Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth about Tommy Tiernan - the wandering wonderer.
I'd only recommend buying this DVD if you have a spare couple months to get over your complete obsession with the humour, sensitivity and sheer intelligence of this man. Prepare to be taken to a higher plane and look down on the world with the eyes of a better, happier you. Outrageously funny, though some have accused his humour of being egocentrically irish, but frankly...
Published on 11 May 2003 by Diane

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair Enough.
A lot of people only bother to write reviews of things they loved (5 stars) or Hated (1 star) - and so far Tommy has recieved two of the first kind of reviews so I'd like to add a little moderation here - it's alright but not THAT good.

I got this along side 3 other stand up DVDs by Stewart Lee (fantastic, far superior) Jeff Green (on a par with Tommy) and Tim...
Published on 4 Jun 2006 by Damon K. J. Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth about Tommy Tiernan - the wandering wonderer., 11 May 2003
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
I'd only recommend buying this DVD if you have a spare couple months to get over your complete obsession with the humour, sensitivity and sheer intelligence of this man. Prepare to be taken to a higher plane and look down on the world with the eyes of a better, happier you. Outrageously funny, though some have accused his humour of being egocentrically irish, but frankly they are missing the point - Tiernan tirelessly treads the boundary between self-important reality and the disgustingly hilarious nature of the introspectively obsessed human race. He's almost the anti-comedian as you get the feeling there's a certain catharsis going on, rather than a plea for adoration. Occasionally he treads on a few toes (Sept 11th jokes are funny but uncomfortable) but then again, it doesn't do to be too relaxed with the world. Highlights include a bizzare( yet stunningly accurate, though physically incongruous)impression of a New Orleans style Jazz singer and a knicker-changing re-telling of a mad friends attempts at marathon running.
Tiernan's sophistication lies in between the lines - his sentences are like drum beats, playing a tune only he can hear at first. You can see the inspiration he takes from Ginsberg - the pithy sexual undertones and the passionate social commentary all wrapped up in "little-boy-wonder" have revolutionised the "popular" comedic scene for this viewer. Buy it at once, open your eyes and your mind - you'll never be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Tiernan-A Funny Funny Man, 12 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
This video is more than likely the funniest you will ever see. Frseh Faced from the Emerald Isle, Tommy Tiernan will win you over with his mix of charming jokes and down right true statements. All in good fun though.
This will make you laugh and laugh and then possibly when you think you cant laugh anymore. he will make you laugh again.
Get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, fantastic, superb... a must see!!!, 5 Jun 2009
By 
N. McCaffrey "cutesyme" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best EVER comedy DVD... Tommy Tiernan is a legend, a master of his art of funny. He is extremely hilarious and out of all his DVDs currently released this is still by far the best/my favourite! He is completely original and even better live. Words cannot express what this DVD means to me, you must see this for yourself... you wont be disappointed!!! ('',)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair Enough., 4 Jun 2006
By 
Damon K. J. Mitchell (Slovakia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people only bother to write reviews of things they loved (5 stars) or Hated (1 star) - and so far Tommy has recieved two of the first kind of reviews so I'd like to add a little moderation here - it's alright but not THAT good.

I got this along side 3 other stand up DVDs by Stewart Lee (fantastic, far superior) Jeff Green (on a par with Tommy) and Tim Vine (Dire!)and Tommy fell firmly in the middle of the pack.

I have to say I didn't like the opening and a bad opening is difficult to come back from - it seemed too 'Irish' to me, playing up to his Irish audience and almost approval seeking.(Far more interesting to watch Stewart Lee go out of his way to provoke his Scottish audience - and still make tham laugh!)

What really seperates Jeff Green's show and this one is a question of highlights - Jeff's show was consistently humerous but I can't think now of any real moments that stand out, Tommy on the other hand is less consistent, and there where whole stretches I didn't really find too funny, but there are some real peaks in there as well - like the donkey, the recording songs off the radio crisis and the tale of his first ejaculation.

So... Yes, you'll be entertained and will have a few laughs - but 5 stars is pushing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swears too much... even for an Irish comic, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Kitchen Prince (Eindhoven, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
He is very very funny. However I am sure he would be even funnier if he did not swear..but just held back. I am not in a campaign against swearing or anything like that but I find Lee Evans far funnier when he is not swearing too. I think this DVD should carry a 30 years plus censorship warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 23 Feb 2009
By 
W. Davison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
Unable to fully review as purchased for a gift. The recepient was very pleased with the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Irishman, 9 Dec 2006
This review is from: Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] (DVD)
I love this DVD. LOVE IT!!! Tommys jokes are funny, and i can relate to them, im irish! but thats the problem with this DVD. Its TOO irish. The english probably wont get most of the jokes. If your irish, youll love it. if your english, youll laugh a bit, but sometimes youll be like "wha???". English people, get an english comedian, you've plenty of great ones. Or if you want an Irish comedian who you can understand, get Dara O'Briain, hes great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD]
Tommy Tiernan: Live [DVD] by Tommy Tiernan (DVD - 2002)
£4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews