Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Prologue to History
This is a superb album, an excellent collection of b-sides which pretty much gives an good alternative history of Manic Street Preachers. There are some stunning tracks on the double album, the most notable for me being, Judge Yr'Self, Prologue To History and 4 Ever Delayed.
During a recent web chat Nicky Wire said he thought that Richey's favourite track might have...
Published on 1 Aug 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B sides = second choice
This is a 2 CD compilation of B sides, rare tracks and covers. So by their very nature it is full of songs that were either not good enough to make the albums or not the usual material that a Manics fan would accept. Therefore Lipstick Traces contains a lot of weak tracks, particularly on the 1st disc, however it is saved on the 2nd by the inclusion of some eclectic cover...
Published on 15 Jan 2009 by DARREN "Big Nose" WALKER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A classic compilation of rarities, long overdue!, 7 July 2003
At last the Manics have got their act together and released a compilation of those excellent but ellusive bsides! There are some real classics here that many fans will instantly love, highlights include the beautiful 'Donkeys', the dark brooding 'Comfort Comes' and the explosive 'Sculpture Of Man'. It's a shame that some of the older (and in my opinon superior) bsides have been ommited in place of the newer ones that many fans are able to own quite easily, but those on offer will defintely satisfy any Manics fan! The covers are all excellent, and the inclusion of two new tracks, including the superb 'Judge Yr'self' makes this a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rarities that ROCK!!!, 13 July 2003
By 
Its been a long time in coming but this album has finally arrived! i have heard most of this compilation before from downloads and bootlegs but all were of a low quality recording. Now released as an album proper, you will hear a lot of rare songs in studio quality. A must for any Manics fan of a music lover in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars manics secret album, 5 May 2010
By 
S. wastell "heavenly" (tamworth england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if ur a manics fan from the beging, u will love this cd.cd 1 is full of b sides, best 1 is cd2, full off cover songs. ranging from raindrops keep falling 2brighteyes.they put their own unique spin on the tracks,james voice lifts each song, heavy gutairs. a must 4 any manics fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finding out where you came from..., 25 July 2003
By 
Jonathan (Wigan, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This compilation of Manics B-Sides, Covers and rarities (namely lost single 4ever Delayed and the last song recorded as a four piece the excellent Judge Y'rself) gives old and new fans alike a chance to take a look over the evolution of the boys from Blackwood.
Usually these collections can gather dust in a collection and be seen as a cynical attempt at swelling the bank balance but this was never going to be the case with the MSP's. It isn't flawless by any means (wrote for luck is particularly hard going) but when it hits the heights it smacks of absolute brilliance.
How Prologue to History was left off This is my truth in favour of SYMM is beyond me but here it stands tall as the first track. Even the kitsch moments such as the Chris Farlowe cover "Out of Time" and "Raindrops keep falling on my head" somehow work here.
Basically, if you are a fan you will love it and if not give it a try, you just might suprise yourself by discovering just what you have been missing from one of the most consistantly relevant bands of the last decade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prologue to the Future, 28 July 2003
By 
G. A. Bestwick "Jersey Greg" (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lipstick Traces - A Secret History (Audio CD)
This is the first review of any album i have ever contributed, but after reading some of the reviews of this album by other sources i felt compelled to offer my opinion. If one understands this isn't a cash in on fame, but an offering to the true fans of some classic manic street preachers b-sides and covers which they would be unable to obtain unless they had the time (and Resources) to collect every manic single!! (some of which have been deleted). With this in mind, this album offers the manic fan the flip side of their illustrious career, and isn't a band selling itself out.
The album starts with the classic prologue to history, which i consider one of my favourite manic songs, "no one says a thing in the middle of england" beautiful piano, strong guitars, excellent upbeat drumming by sean and james's superb vocals!
It continues with 4 ever delayed, which i think is brilliant and shows the manics can still play flowing, melodic rock songs. Well worthy of being a single in itself.
Judge Yr'self is drenched in richey's lyrical genious. "heal yourself, Hurt yourself, judge yourself" and strong heavy guitars are reminisent of the time it was recorded (the holy bible days)
The remaining songs on disk one are superb and its amazing how some of these songs weren't single's themselves, or at least on any of the albums! some amazing songs which any band would be proud to call their own!
Other notable songs are donkeys, with a brilliant JDB guitar solo! Comfort comes very Holy Bible, and sepia. I am disapointed that patrick batemen failed to make the final album, because i consider that to be another one of my favourite manics tracks.
The B-sides Cd is quality packed as well, the live versions of its so easy and whats my name, i consider to be better than their originals! We are all borgeouis now is a brilliant song in its own right, which i loved from Know your enemy, (sadly not heard the original though). Been a son is a classic version of the nirvana song! sadly no Pennyroyal tea cover which i think is just as good! Bright eyes is one of my favourite songs, and this is the first time i've heard the manics cover! Beautiful is the best word to describe it! and being sung live as it is really shows the stunning voice of James Dean Bradfield.
Overall if this album is taken for what it really is - a gift to the fans, (shown by the fact the fans were able to pick the songs) and not a commercial cash in, it is a brilliant addition to any collection. Questions have been raised about current manic street preachers songs, and that they need to revert back to their holy bible days! I dispute this! every band needs to evolve! if the beatles hadn't evolved, they would have been very ordinary, boy band rockers (controversial)
I admit the holy bible days were my favourite musically and lyrically, but i am appreciating the new manics stuff as well! if people listen to it and give it a chance they will understand that the manics are still and always will be one of the greatest bands in the world!
Long live the manics, and Richey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traces of Brilliance, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Lipstick Traces - A Secret History (Audio CD)
From a band who have have just released a highly sucessful greatest hits package, the idea of a b-sides and cover versions album may seem nothing more than a money maker for the welsh 3 peice. But the title says it all, "a secret history" and what a history. full of legend and great stories but even better full of great songs. CD1 could easily on its own be one of the albums of the year with instant classics such as Prologue to History and 'new' material such as 4 Ever Delayed and Judge Yr'self. CD2 However is like listening to a history of popular music from Chuck Berry to Wham via Nirvana and The Clash. This isnt just for the fans. This is everything the greatest hits should have been and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain great!, 27 July 2003
This review is from: Lipstick Traces - A Secret History (Audio CD)
This is much better than any b-sides compilations i have heard. It maybe could have done without Socialist serenade and we her majesty's prisoners. But the rest of the tracks are truly exceptional. Judge Yr'self, Forever delayed, Dead trees and traffic islands, prologue to history and donkeys are some of my favourites on there. The covers is good too but not as good. There is a great cover of last christmas and raindrops keep falling on my head. Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B sides = second choice, 15 Jan 2009
This review is from: Lipstick Traces - A Secret History (Audio CD)
This is a 2 CD compilation of B sides, rare tracks and covers. So by their very nature it is full of songs that were either not good enough to make the albums or not the usual material that a Manics fan would accept. Therefore Lipstick Traces contains a lot of weak tracks, particularly on the 1st disc, however it is saved on the 2nd by the inclusion of some eclectic cover versions.
James Dean Bradfield tends to shout a lot of his lyrics so the slower covers give the listener the chance to really appreciate how brilliant of a singer he is. Last Christmas, Bright Eyes and Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head might, at first glance, seem to be strange choices but they are given a new dimension by the Manics magic.
This compilation is probably more for the existing fans than new listeners but if you ignore some of the weaker tracks it is well worth a listen before you decide to play their Holy Bible or Everything Must Go CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manic on the back of this album!!!, 23 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lipstick Traces - A Secret History (Audio CD)
I can honestly say this was my most pleasant Manics surprise yet - (apart from seeing them live). I didn't realise they had all these hidden B-side treasures - admittedly, these were mainly from their 'glory years' early to mid 90s - b4 fame, money & er, pies, seemed to get to their heads & seriously affect their output. Back in the days of The Holy Bible & b4, as far as I can remember, no-one actually gave a toss about the Manics apart maybe the trendiest London gig-goers, so it's a nice surprise to discover all these longstanding gems like 'Donkeys', 'Sculpture of Man' & 'Comfort Comes' without having to buy old B-sides off Amazon or ebay. Admittedly, there is some crap like the last 2 tracks on CD one - and to be honest CD 2 seems pretty pointless - but I reckon it's worth it just for the majority of CD1. And it's a tribute to one of the (few!!!) lasting plus sides of the Manics that they continue to be a democratic & fan-respecting band - Nicky asked fans to vote on the website for the favourite B-sides, realising that this should be an album for them/us first & foremost. Now pleassss Manics, will you finally do the decent thing - at least 7 years overdue - & call it a day?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lipstick Traces - A Secret History (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of the MSP for some time and have seen them live several times only to be blown away by James Dean Bradfields diversity in his use of vocals and the great artistic use of playing the guitar along with with Nicky Wire and Sean Moores skills at giving the best live performance ever, this latest album shows that there is a lot more to the MSP than ever, it shows that James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire and Sean Moore has got the ability not only to produce a great performance for the MSP lyrics but also with other great artists.I congratulate them in the great produce of their own tracks in which the tracks take you through the time & style of their music and have produced great copies of tracks from other artists which unfortunatly cannot be said of later bands that have been over produced into the music industry. VERY REFRESHING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lipstick Traces - A Secret History
Lipstick Traces - A Secret History by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews