Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DKM Truly rock!
First off, this album is fantastic. It comes with a DVD with two live tracks and a video. It has been said that this album is not recommended for first time Murphys fans but this was my first Murphys album and I can't stop listening to it! It'll have you shaking your fists, jumping around and singing, and why not, eh? Walkaway, Gonna be a Blackout Tonight and album's...
Published on 13 Oct. 2003 by dropkickedmurphy

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad - but no the best
This is very average - there are one or two good songs but this guy's voice is sooo weak - they need to get their original singer back! Go buy 'Do or Die' instead.
Published on 22 Jun. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DKM Truly rock!, 13 Oct. 2003
By 
dropkickedmurphy (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
First off, this album is fantastic. It comes with a DVD with two live tracks and a video. It has been said that this album is not recommended for first time Murphys fans but this was my first Murphys album and I can't stop listening to it! It'll have you shaking your fists, jumping around and singing, and why not, eh? Walkaway, Gonna be a Blackout Tonight and album's closer, Kiss Me I'm #!@*faced will have you chanting. It's like the Cranberries on Steroids. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna Be a Blackout!, 11 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
First thing is this is a great album. However there are no "Fightstarter Karaoke's" or "Boys On The Dock's" so I wouldn't recomend this to people who want to start getting into the Dropkick Murphys as it isn't representative of their early work. This is an album for Long Term fans who will appreciate the changes. Newcomers will listen to this and think the band are junk which would be a stupid thing to think. With this album they have moved on from the usual street anthems found on their 1st and 2nd albums and have further explored their folk side. There's more of of an attempt to mould punk and folk together rather than "heres a punk song" and "heres a folk song". The rockier stuff is also slower than on the first three albums. Highlights include a cover of The Fields of Athenry and an unrecorded Woody Guthrie song, "Gonna be a Blackout Tonight" (which I'm sure sounds different to what Woody had in mind)! It even comes with a bonus DVD with live footage a video and a trailer to a new DVD coming out. SO GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna Be a Blackout!, 11 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
First thing is this is a great album. However there are no "Fightstarter Karaoke's" or "Boys On The Dock's" so I wouldn't recomend this to people who want to start getting into the Dropkick Murphys as it isn't representative of their early work. This is an album for Long Term fans who will appreciate the changes. Newcomers will listen to this and think the band are junk which would be a stupid thing to think. With this album they have moved on from the usual street anthems found on their 1st and 2nd albums and have further explored their folk side. There's more of of an attempt to mould punk and folk together rather than "heres a punk song" and "heres a folk song". The rockier stuff is also slower than on the first three albums. Highlights include a cover of The Fields of Athenry and an unrecorded Woody Guthrie song, "Gonna be a Blackout Tonight" (which I'm sure sounds different to what Woody had in mind)! It even comes with a bonus DVD with live footage a video and a trailer to a new DVD coming out. SO GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DKM, Brillaint, 31 July 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
This is probably the best punk/rock album of the year so far. It is that good! The album is a great mix of folk, rock, punk and celtic genres. Highlights include the excellent "Gonna be a blackout tonight" and "as One" but nealry every track is brilliant. It has been said that this album is'nt for first time DKM listeners, I disagree, if you like punk you should love this album, I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Grower, 16 Feb. 2006
By 
Mr. B. Mcardle "benmcardle" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Having bought the DKM live album and 'Sing Loud, Sing Proud', this was initially a bit of a disappointment. Whereas 'Sing Loud...' had been a frenzied speed'n'Guinness-in-the-union-hall type affair, 'Blackout' focuses less on the intense punk ethos and more on the 'traditional' Irish folk spirit - slightly sentimental and a lot less political and, well, less in yer face. That said, once you get your head round it, it's a rewarding album and has every bit of passion and emotion you'd expect from the DKMs. Produced more as a rock album than a punk album, the singalong choruses and the against-the-odds combative tone are still intact but come across with more emotional range and depth than the raw intensity of their earlier albums.
If 'Sing Loud' is when you get to the pub after the game, 'Blackout' is kicking out time and staggering down the street with your boys. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're the best in the land, 19 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
I first heard the Dropkick Murphys on the Departed soundtrack with the song 'I'm Shipping Up To Boston'. I loved the track and downloaded it but thought nothing more. But a few months ago I decided to give the band a proper listen. Since then I have been absolutely hooked. Blackout was the second album I listened to after Sing Loud Sing Proud, and after purchasing nearly all their back catalogue, I feel no other album of theirs has come close.

I've seen some people say that, although Blackout is a strong album, it's not the album new listeners should start with. The reason being that it differs too much from the sound of debut album Do or Die. I agree that the sound is different. Do or Die and the Gangs All Here are the Murphys first two albums and they have a more raw, punkie edge. There is little Celtic influence, at least compared with later albums, although it is present on a few songs. I feel Blackout is a better starting point because it is a truer reflection of the bands current sound. The bands more diverse set of Celtic instruments is a huge part of this album. One of the reasons I have such a love for the Murphys is that they get the proportion of bagpipes and accordions, or whatever the instruments may be, just right. No instrument drowns out another and they get it to work perfectly. The best examples of this are tracks like 'Workers Song' and 'Time To Go'. You won't be able to stop yourself singing along, tapping your feet and clapping your hands. It's terribly infectious and you'll want to hear more of the band after.

For existing fans who have not heard Blackout it's typically what you expect to hear from a Dropkick Murphys album. A great mixture of original material and Irish folk songs: including 'Black Velvet Band' and 'Fields of Athenry'. The bands number one drinking song 'Kiss Me I'm S***faced' is also on this album and you'll be bellowing out it's stupidly amusing lyrics everytime you hear it. Other standouts include 'This Is Your Life', 'Buried Alive' and one of the bands heaviest tracks 'Gonna Be A Blackout Tonight'.

I really feel that this album is the pinnacle of the Dropkick Murphys fine career. Like their other albums it's full of energy, heart and is greatly accessible. Although I feel you can't really go wrong with any of their albums, Blackout really is the one you must own. Whether you're a die-hard fan or newcomer you'll be dancing, singing along and just going generally crazy to the masters of Celtic Punk. I'm so thankful I have tickets to see them next February. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best DKM Album By Far......, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
I loved this album from the second I first played it. Every track on here is just superb, and the album is packed full of great, singalong tunes. You've got the trad Irish classics in 'Fields of Athenry' and 'Black Velvet Band' on here, as well as DKM live favouries like 'Worker's Song' and 'Walk Away', and the utterly classic 'The Dirty Glass'.

Personally I think this is the best of all DKM albums. It is more consistent that anything they have done before or since. I know a lot of fans recommend their earlier work as an intro to the Dropkicks, but I would alwas recommend this one.

If you only buy one DKM album, make it 'Blackout'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all Irish Folk/Punk fans, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
If you like The Pogues, Flogging Molly or other bands of this ilk, then you'll love this. My particular favourite is their take on the traditional Fields of Athenry. They have made it their own without altering any words/structure and thus kept the powerful emotion - superb! Another excellent old favourite that has an enhanced makeover is the Black Velvet Band. For fans of the Pogues' classic 'Fairytale of New York' is a song in a similar vein 'The Dirty Glass'- romance in a rough and ready manner. But don't take my word for it - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great album from a great band!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
been into DKM a while, dunno why I left it so long till I bought this album but i'm glad I did. this has good mixture of the raw energy of earlier albums and the big sound they achieved on warriors code/meanest of times. I would say there are 8 stand out tracks, the best being fields of athenry and bastards on parade which send shivers down the spine. definately an essential purchase for a fan or newcomer to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like this band, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
I like Pogues and that was how I come over this band and now I like them too. They are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackout
Blackout by Dropkick Murphys (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews