Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le singe est sur la branche!
Well, as a pro-European, Eddie certainly hits the nail on the head with this gig. Filmed in San Fran (tee-hee!) the main bulk of the comedy comes from the differences between the US and Europe. The wide ranging subjects are all given the Izzard treatment, and what a treat it is to watch. I think his ideas and 'self-help' parts are what makes this gig worth watching,...
Published on 6 April 2000 by olliebig@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Izzard - Dress To Kill [DVD] [1998] (Purchased on 11/15/2009)
It was good... To be honest I bought the CD based on the act he does all in French, its so funny, the rest of his act was amusing but not so much laugh out loud. Glad I have it to my collection as his act in French really is funny. But have had better Mock the week for example fantastic.
Published on 18 Dec. 2009 by Neets


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le singe est sur la branche!, 6 April 2000
Well, as a pro-European, Eddie certainly hits the nail on the head with this gig. Filmed in San Fran (tee-hee!) the main bulk of the comedy comes from the differences between the US and Europe. The wide ranging subjects are all given the Izzard treatment, and what a treat it is to watch. I think his ideas and 'self-help' parts are what makes this gig worth watching, as it makes one appreciate just how intelligent Eddie is! The real gem comes with his verbiage on language (you say 'erbs, and we say Herbs...because there's a...), although it seems that the speil of French language (the funniest bit of Izzard in all his releases) loses the American audience somewhat! What a pity, they don't seem to have a clue! Let's look forward to his next video outing! The live show of 'Circle' was phenomenal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cake or Death or This Video? This Video please!, 10 Aug. 2004
This Eddie Izzard video is truly fantastic. Although it does not even challenge Definite Article it still will have you in tears of laughter. It does make a some what slow start by Izzards standards but sketches such as Cake or Death make the show the outstanding piece of conmedy that it is. Other sketches such as the american way of filming and the way that Vader speals also help make this video and excellent choice for purchase. Izzard is god!, who just happens to be James Mason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Marvellous!!, 17 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr. R. Yates (Lewes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eddie Izzard: Dress To Kill [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen most of Eddies work in the past. I own Circle, Sexie, Glorious and this one, and its quite easily the best!! As usual, Eddie starts out by taking the piss out of San Francisco, NOT "San Fran" or "Frisco"!! Cue the snakes!!! (You have to see the show to get that joke!) As usual, his audience quite obviously love him taking the micky out of their city!!
I think what attracts me to Eddies comedy, is his rambling style of presentation. While most comedians try to link one 'story' with another, with similar subjects and ideas, Eddie doesn't give a monkeys!! He will just go from one subject to another, quite often without warning! That in itself is hilarious, as the reaction of his audiance quite often shows.
Dress to Kill is a must purchase for any Eddie Izzard fan. If you have seen Circle or Sexie, and you thought they were good, you aint seen nuthin yet!
Eddie is quite simply THE best comedian this country has produced for a long time. He appeals to all audiances, British, American, French (coz they can be kinda French!). Brits love him, the Yanks love him, i love him! Sheer genious Eddie, keep it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The consumate comedy genious and the best night of my life., 9 Dec. 2002
By 
If its not what he says, its the way he says it. The trials and tribulations of Eddie Izzard that kept me amused for hours, days, weeks, even years, along with pringles, really create, in my mind at least, the idea of heaven. You will adore his manorisms and he words himself beautifully, possibly, to the extent that you steal your wife/girlfriends/mums lipstick, put it all over your face, and in a vain attempt to be like the master of the stupid voice wear whatever feminine clothes you can find. There isn't even a possibility of prejudice against this man, hes a thinker and a bloody funny one at that, and this video has become a very good friend of mine. His ideas take away the stupid superficiality of the modern day world and allow you to recess into the womb. I know I havn't mentioned what happens, but you have to watch it, it will give you more than one reason to live. I love it, you will love it, I don't care what your beliefs, religion or sexuality is, this is a classic, bravo Ed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Izzard in San Francisco, 27 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Eddie Izzard: Dress To Kill [DVD] (DVD)
This is one great DVD of one great stand up show.
After viewing this DVD about 4 times in 2 months, it's one of those you can whatch and find funny every single time.
With sections you will turn into everyday jokes (we did) like "Cake or Death", a very funny section in French and alot of comparing American English and British English.
More political than I remember and the show can be resumed as a quick history lesson by Eddie Izzard, cause as he says to his american audience "I come from Europe.... you know, where history comes from"
As for the extra, it has a somewhat egocentric photographic album and a raw version of the same show played in French (In Paris), which if you understand any french it can be quite amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Executive Transvestite, 30 Aug. 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eddie Izzard: Dress To Kill [DVD] (DVD)
Izzard is unrelentingly funny in this late 90's concert from San Francisco. There are laugh out loud moments nearly all the time and even having watched it more than a dozen times now it I still find it funny. Even when the material isn't that funny (which it can't be 100% of the time for everyone) I always find Eddie Izzard interesting to listen to. Underlying his comedy is an intelligent and thoughtful man.

There are some good extra's, particularly if you speak French (as Izzard does)! Many of his shows are worth buying but this DVD catches him at a comedy peak. Sadly since then the shows have not been of the same quality but this one and the ones that precede it are all worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A natural funny man, 20 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Eddie Izzard returns for the fifth time on video in an all new and absolutely brilliant show. His routine is packed full to the brim with historical and movie refferences. This is stand up at its best. Sometimes though you sometimes get the feeling the audience doesn't know whether to laugh or boo, especially when mentioning the National Rifle Association. An interesting video but never as good as Definite Article or even Glorious for that matter. All in all a genius lives in the body of a man wearing make up and high heels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ummmm....yeah, this is all true......and.....uhhh....so yeah, 26 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Eddie Izzard is the king of comedy. In this video like all the others i have, i just could not stop laughing. Even the jokes that didn't make the audience laugh really loud, he makes a great comeback by pretendin to make notes saying "No one got that, Never do it again". He talks about San Francisco (Frisco), he talks about British Movies (What is it Sabastian, I'm arranging Matches). The list goes on, BUY this video if its the last thing you'll ever do. I promise you won't stop laughing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Eddie Izzard ever -but buy all of them anyway!, 19 Dec. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dress To Kill (D2K) is the best of Eddies Humor, which is the best Britain has to offer. His confidence to address and guide the audience into a surreal and intelligent world, is so refreshing. Eddie Izzard delivers fresh and original comedy by the ton - Jasper Carrot sites Eddie Izzard as the reason he returned to Stand Up, saying that until Izzard made a show out of it stand up was not going anywhere. He is right; with professional them emusic, backdrops, camera settings and much more, this is a professionally made video for fans and those new to Izzard humour. I bought Dress 2 Kill 2 years ago, it was so good I drove from Southend to Cardiff to see him one night. I now have all his videos and can probably recite D2K off by heart. but when it mangled, the first thing I did was order another copy. D2K is a timeless masterpiece of stand up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely funny, 14 April 2004
By 
G. BROOKS (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eddie Izzard: Dress To Kill [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best comedy performances by anyone that I have had the pleasure of seeing. Eddie is simply hysterical, reducing both the audience at the performance and myself sat watching the DVD at home to tears. If you haven't bought an Eddie Izzard DVD before or have never witnessed him live then this would be an ideal starting point. I caught a squirrel in my garden wearing lipstick a while ago so that shows how far reaching Eddie's comedy is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eddie Izzard: Dress To Kill [DVD]
Eddie Izzard: Dress To Kill [DVD] by Lawrence Jordan (DVD - 2004)
£6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews