Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher O'Riley reinvents the piano for me.
Being a massive Radiohead fan I am always very keen to explore anything remotely Radiohead related out of curiosity and as an addition to my heaving collection. There have been a number of 'artists' who have published renditions of Radioheads works, namely Strung Out on OK Computer and Plastic Mutations, both interesting but not captivating productions.
Chris, on...
Published on 11 Jun. 2003 by Mr. D. E. Finlayson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overdosed on Radiohead
Heard No Surprises on Classic Fm and liked what I heard.

A whole CD worth takes Radiohead a la piano a bit too far. For enjoyment in snippets rather than taking in the whole album at once.

Good, but not great
Published on 26 Aug. 2009 by M. A. MacIocia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher O'Riley reinvents the piano for me., 11 Jun. 2003
Being a massive Radiohead fan I am always very keen to explore anything remotely Radiohead related out of curiosity and as an addition to my heaving collection. There have been a number of 'artists' who have published renditions of Radioheads works, namely Strung Out on OK Computer and Plastic Mutations, both interesting but not captivating productions.
Chris, on the other hand, understands Radiohead, he himself is a fan, and perhaps most importantly he understands and appreciates fellow fans.
I was drawn in from the opening of 'Everything in its right place', mystified as to exactly how this could be transcribed from its minimal electronic roots, the answer for me anyhow is beautifully. Not only is the opener beautiful, but also it crawls under the skin and twists and turns your emotions in the same fashion as the original.
The record never fails at any point, and never tempts you towards the skip button. In the end you will not put this cd in a drawer with your collection, you will play it over and over again and you may even discover the depth that can be tempted out of a piano.
Chris sounds like the whole band and opens up another dimension to Radiohead's works that is not only a tribute to his playing, but also a tribute to the works of Radiohead.
This is the first time that the piano has ever turned my head and captured my attention for so long.
Chris deserves to be rewarded heavily for this and hopefully his ever-increasing fan base will support him from here on in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plastic Trees and Ivory Keys, 12 May 2006
By 
Gareth Waterman "GW" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply a stunning recording. Of course the original songs are remarkable in themselves, and of course the playing is flawless and beautiful, and of course the production is sympathetic, but the real beauty is in the interpretation.

The very concept of a classical version of a rock record should make most of us shiver with fear - this could so easily have become another Classics on 45 (Clayderman does alt.rock?) but O'Reilly re-interprets with such understanding of both his source and modern classical piano work that the resulting execution transcends both.

His love of Radiohead shines through the recording but his playing is both subtle and determinedly passionate at the same time, retaining much of the darker edge of the original songs. As such, the album as a whole should move both fans of the band and devotees of modern classical piano. And, although it is certainly unfortunate that there are so many re-workings of their songs which trivialise the music and dilute the meaning, True Love Waits (and its sequel Hold Me To This) succeeds in drawing new depths from Radiohead's work - and does so quite gloriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is it really o'riley?, 5 Mar. 2004
By 
^srunn Harpardsttir (Hafnarfjörður, Iceland) - See all my reviews
i bought this piece from Amazon.com since i couldn't find it in any music shops here in iceland. i had heard samples and one complete track from mr. o'riley's homepage, and was completely stunned of it's beauty and brilliance. being a great radiohead fan and a classical music student myself, this music combines so many various aspects of my musical interest.
mr. o'riley has done his work really well and obviously with a lot of ambition. he is clearly a great pianist, and has a magical ear for chords and rythms, which isn't the most easiest in radiohead's music. somehow mr. o'riley is able to take every main karakter of each song and make it clear, without missing out on other sounds. sometimes i wonder if he really is playing this all by himself on ONE piano. but nevertheless a fantastic piece of work. well done!
a great CD and must-buy for every Radiohead fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Piano Music..., 21 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
Very beautiful piano solo music. I frankly do not know Radiohead music very well. I still enjoy this album alot, which means, it stands on its own as an album. Perhaps it's a different kind of feeling if you know Radiohead's music well though. (...) Go and buy this! It's beautiful! Great present for modern romantic piano lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 2 Aug. 2003
This review is from: True Love Waits - The Music Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
This cd is great. Ofcourse it is not radiohead ... whom I LOVE ... but it is a great tribute. I think that O'Riley has done a fantastic job arranging the music for the piano. This cd is a fantastic one to own, it is great back ground music, dinner party music, having a bath music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars True Love Waits - Radiohead for piano, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great CD and well worth having. My only criticism would be that some of the tracks are maybe too densely chorded giving a rather 'heavy' effect (too many notes!). My theory is that Christopher O'Riley developed these originally to entertain himself as a pianist (he is a fine pianist) and in the process just overworked some of the pieces a bit. On the other hand much of it is sublime and it is a great addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly listenable to, 14 Aug. 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the idea sounds preposterous - piano arrangements of the divine radiohead's classic tracks? it's almost blasphemy!
but then listen to the album and you might be swayed by the concept. you might also suddenly be struck by how beautifully crafted radiohead's tunes actually are - melodically and harmonically inventive, unlike anything anyone else has produced ever.
i'd be hard pressed to say that o'neill's are what you would call "virtuosic" performances, but he is a very fine pianist. my only complaint is that he sticks (on occasion) a little too rigidly to the rhythm of the melody line - like many classical performers who attempt to crossover. still, a hypnotic and emotionally devastating offshot worthy of its demigod inspiration and its five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great c.d to listen to a any time. What a hidden Gem. We love it, we recomend to buy, Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, sublime and essential, 19 Jan. 2004
An essential purchase for any radiohead fan. Trying to convert your grandma to the subtle brilliance of OK computer? Try letting her listen to Chris o'Riley's beautiful reworking of some of Radiohead's finest tracks. Let Down and Black Star standout as perhaps even finer than the original recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overdosed on Radiohead, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
M. A. MacIocia (Kirkcaldy, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard No Surprises on Classic Fm and liked what I heard.

A whole CD worth takes Radiohead a la piano a bit too far. For enjoyment in snippets rather than taking in the whole album at once.

Good, but not great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Love Waits - The Music Of Radiohead
True Love Waits - The Music Of Radiohead by Christopher O'Riley (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews