Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a Rookie
Of all the Clint Eastwood films this is the one I've been after for ages. Everytime I tried to order it I was told it was Region 1 only. When I saw it was available as an import I jumped at the chance. Despite being an import sound and picture quality is excellent. The story and acting was never going to be Oscar material but who cares. It's fantastic entertainment...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by S. G. Hullyer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie
Made with all the subtlety of a house brick this film is a full face on assault on the viewer from the very beginnings of the speeding chase between the cops and the hijacked car-transporter to the final shot out at the airport terminal.
The film uses all the most well worn tricks of the "buddy-buddy / old cop - rookie cop / poor down on his luck - rich privileged /...
Published on 3 July 2005 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie, 3 July 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rookie [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Made with all the subtlety of a house brick this film is a full face on assault on the viewer from the very beginnings of the speeding chase between the cops and the hijacked car-transporter to the final shot out at the airport terminal.
The film uses all the most well worn tricks of the "buddy-buddy / old cop - rookie cop / poor down on his luck - rich privileged / rule breaking - rule following" action movies ever made and is at least honest enough not to try to pretend to be anything else.
Clint Eastwood is an interesting choice in such a film and his performance is clearly better than the film actually demands. The Schwarzenegger like one-liners are made more amusing when coming from his lips although the crafting of a new catch phrase "You gotta light?" doesn't quite work. Charlie Sheen is mean, moody and handsome and isn't really required to be anything else, the dad-son "You were never there for me!" scenes are an embarrassment to be perfectly frank and could well have been omitted from the film.
Even more painful though is the extraordinary Germanic accent employed by chief baddie Raul Julia, taking every opportunity to put a "z" in every word he snarls and grimaces from scene to scene, "Venn I goez, I goez wiz ze bang!" mind you topping even this is Sonia Braga as Julia's girlfriend Liesl. Never before have I seen such an unattractive supposedly sexy character and whose actual purpose in the film was puzzling to say the least. But going even one stage higher in the bad acting stakes is Pepe Serna as Eastwood's boss, hats off to this guy for managing to do every possible human emotion, from anger to fear to depression to joy without once changing his facial expression!
I'm probably being unfair here, as I say it is a good old fashioned cops and robbers action film and at least with Eastwood on board it is raised to a slightly higher level than most, but don't expect anything more than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a Rookie, 8 Dec 2009
By 
S. G. Hullyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of all the Clint Eastwood films this is the one I've been after for ages. Everytime I tried to order it I was told it was Region 1 only. When I saw it was available as an import I jumped at the chance. Despite being an import sound and picture quality is excellent. The story and acting was never going to be Oscar material but who cares. It's fantastic entertainment. Action all the way. For me,one of the best lines was when Charlie Sheen's dad puts money into Clint Eastwood's pocket and says, "I want you to guarantee my son's life." Clint Eastwwod takes the money out of his pocket and with cigar in hand, replies, "If you want a guarantee. Buy a toaster!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rookie (1990) [Region 2 import] Clint Eastwood & Charlie Sheen, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. P. E. Gibbons (Herne Bay, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great film, classic.

I am just going to write what's on the back of this dvd:

"Tough and gritty. Fires with a full clip. Eastwood and Sheen are terrific together."

Packing years of experience and a 45 automatic. LAPD Detective Nick Pulovki figures he's got all the help he needs. He's also got all the help he doesn't need. His new partner is The Rookie.

Director/star Clint Eastwood is Pulovski. Charlie Sheen is the by-the book newcomer. Each reluctantly relies on the other to stop killer-elite gang of auto thieves. Raul Julia, Sonia Braga, Laura Flynn Boyle and Tom Skerrit co-star with "the most spectacular action sequences Eastwood has ever filmed" (Dave Kehr, Chicago Tribune). A freeway becomes an 80-mph bumper car game. A barrio bar busts open like a giant pinata. The two drive through a wall to escape an exploding building... five stories up. Fasten your seat belt.

Thank you very much Mr David Frick from DVD Delights who sold this to me The Rookie (1990) [Region 2 import] Clint Eastwoodit has been a pleasure dealing with you and I will be using you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood on automatic pilot but..., 27 Sep 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rookie [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Clint Eastwood on automatic pilot is a lot better than some peoples best films, so make no mistake this may be the worst film ever that he directed himself but its still pretty good. In fact for me it would have been 3.5 stars.

Its really a Dirty Harry film under another name, and with a decent cast including the always watchable Charlie Sheen its an easy way to pass an hour and a half. There are a couple of laugh out loud moments, especially the seat belt gag.

Of course the reason to watch the film is the man himself. Aged 61 when this was made he was still in top shape and is effortlessly cool throughout the film. Some of the dialogue isn't as good as that in the classic Dirty Harry films but there's still enough laconic lines for the Eastwood fan to get by on.

So its no classic by Eastwood standards, but as comedy/cop/thrillers go, which also happens to star a living legend, its a dam sight better than you might expect given it rather poor reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clint Does Buddy-Cop Mayhem!, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the usual formula for a buddy cop movie, but with less enforced comedy moments between the two leads. Instead, as is common with Eastwood, he and his partner, this time in the form of a young, enthusiastic and “on the wagon” Charlie Sheen, spend their time bickering, clashing horns but working well together in a partnership worthy of the film.

It’s actually everyone else who doesn’t get much chance to shine from their villainous roles; Raul Julia especially as he could have been used to far greater threat and menace, but is given the usual action villain action, dialogue and moustache to use for his German bad guy. It’s entertaining, but nothing really engaging enough to care too much about. From his final performance as M.Bison in 'Street Fighter' a few years after this, it's proof he can really be an off the rails villain if given the right material. This, sadly, isn't it.

The action is great, with lots of real stunt-work and effects with minimal, if none at all, CGI trickery. Big explosions, bold car chases and well shot shoot-outs deliver a good dose of action for Clint to get stuck into for his final action film, and it’s unlikely he’ll do another one now in his 80s!

It’s very basic stuff, but the cast are likeable and the plot isn’t going to challenge you. It drags a little in places, as these mediocre buddy-cop films can do, but soon picks up for decent pay-off. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film more pleasing than having a curry on the beach., 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rookie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Now, if your after : excitement, comments, action, and comedy, buy this amazing Video. Clint Eastwood makes a star performance pulling off some of his best comments yet, giving this film some real 'Clint' edge! Charlie Sheen is one tough cop, as he tries proving to everyone that he is not 'Mr Softy', as him and Clint try getting revenge on a drugs Baron. You will want to watch it again and again. (watch out for the greasy Woman Sidekick! ) An all time classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood falls asleep at the wheel, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rookie comes from the darkest point in Clint Eastwood's career, in more ways than one. Eastwood's policy of one-for-him and one-for-the-studio had usually balanced his more ambitious personal films with solid crowdpleasing hits, which The Rookie was clearly intended to be, but following on from the critically acclaimed but financially disastrous Bird and White Hunter, Black Heart, it turned out to be every bit as critically derided and financially disastrous as Pink Cadillac, leading many to assume that the star was past his sell-by date until Unforgiven rescued both his credibility and his box-office viability.

Rumoured to have began life as a Dirty Harry sequel with Eastwood passing on the reins to a younger star - here Charlie Sheen's troubled rich kid - to keep the franchise alive, it's certainly one of his worst films even on a dumb Saturday night action level, lazily written and shot in almost total darkness at times, as was Eastwood's wont in those days. Blu-ray certainly helps improve the picture quality on TV but the night scenes still require more work than they should to decipher at times. The script is pretty much beyond redemption, though, taking mere seconds to descend into unintentionally laughable and only occasionally aspiring to the heights of vaguely competent.

There's nothing wrong with clichés in an action movie if you can pull them off with some wit or panache or at least have decent action setpieces to punctuate them, but this is just lazy and very shoddily made, with Eastwood literally sitting out much of the second half of the film while Sheen unconvincingly goes on a crimebusting rampage because "It's time for me to stop being afraid and other people to start!" Which means driving his motorbike on the sidewalk even though there's no traffic on the road and burning down a bar to persuade the barman to give him some information, neither of which are half as much fun as they sound. Most of the stunts (and there aren't many of them) are poorly shot, Eastwood's direction is lethargic and mechanical as befits a man who spends much of the movie tied to a chair while the performances veer from adequate-but-bored (Tom Skerritt) to downright terrible (take a bow, Pepe Serna!). The supporting casting is certainly muddled, with Raul Julia's OTT villain bizarrely referred to as a `kraut' a few times despite clearly being from south of the border (with his accent fluctuating wildly throughout the film it almost feels like a clumsy last-minute change in post-production dubbing to avoid alienating the Latino audience) while Sonia Braga is so unflatteringly photographed she looks like a Belgian bodybuilder in drag, which just makes the scene where she rapes Clint (yep, you read that right) even more disturbing than the scene where Grace Jones raped Roger Moore's James Bond in A View to a Kill... Only a brief foul-mouthed TV interview and one spectacular car jumping from exploding building stunt briefly liven things up, but for the most part this is just boring - really boring.

The 2.35:1 widescreen Blu-ray transfer is probably as good as this film will ever look on a small screen, but be warned, while it's an improvement over the video and DVD releases the picture is deliberately very dark for much of the film. The only extra is the film's trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. Roy Fisher (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first viewed this film many years ago as a VHS tape. The tape has gone but unable to replace with DVD. Just searching around Amazon and suddenly its available via Australia as an import - great news. Have just watched Eastwood/Sheen again - the film is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the rookie region 1, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. Catherine Taylor "yesssss" (leicester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good disk and its a film i like no extras of note but decent pic and sound clint eastwood charlie sheen and raul julia are pretty good disk made in mexico! lol good film i enjoyed this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars rookie, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i dont like this film even though my two favourite stars are in it i dont think it was nessarary to put dog fighting scenes into what would otherwise be a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rookie [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £3.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews