Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality entertainment from start to finish!!
"Batteries not Included" is a strange title for a strange film - when watching at first, you think it's going to be a "Death Wish" type movie perhaps, or a tale of suburban struggle - but as the cover of the film suggests, other forces are at work.
The film's central characters are played by veterans Hume Cronyn (who only recently passed away) and Jessica Tandy, who...
Published on 25 Sep 2003 by P Jacomb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing in places...
I wasn’t at all sure what to expect from this. It was rather depressing to begin with – high-rise buildings being knocked down by a big businessman, and a rather sad group of people who really wanted to keep their place. This group includes an elderly married couple who run a café; the wife appears to have early forms of dementia. Then there’s an...
Published 2 months ago by Sue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality entertainment from start to finish!!, 25 Sep 2003
By 
P Jacomb "Paul RHJ" (Chippenham, Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
"Batteries not Included" is a strange title for a strange film - when watching at first, you think it's going to be a "Death Wish" type movie perhaps, or a tale of suburban struggle - but as the cover of the film suggests, other forces are at work.
The film's central characters are played by veterans Hume Cronyn (who only recently passed away) and Jessica Tandy, who I'd never realized till recently were married in real life.
The main story itself centres around a block of appartments over a '30s diner, in an area of New York which is being demolished. Developers and their hoodlum associates are trying to force the tenants to leave with bribes - but some are not willing to leave their homes.
The appartments, delapidated and vandalised, appear beyond repair. Yet the tenants want to stay - and are willing to resist all attempts at evicting them. Even with Bulldozers at their door, they resist the seemingly unstoppable onslaught.
It is a beautiful story of hope, faith and belief, whether young or old you will enjoy this film, and certainly I ended the film with tears in my eyes (always a good sign). My daughters (10 & 14) both gave the film 10/10 as well, it appeals to all ages and it's age is not at all apparent when watching it - it's 1.85:1 Anamorphic transfer means it appears much clearer than most films of its age. It is a film not to be missed, and deserved more awards than it actually got.
Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batteries Not Included., 11 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. M. Wray "mw" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film! Its one of those classic old movies that will always stay in your memories, Its just a funtype of movie, where you just have to see atleast once. Altho some would have a different opinion, but i for one love this movie, loved it from when i saw it when i was a child. And I've only just realised you could get it on DVD. I walked into a shop one day, and my smile went hiiigh up when i saw this on the shelves, I bought it without hesitation.

Its one of my most favourite movies of all time, A couple of Old folks, living in this abandoned well not abandoned just yet! building, a small cafe downstairs and a block of flats upstairs, it was around a area being demolished by this greedy Money making business man.

The Folks Struggled to keep the place upto scratch and fought for their right to live their, until one night, these little space crafts came upon them and they change their world around. Such a happy movie, altho sad parts in the meantime, like where the cheapskate gangster smashed one of the space crafts with an axe, which makes me sad, but the other repairs it and all is good :)..

I strongly reccomend this movie to anybody, its got such a warming story to it, some cute space ships that help out, and old folks. it really gives a outlook on life, if only we all had these space ships :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the collection, 11 Mar 2010
By 
C. Falco (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
Any 80s child should own a copy of this film. Everyone wishes they could have meet some robot, alien, part kitchen appliance friend.

You know i'm right, it might not be the best film in the world but its a easy watch with a nice story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A disarmingly poignant, exceedingly human film, 5 Aug 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
I can't help but believe that *Batteries Not Included would never have been made without the imprimatur of Steven Spielberg stamped upon it. It's a wonderful film, but it couldn't have made for an easy pitch: we've got a group of disparate characters trying to save their run-down building from demolition by your basic big bad developer, and the miracle they all hope for comes in the form of these little alien gizmos - who not only go around fixing things, they also reproduce. I just don't see a lot of Hollywood studio blowhards jumping up and down in excitement over such a wacky idea. With Spielberg being Spielberg, though, the project was approved, and the end result is a film that delivers a rather amazing amount of heartfelt emotion.

I'm not saying it's Spielberg's best, mind you, not by a long shot, but this little film is disarmingly good. Many a viewer will go in expecting something a little silly, maybe some sort of Gremlins-like story; a half hour into it, that viewer will almost certainly be wondering when the fun is going to start. You can't help but have an almost immediate connection with all of the characters, though. They are surrounded by destruction, as their building is the last one standing in the way of redevelopment by a stereotypically greedy businessman who doesn't care how his goons get the people out - as long as they get them out. Frank Riley (Hume Cronyn) stands to lose his home and his business - and he already has the extra burden of looking after his wife Faye (Jessica Tandy), who is constantly confused due to senility and an emotional tragedy from the past. I'll just tell you right now - that Jessica Tandy is a true actress; her amazing performance here makes her the heart and soul of the film. Frank McRae also contributes in a major way, despite the fact that his character speaks only rarely (and in catch phrases and slogans when he does open his mouth). As for the other two neighbors, you've got a pregnant woman (Elizabeth Pena) waiting for her musician boyfriend to come back for her after his current tour ends, and you also have a young man (Dennis Boutsikaris) struggling to find himself after losing his girlfriend and beginning to question his determination to be an artist.

All of these wonderful characters are essentially doomed, needing a true miracle to save their building from destruction. That miracle comes in the form of strange, miniature UFO-like creatures that excel in fixing things. A little shy at first, the cute little guys eventually warm up to everyone, drawing these former strangers close together in the process. The special effects are good (but not outstanding), making these mysterious creatures a lot of fun to watch - especially the cute little baby ones. We never learn the origins or true natures of the little gizmos, but they most definitely pump new life into a cast of characters wasting away from worries and fears. Make no mistake - the little mechanical guys are great, but this story is really all about the human characters rising up from despair to achieve a new lease on life. It is an exceedingly human story, one that will most likely touch your heart in ways you won't expect. That is what makes *Batteries Not Included such a special movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, full of life and Nanorobotics.., 12 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. Ana Pf Goncalves (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have seen the 'Cocoon' film then you will recognise some of the characters in this film. This film is fun, and full of life. It is about a group of residents who are about to get kicked out of their apartment by developers, as they want to knock down them down and build new developments on the residents land. Admist this situation the residents become more in tune with their surroundings, and their fellow neighbours, which makes the story even more fun to watch, as it takes you a rollercoaster. The gathering of the characters in the apartment reflect a sense of community spirit, and in lost hope the little robots come to give a guiding hand to them, and to let them know, that hope is never lost, and to keep fighting for what you want, or in this case, where you live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batteries Not Included DVD, 9 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. W. A. Raison (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of our favourite family films which we had on VCR. Time to update to DVD, so we did. Good move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good family entertainment, 15 Sep 2008
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Delightful fantasy from the Spielberg stable which will have you laughing and crying at the same time. Nothing new in the central plot, multi-million dollar corporation trying to impose their will on the poor man, but Hume Cronyn and Jessica Tandy put in a wonderful performance, dealing with the (long ago) loss of their son in the main sub plot.
Special effects are up to scratch, and at times appear almost human emotionally.
Perfect for those sunday afternoons when the family are rained in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cry at the end, every time!, 16 July 2010
By 
C. A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
And i'm a 6'2" skin head. So take that as you wish. It's heart-warming throughout, and quite moving at the end, hence me welling up.

If you remember it from the first time around, get it again now, and love it all the more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars batteries, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batteries Not Included (DVD)
a great family flick, has a mix of humour and fantasy that works really well and also a charming plot that requires no huge explosions or over the top effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top childhood movie, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batteries Not Included [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best movies from my childhood, and still doesn't get old. Love it 😉 recommend to everyone of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batteries Not Included [DVD]
Batteries Not Included [DVD] by Matthew Robbins (DVD - 2005)
3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews