Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2003
This is much better than any b-sides compilations i have heard. It maybe could have done without Socialist serenade and we her majesty's prisoners. But the rest of the tracks are truly exceptional. Judge Yr'self, Forever delayed, Dead trees and traffic islands, prologue to history and donkeys are some of my favourites on there. The covers is good too but not as good. There is a great cover of last christmas and raindrops keep falling on my head. Very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2004
I can honestly say this was my most pleasant Manics surprise yet - (apart from seeing them live). I didn't realise they had all these hidden B-side treasures - admittedly, these were mainly from their 'glory years' early to mid 90s - b4 fame, money & er, pies, seemed to get to their heads & seriously affect their output. Back in the days of The Holy Bible & b4, as far as I can remember, no-one actually gave a toss about the Manics apart maybe the trendiest London gig-goers, so it's a nice surprise to discover all these longstanding gems like 'Donkeys', 'Sculpture of Man' & 'Comfort Comes' without having to buy old B-sides off Amazon or ebay. Admittedly, there is some crap like the last 2 tracks on CD one - and to be honest CD 2 seems pretty pointless - but I reckon it's worth it just for the majority of CD1. And it's a tribute to one of the (few!!!) lasting plus sides of the Manics that they continue to be a democratic & fan-respecting band - Nicky asked fans to vote on the website for the favourite B-sides, realising that this should be an album for them/us first & foremost. Now pleassss Manics, will you finally do the decent thing - at least 7 years overdue - & call it a day?!?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2009
This is a 2 CD compilation of B sides, rare tracks and covers. So by their very nature it is full of songs that were either not good enough to make the albums or not the usual material that a Manics fan would accept. Therefore Lipstick Traces contains a lot of weak tracks, particularly on the 1st disc, however it is saved on the 2nd by the inclusion of some eclectic cover versions.
James Dean Bradfield tends to shout a lot of his lyrics so the slower covers give the listener the chance to really appreciate how brilliant of a singer he is. Last Christmas, Bright Eyes and Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head might, at first glance, seem to be strange choices but they are given a new dimension by the Manics magic.
This compilation is probably more for the existing fans than new listeners but if you ignore some of the weaker tracks it is well worth a listen before you decide to play their Holy Bible or Everything Must Go CD's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2003
I have been a fan of the MSP for some time and have seen them live several times only to be blown away by James Dean Bradfields diversity in his use of vocals and the great artistic use of playing the guitar along with with Nicky Wire and Sean Moores skills at giving the best live performance ever, this latest album shows that there is a lot more to the MSP than ever, it shows that James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire and Sean Moore has got the ability not only to produce a great performance for the MSP lyrics but also with other great artists.I congratulate them in the great produce of their own tracks in which the tracks take you through the time & style of their music and have produced great copies of tracks from other artists which unfortunatly cannot be said of later bands that have been over produced into the music industry. VERY REFRESHING.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2003
i would so have liked them better if this material had been the stuff they'd released over their career... a fairly potent cover of "It's So Easy" and a cracking second cd... show me what talent the manics really have... they pull off everything they mean too with such ease... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2003
The 2nd Manics release within the space of a year, Lipstick Traces collates a host of rarities, b-sides and covers into one handy collection. The real pull for Manics fans is the track Judge Yourself, the last song written as a 4 piece, recently discovered and beefed up by long term collaberator Dave Eringa. And there's plenty of other gems including recent new song Forever Delayed, played live during the winter then touted for a single release last January and Prologue To History, one of the best songs not to make it onto a studio album.
For non-single collectors the package is a worthwhile buy, revealing a different side to the band as they cut loose and take a few risks with non-rock styles (From country-tinged laments to a full on easy listening whig out !)
The covers disc works well in tracing the Manics influences throughout the years from their early Clash obsession, through their contemparies like Happy Mondays, Nirvana and Primal Scream, but the best track is a simple version of Bright Eyes, from December 1994 with James giving a real lump-in-the-throat solo performance.
Overall its one for the completist, and its a lot cheaper than hunting down old deleted singles. For new convertees its not essential Manics, but does provide a handy companion piece to the recent Greatest Hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
I advice people to approach this with caution. I bought this on the strength of being a long time Manics fan, thinking it would at least be worth a listen after the unlistenable Know Your Enemy. I have a couple of singles from the Richey James era, and i enjoyed hearing songs like Donkeys and Bored Out of My Mind again. Covers of Wrote for Luck and Its So Easy are pretty cool.
This in my opinion would have been much better condenced to one CD. Some of these songs are just a deadweight over 2 discs.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2003
it seems the manics become more like the rock-band institutions they used to resent with this release, this is highlighted by the inclusion of the odd punk track amid the mainly easily forgettable ones. This is an even mix of the very good & the very bland.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
I first heard the MSP when I heard 'Judge Yerself' on kerrang in 2003 just before I went to Art college. The song struck me as truely awesome, and I figured the band who made it must be something of geniuses- not the case- having listened to this b-side (more like F side album) and the entire MSP discography, this is a band who has had a couple of okay albums, then gone onto release half arsed moderate brit radio rock to fufil their 6 album contract. Infact, Judge Yerself is the only decent origional song on this album, and, as great as it is, it's not worth the time it takes of going online to order it, opening it and sticking it in your CD player, the 2 hours of your time it will wastefully sponge-up, then having to have to go to the trouble of selling it 2nd hand/or the energy you will expell from destroying it. Wrote For Luck, which is origionally a cover by the detestable happy mondays manc monkey band actually works. You can download this album somewhere just for Judge Yerself, then send the rest of it to your recycle bin. I actually upped the BPM on my media player to get through it faster- listening to it was reminscent of being a kid with car sickness and the driver is smoking a cheap cigarette brand with sh*te laying from the radio. It also reminded me of russel crowe singing songs drunk. So all in all, this bolox was just released for the £££££££ , not for people's enjoyment. Listening to this drunk I would probably be inclind to conteplate suicidal acts if I couldn't evade it by smashing the CD player or running out the house.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.68
£4.36

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)