Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly rags to riches
i recently puchased this brilliant dvd and was absolutely thrilled to see how the very talented LORETTA LYNN worked her way from a very immature girl to an international country and western artist. SISSY SPACEK played her brilliantly and sung the songs to perfection and TOMMY LEE JONES starred as MOONEY although a little wooden at times. i must also mention BEVERLY...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by C. N. Windsor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars love the film
was nice to watch the film again, although the case was badly scratched, i believed i had brough a new item for the price i paid
Published 9 months ago by Donna


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly rags to riches, 29 Oct 2009
By 
C. N. Windsor "chas windsor" (stamford lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
i recently puchased this brilliant dvd and was absolutely thrilled to see how the very talented LORETTA LYNN worked her way from a very immature girl to an international country and western artist. SISSY SPACEK played her brilliantly and sung the songs to perfection and TOMMY LEE JONES starred as MOONEY although a little wooden at times. i must also mention BEVERLY D;ANGELO for her role as PATSY CLINE a wonderful likeness. altogether a first class dvd which i am sure will thrill any fan of this fabulous singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sissy Spacek and Tommy Lee Jones shine, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
This is the true life story of Country Music legend Lorreta Lynn's struggle from rags to riches. Sissy Spacek won an Oscar and supposedly did her own singing! Tommy Lee Jones playes supporting husband Mooney and Beverley D'Angelo gets to portray Patsy Cline. It's a truly great film, even if you're not a Country Music fan! I first saw this film twenty years ago and I can still remember certain details like the misery Lorretta Lynn lived in the Virginia Mountains before Mooney took her away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Jan 2011
By 
JRL Smith "Pops" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have over 800 DVDs and this is the one I go back to time and time again. It is the biography of Loretta Lynn played by an incredible Sissy Spacek. From her early hard upbringing as a `Coal Miners Daughter` to her eventual World wide success as one of the best Country singers of her time nothing is held back. The fact that she sings all the songs on this DVD as Loretta Lynn, could terrify any lesser artiste, but Sissy sings them all totally convincingly - and brilliantly. Beverley D'Angelo is equally convincing as Patsy Cline and her friendship with Loretta shines through like a bright beacon, until Patsy's untimely death in a plane crash. The only DVD that comes anywhere near the incredible acting of Sissy in this DVD is `Carrie` - but Sissie starred in that too. Fantastic actress- fantastic fim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant acting in solid, but not deep, Hollywood bio-pic, 3 Mar 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
An interesting and well acted mainstream bio-pic.

Sissy Spacek is amazing as Loretta Lynn - all
the more so for doing her own singing (as did
Beverly D'Angelo as Patsy Cline). Tommy Lee Jones
shows more charm than he's almost ever been allowed to since.

But in the end, it is indeed a Hollywood bio-pic, without
any great overriding themes or ideas, except to tell the
story of a fascinating woman's life one episode at a time.

A solid film, but not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable View, 3 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
OK, I was born in Texas, but I am not a great fan of country music. I do not remember why I first watched this movie, but it was years ago. I enjoyed the story and music a great deal, and decided to purchase the DVD recently. It is not a great movie, but the characterizations and casting are excellent, it is well shot, and, as I noted, the music is good. Well worth an evening's time to view; perhaps twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal Miner's Daughter DVD, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Michael Goodwin (Volkach, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very moving story of rags to riches in the Country and Western hall of fame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spacek at her best., 10 July 2014
One of the best biopics made. Spacek rightly deserved her Oscar for her portrayal of Loretta Lynn. Its a shame Tommy Lee Jones wasn't even nominated, as his performance of her husband Doolittle Lynn is superb. A great soundtrack and a heck of a story. A great bluray for lovers of country music or life stories. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD worth purchasing - if you are a country ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Excellent DVD worth purchasing - if you are a country & western lover you will certainly like this "true" story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
brilliant flim love it thamks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Came before stated we've been lookin ages for this on dvd so pleased with this item would rwcomend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003]
Coal Miner's Daughter [DVD] [2003] by Michael Apted (DVD - 2010)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews