song with an excellent chorus and 'Secret Journey' is slowly becoming one of my favourite Police tracks that non-fans don't know. 'Darkness' is a suitably lack-lustre closer, in tone not quality. It's a grower but delivers eventually.

Not their best album but contains some of their very best tracks (the first 3 being my pick and 'Secret Journey'). Their next and final album, however, was set to blow everyone's mind and also produce a testament to their short time as a group with the song that will be forever played - good job it was a an all-round winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "From Darkness to Light & not end of the world! by 'The Police'?", 4 May 2009
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost In The Machine (Audio CD)
As someone who started to listen to Roots Reggae after 1979 and the influence on me was the 'white reggae band': the Police & their hit single: "Walking on the moon" and this track is from the "Reggata De Blanc" album and not "Ghost in the machine" (GITM) album - which this review is about!

The Police are perhaps one of the greatest bands & especially between 1981-3 period. To many people, the Album "Synchronicity" stands out. However, I found the GITM the fourth Police studio album as my choice & synchronicity album does contain their best ever hit: "Every Breath You Take" may be reason for it being more popular than this Album?

The GITM 1st track: "Spirits in the Material World" is a great opener, followed by the brilliant "Invisible Sun" which is a tribute to those living amid the turmoil and violence in Northern Ireland & was unfairly banned, because a certain broadcaster viewed it as pro-IRA!

Other good racks are "Secret Journey"; "Every Little Thing She Does..."; "Darkness"; "One World" & "Omegaman".

As for other tracks, on the whole they were average tracks but that does deter me from complimenting on the band's thoughtful approach to issues through their lyrics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost In The Machine
Ghost In The Machine by The Police (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews