Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and his flying broom
This game is relatively easy to pick up. Initially it looks quite complicated but with a little practice you will be well on your way to becoming a world champion quidditch player. It is more suited to a younger player 9yrs and up. It wont keep the older player occupied for too long. The graphics are fantastic. A great one for the kids and to play with your kids
Published on 9 Jan. 2004 by Mrs. J. Heward

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD GAME!
When i saw quidditch world cup in the shops i thought "yeah great finally a different sport game "and i was right but it lacks a few things 1. multiplayer 2.decent graphics and 3. uniqueness. there are loads of good points like playing each part(beaters,seekers, and chasers). but whats the point passing a ball around scoring goals when you can win it in the last 20...
Published on 14 Jan. 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and his flying broom, 9 Jan. 2004
By 
Mrs. J. Heward (Croydon, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) (Video Game)
This game is relatively easy to pick up. Initially it looks quite complicated but with a little practice you will be well on your way to becoming a world champion quidditch player. It is more suited to a younger player 9yrs and up. It wont keep the older player occupied for too long. The graphics are fantastic. A great one for the kids and to play with your kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, 2 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) (Video Game)
What a fantastic game! I am a huge Harry Potter fan, so was keen to get this game. The controls are extremely easy (some of the keys are a bit spaced out, but you can easily change these), the graphics superb and there seems to be plenty to keep the game interesting for a while.
This game probably won't be suitable for very young Harry Potter fans as the gameplay is quick and requires good coordination. However, the basics can be picked up in a few minutes and then you can start playing in a match. As you get better, more features (i.e. special moves) are added so that you don't get bored.
My only complaint - my hand has been hurting from playing it for too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD GAME!, 14 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) (Video Game)
When i saw quidditch world cup in the shops i thought "yeah great finally a different sport game "and i was right but it lacks a few things 1. multiplayer 2.decent graphics and 3. uniqueness. there are loads of good points like playing each part(beaters,seekers, and chasers). but whats the point passing a ball around scoring goals when you can win it in the last 20 seconds?
good game but dont pay it, rent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HP Flying slightly low, 14 Jan. 2004
By 
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) (Video Game)
When I got quite a bit of money for Christmas, I decided to spend it on a few video games, of which I had recieved none. One of the ones I had picked was Harry Potter Quidditch.
There are some games meant to take a gamer a while to complete and give a gamer a challenge. Though there are loads of Quidditch cards to collect to unlock all the teams and levels, this game does not give the gamer any challenge at all if they have experience using a keyboard or mouse.
Though this is fun temporarily, it is not one to buy if you want to be able to play it for a long time and not get bored.
The scenery and different stadiums can sometimes stun you e.g. the Japanese Stadium I'll admit is well created, but the teams barely put up any fight. On Nimbus Two Thousand level in the world cup, which isn't the easiest level, I scored 300 odd points compared to Bulgaria's 30 until the snitch arrived. Bulgaria are the only team you need to unlock to play, so you'd have thought they'd have put up more fight.
Though this might impress at first, you won't enjoy it for to long, so don't spend your money if you play games quite consistently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only good for the children, 21 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) (Video Game)
A semi-fun game if you are a parent trying to spend some quality time with your kids, and help them along in magical world of harry potter.
You need to guide your team through the harry potter magical sport Quidditch, played 50 feet in the air on broomsticks. Could do with more content but I'm sure young'uns will have hours of fun playing with Harry potter.
As for my opinion, and everyone has their own, it should stay as a book, which is much more enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and Tiresome - a huge disappointment, 27 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) (Video Game)
With a massive ad campaign showing spectacular scenes of action and excitement; I, the occasional gamer and massive Harry Potter fan felt compelled to play this game. All I can say is:
"what a waste of my time and money."
In theory it sounds like a great format for an exciting and challenging game that would appeal (mostly) to Harry Potter fans. EA have tried too hard to make the controls for the 'actions' basic and simple that it has had the opposite effect! I became frustrated and annoyed whilst trying to control the characters movements with several different keys scattered across the keyboard as well as using the mouse at the same time! Even the actions were boring and lame - the occasional snatch of a ball and a kick.
The game is recommended for ages above 3 years - however I would definitely not recommend this game for a youngster: they will not understand what they need to do, they will find it boring and unfulfilling and far too confusing to understand the control requirements. At 17 I found this game too confusing; I found myself just randomly pressing keys throughout the game hoping that it would trigger some sort of action to perform well in the game.
To be fair; the graphics were superb - far much more realistic and authentic than in 'The Philosopher's Stone' and 'Chamber of Secrets' and maybe the game format plays better on a different platform (such as PS2) I can't say because I haven't tried.
I gave-up playing after about three hours because of the frustrating repetitiveness of the entire game. The game did not provide any motivation or incentive for the user to continue with, it did not allow freedom for the user to choose which skill of the team that they would prefer to be - i.e. a chaser/seeker/beater etc. the user had to compete in all skills.
Overall the game was unrealistic, limited and mind-numbingly tedious. There was no excitement or adventure like the previous Harry Potter PC games have provided but instead confusing and restricted instructions and tasks. I think the magic of Quidditch is best left to the imagination; you won't capture any sense of JK's exhilarating world from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC)
Harry Potter: Quidditch World Cup (PC) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews