Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark chronicle A WORK OF ART!!
One word i can say about dark chronicle is MASSIVE!. the box claims that this game lasts over 100 hours and i would have to agree. georama, side quests, weapon building and alot more this game will certanily plese the RPG pureists out there.
A key part of the game is the story which all credit to the designers is superbly written, if a little bit unoriginal but you...
Published on 16 Mar 2004 by simon wells

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I must be missing something
Having just read many of the five star reviews for this game I realise that I really must be missing something. I am well over twenty hours into this game now and have in all honesty become bored with it. It is just too repetetive and at times tedious. I know that many of you will disagree with my opinion but I think that the first game 'Dark Cloud' was way superior to...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Mr. A. Whiteside


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best value game of '03, 2 Feb 2004
By 
Shelley Wood "shelleybirduk" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
Dark Chronicle is the sequel to the under-rated Dark cloud. The original had a few faults and tended to get a bit monotonous at times thankfully these have been adressed in the sequel.
The story follows young max's quest to defeat the evil emperor griffin and find out the truth about his absent mother, he is aided in his quest by Monica a princess from the future seeking to avenge her fathers death and Steve the scrapyard robot.
The main storyline of the game is the journeying through various dungeons and towns seeking to put right the damage the emporer has caused. BY collecting magical stones you gain the knowlege to rebuild the destroyed towns and cities. The graphics are cel shaded but beautiful and although the game my look a little childish don't be fooled there is more than enougfh activities to keep even the most ardent gamer happy for months, they include.
Photographs-Max's camera can be used to take photo's of various people and places, these can be combined to produce ideas for new inventions such as weapons and gadgets bonus points are also awarded for "inside scoops" which are rewarded with prizes.
Steve-The ridepod robot can be upgraded by spending the experience points he gains in battle on shields, weapons and the like.
Weapons-max and monica's weapons can be upgraded by attaching varous elemantal stones usuing the experience built up by use of the weapon. Weapons can also be "synthesised" allowing you to attach them to other weapons bumping up their stats and possibly changing them to a more powerful form.
Fishing-you can fish in rivers, lakes and dungeons. Catching fish gives you points to upgrade your fishing rod. Once you have caught fish you can enter them in a contest and you also earn medals for catching fish of a certain size.
Medals-in the dungeons you have the chance to earn medals by completing various tasks, they range from defeating all monsters in a certain time limit to catching fish and usuing only one weapon. these medals can be exchanged for new costumes including a nice two peice for monica-sadly no leopardskin thong for max though...
Spheda-Due to the Emporer Griffon's shannanegans rips in the space time continum have begun to appear, in the future people deal with these terrifying annomolies by...hitting a ball into them with a stick. You must use a special club (don't ask why you'll annoy the programmers)to slam the balls into the holes effectivley turning it into a basic golf game. Sucessful repair of the distortion results in a medal and a choice item.
Other pastimes to keep you occupied include raising fish and racing them and collecting badges allowing Monica to turn into all manner of unsavoury creatures (and she seemed like such a nice girl.)The game has no major flaws, level 5 have taken on board critisim from the original game and have improved on every aspect. Some people may shiver when the hear the words "cel shaded" and "RPG" in the same sentence but this is months of fun in a class RPG without the words "fantasy" of "final" in the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely AMAZING, 29 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
I absolutely and entirely love this game. It has now been about 4 years since I played this game and yet I still remember the storyline as if I was playin it now. This game is massive in the very sense of the word, the entire world is involved in the plot, the storyline is... EPIC and the characters are your friends for the duration of the game. The story also has many plot twists and yes.. moments where you will cry. Beautiful soundtrack (Anyone remember Garden of Memories). Absolute must buy for PS2 owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 4 Jan 2004
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
there is a wide range of things to do, like fishing (no its not boring) and spheda (sort of golf) you can take part in competitions as well! there are many monsters to fight in many different scenes and the weapons are great! there's a fantastic plot unfolding as you have fun and defeat monsters, there is more than one thing to do at a time, if you want to play a sidegame there no rush to continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, great fun, 13 Jun 2012
By 
J. Bassett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this spiritual successor to Dark Cloud. While it retains many of the game mechanics from the original Dark Cloud game, no previous knowledge of the prequel is necessary and many of the game's functions have been improved. More minigames have been added (such as the golf-esque sphere minigame) and existing ones such as fishing have been improved. The World Builder has also been expanding to give much more freedom compared to the original game, and the puzzles are more challenging.

On the whole the game very easily accessible and the controls easy to get to grips with, though if you forget to check the instructions you can miss one or two of the game's subtler points. The visuals are fantastic in a cutsey-cartoony sort of way, and the plot is imaginative and comprehensive as are the bosses, though I feel the complex story loses a little due to a lack of cut scenes. In particular I feel the main characters accept the situation entirely too easily, and could have gone through more development, but these are minor issues compared to the game as a whole.

On the whole a great game that is undervalued compared to some of the more high profile games, and needs more love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Chronicle, 11 Jan 2004
By 
James Gearing (Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
After playing the first game, i thought the initial concept was great, but there was something missing, something that usually gives games like Final Fantasy instant charm.
Then, I read a tiny little review in the back pages of a games magazine for Dark Chronicle, and decided that it would be a good investment considering I had pretty much tired out my games collection.
When I finally go round to buying it (NOWHERE seemed to have it in stock) I was amazed at how the game had been put together, and how stunning the graphics were. Cell shading looks brilliant, and fits the game really well. The locations are absolutely beautiful, and the opening scenes of the game ease you in really well to the gameplay.
One thing I would put the game down on is the fact that there is just way too much to do! I am a perfectionist with my games, and so I like to try and do EVERYTHING (GTA Vice City: 100% OH YEAH!) so when i played Dark Chronicle for the first time through I knew that there was loads that I missed, so I couldn't help starting over multiple times to try and get everything.
In the end, I bought the guide - not for answers, but for total coverage of the game. This too is brilliant, and gives you all the info you need.
At the moment, I don't even think I'm half way through the game, but its something thats not too heavy so I can leave it and come back later. And I WILL come back later.
Overall, a fantastic story with enchanting ideas and graphics to match. A must have if you liked the first one, or if you just want a change from the template RPG, Final Fantasy.
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Chronicle Review, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
One of the best JRPG classics from Level 5. A great story and new gameplay mechanics. Highly recommended to every JRPG fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Chronicle., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
Loved the game. Follows and shares elements of the first game, dark cloud, and loved it even more because of this. It actually taught me how to upgrade the weapons in the first game from this game, hehe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old school awesome!, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
I miss games like this, after playing dark cloud I had to get this, this is about a hundred times better though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Chronicles is the light, 9 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
Absolutely love this game, and agree that the makers have surpassed themselves with this one. Its a marathon but really enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Chronicle (PS2) (Video Game)
Delivery was fast, product in really good working condition works perfectly. Love the game. Recommend it to
people who love JRPG's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Chronicle (PS2)
Dark Chronicle (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £19.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews