Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
i was so excited to get this, as soon as it arrived and i put it in the gamecube i got a rush of nostalgia, pure awesomeness
Published 3 months ago by Stubuscus

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
I'll be brief: the levels, bar one near the end, are almost identical to those in the original. While cleverer guards make things more complicated if you're spotted, evading detection usually involves the same procedures as before- although this time the hanging moves make it significantly easier on some levels. While being able to throw guards into lockers is neat, the...
Published on 30 Mar 2004 by Alexander Whiteside


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Remake, 9 Aug 2007
By 
M. Shave (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
Take the story of MGS1 and add the much needed features of MGS2 and you have what should be one of the greatest games ever. While this game is enjoyable, it does not warrant such a title. By the time the graphical upgrade was made worthwhile, the core gameplay feels very dated and drawn out by 'go- fer' quests that have you running back and forth, particularly in the game's final act.
The mechanics of later MGS games work well and add interesting options on how to approach the same situations, but veterans will have no real bother here.
Being a veteran of the series myself, having played these games since the original PS1 release, I have to say that I feel a bit put out by the acrobatics performed by Snake in this remake. They don't spoil the experience, but often have you thinking, "Yeah, right..." The graphics are better even than MGS2 and everything seems to run more smoothly than the Playstation games.
If your a newcomer, you will like it; but will not see the hype associated with the original.
Returning players will appreciate being able to see facial expressions and the newer graphics, but may not like the John Woo- ish set pieces.
However, neither groups will feel entirely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal gear solid :twin snakes, 15 Feb 2005
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
This game is a 'must buy' i recommend you buy it it's simply one of the best gamecube games out there, even though its a re-make of mgs on the ps1 anyone who's played mgs on ps1 should play this even though the storyline is the same as the original.The original game is a big piece of the history of videogaming.It has been considered by some the best game on ps1.And here we are 4 years after the release of mgs1 and kojima has created another metal gear for the gamecube.
If you've never played the original mgs then you should give this a try i give it a 95% that you will like it.
First of all the graphics have been updated.Also there has been a first-person view added so you can shoot enemys wherever you want(simielar to mgs2).you can hide bodies in lockers and you can hide in lockers.
Give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definative Directors Cut, 31 Jan 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid:The Twin Snakes is for you lucky GameCube owners, a fully updated next generation of the PlayStation One epic.
For those who don't know, the plot of the game is that Snake's former unit FOXHOUND take control of a military installation in Alaska. With two high profile hostages, they threaten to launch a nuclear weapon unless the remains of former FOXHOUND chief Big Boss are handed over. Of course the game doesn't stay this way for long. Your initial chipper Codec conversations with your helpers on the outside become a whole lot more sinister as Snake finds himself delving into an ever more complex conspiracy.
Now, if you were to strip away all the chaff from a review about this game you'd end up with this formula: PSOne MGS story x PSTwo MGS gameplay & visuals = goodness.
Yes, doubters beware, a directors cut of MGS and handled by Eternal Darkness creators Silicone Knights has actually turned out to be a bit of a stunner. I, for one, was worried by a different set of hands pulling the strings on this game. I thought that the addition of the first person shooting coupled with the M9 tranquilizer gun from MGS2 would render the game ineffective as a challenge. Gawd was I wrong. I was severely nailed on the first screen! All the guards in this iteration of the PSOne classic have been to boot camp, a hefty AI upgrade to deal with the tricks and talents Snake has imported across from the PSTwo sequel. Keener vision (note how guards on different levels can look DOWN and see you now), better squad mechanics ... generally all round crack soldiers. Thanks to the actual level structure of the original game, its a much tougher challenge than MGS2. Lots of wide open spaces, boardwalks for guards to patrol and spot you from. Everything just has the tenseness level ramped up now because of this!
Alaska has never looked so good either. Everything looks so familiar but its like having cataracts removed from your eyes. So substancial, crisp and clear. Its not just a cosmetic upgrade either thanks to the new AI of the game. You'll find yourself getting to grips with each screen afresh as you have to find your way around the extra vigilant bad guys. Taking the Nuke Building as an example, I had a set little route which I used to breeze through on the original, now rendered useless by the upgraded soldiers I find myself taking literally the complete opposite passage through the room. All heart in mouth stuff too.
Cut scene haters will again not be at home here. Lots of gloriously reshot cinematics, no scene has been left untouched ... as familiar as the story is, playing through this is like playing through with a fresh set of eyes. All that remains from the original are the Codec screens, and its a nice touch to have something familiar here to stir those nostalgic feelings. Plus there is the one thing that this game will always have in its favour ... it was THE best Metal Gear game. The sequel was good, but nothing could touch the original for its storyline and setting.
Initial doubts were quickly quashed by this game, worries about Silicone Knights getting the conversion right, about the music not being as good, the cut scenes looking out of place. Its a sterling job, in fact better than I could have anticipated. The Twin Snakes sits on top of the pile, at least until Metal Gear 3 surfaces this year. We shall see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, thank, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
Item as described and arrived on time, very pleased, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But is it better than the original?, 15 April 2005
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
Following the original story of Metal Gear Solid, Silicon Knights took the formulae and souped up the game to make a flashier, more sheek game. However, regardless of this, this is intended for those who have never played the game alike.
The game follows one man-Snake (Solid) who infiltrates a russian base in order to do two things. 1-Rescue the Arm's Tech president and the Darpa Chief, and 2-investigate whether or not the terrorists have the ability to launch a nuclear weapon. Sounds easy enough, but this game has lots of nice twists and turns which turn out to be really good.
The graphics are superb-they're a million miles away from the blocky graphics of the PS1. Enemies breath realistically, (you can see their breath and their chest going up and down) and the cut scenes are phenomenal, especially the scene with the Ninja. The locations are stunning, from the technial lab, to the snowy outdoors, this game has it all. The boses are incredibly well drawn too, and just highlight how far gaming has come since 1998.
The gameplay is still there. Equipped with a decent arsnel, you have to battle your way through enemies. Plus their is the sneak option which allows you to come up behing enemies, or hide behind walls which was new when it was first released on the PS1. In addition to the original, Snake can enter first person mode, which allows him to see everything from his point of view. This allows for greater accuracy with the guns, and is a refreshing addition to the original game. There are still the cardboard boxes for those of you who like to hang around inside of one.
However, i think the music has gone a little backwards. Most of the speech is identical to the original, and hence a little tedious to listen to if you've played the first. Secondly, some of the themes have changed, such as the boss music, and this isn't for the better. The pace of the game seems to have been lost in this particular transformation.
So is this game better than the original? It has some new scenes, weapons, and fantastic graphics, but i believe everyone will have a different opinion. I will just say, this is well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY STUNNING!!!, 24 July 2004
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
Twin Snakes offers the best of both worlds. You gett the fantasticly compelling storyline from the original and the amazingly detailed gameplay from Metal Gear Solid 2 : Sons of Liberty. Without a shadow of doubt...the BEST Metal Gear game to date! Just buy it! Yoh will NOT regret this purchase...GUARANTEED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC, 14 May 2004
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
when i first bought this i thought it was great, but there were to many long winded cutscenes. My freind thought it was a huge disapointment as he had the origenal on the psone. The gameplay and the story were brilliant, maybe it was a bit to short. SO ONLY BUY THIS IF YOU DID NOT HAVE THE ORIGANOL VERSION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Mar 2004
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
Back in 1998 the Playstation version of this game was my favourite ever game, it kept that honour until I booted up this upgraded version for the gamecube and almost immediately wanted to cry at it's beauty. It is easier now thanks to the addition of the tranquiliser but that doesn't bother me. It's the storyline that makes this game stand above the rest. The emotion at certain points in the game especially where you need to make a major decision halfway through.
I love this game and you should too. There are no problems with this except it's ease of completion (I am however only doing very easy to get used to the controls so this could be why). There are four levels of difficulty so I am likely to be very wrong on this count as well. All the best bits from the playstation version have been perfectly captured including the award winning script. If you like stealth shooters this is the big mamma of them all. Buy if you have a brain (and a gamecube). In magazine reviews people moan at how it isn't original and thus gift it lowish ratings, I say who cares, I love this game for whats in it however unoriginal it may be!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game ever, 19 Mar 2004
By 
edd (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
if your not a fan of stealth games, and think that metal gear is not for you. Your wrong, in this you have an option either hide in the shadows or the comical carboard box. Or face genome enemies head on!
It features one of the best storylines in a game, possibly the best! Amazing graphics and really nice looking cut-scenes! If your a fan of metal gear you need are already going to buy this! if your not, imagine a game that is better than splinter cell in stealth and better in action that halo! just image them components mixed with a brilliant story... Is that good enough
BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time classic, 21 Jan 2005
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube) (Video Game)
The original MGS, released for the Playstation in the late '90s, was widely acknowldeged as one of the greatest ever made for its complex and involving story, innovative gameplay and incredible production values. Now Konami has remade the original for the Gamecube - although perhaps 'remade' is a little strong, because the game is virtually identical in terms of what happens and what you have to do. It's more of a polishing job; the graphics have been brought up to date and look just like MGS2, perhaps not quite as smart as the Resident Evil remake but still very good. The cutscenes have all been redone and are even more breathtaking than they were before, and the voice-acting has all been re-recorded. If you never played the original, and you enjoy plot-based adventures, you are in for an absolute treat. If you have played the original, you may still enjoy this; I hadn't played MGS since it first came out and loved this, but others may not feel that a presentation update is enough reason to make a purchase.
The MGS games are something of an acquired taste... they have incredibly complicated plots which require you to sit through A LOT of cutscenes (the game takes about 10 hours to play through once, but for 3+ hours of that time you'll just be watching/listening instead of playing). The well-acted script, which is sometimes very emotive - this is the only action game which ever brought a lump to my throat at certain moments - and accomplished, but occasionally degenerates into cheesy cod-philosophy about the meaning of life and love. These are elements which some impatient gamers may find incredibly offputting; if you just want to blast away without worrying about story, characters, etc., this is most definitely NOT the game for you. The game also has a very pronounced anti-war, anti-nuclear message... which I hope most gamers will appreciate as I did, but which some may find a little 'preachy'. Just think, though: when is the last time you played a game which actually made you consider such profound topics as the future of mankind and our planet? It's precisely this kind of unique element which make MGS so special. I urge you to try it; you can't really call yourself a gamer if you've never sampled this piece of gaming history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube)
Used & New from: 50.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews