Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game once you get it working
I am a great lover of the first two broken sword games and this one was no exception. There is a big improvment in the graphics and I am finding the play interesting and a challenge.
The only major downside to this game is that I had no end of problems getting the game to work. It took a lot of hours on the internet trying to figure out what I was doing wrong, I was...
Published on 29 Mar. 2004 by Victoria Holme

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having enjoyed the previous two and found the puzzles pleasant enough two or three things really bring this game down. First the puzzles you have to race to complete using key strokes. No fun at all. Second the repetitive block/crate shoving. Basically repeats of the same puzzle. Third the key stroking rather than point and clicking and having to change direction as the...
Published on 12 Feb. 2004 by pippintogg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game once you get it working, 29 Mar. 2004
By 
Victoria Holme "Vicki" (Horsham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
I am a great lover of the first two broken sword games and this one was no exception. There is a big improvment in the graphics and I am finding the play interesting and a challenge.
The only major downside to this game is that I had no end of problems getting the game to work. It took a lot of hours on the internet trying to figure out what I was doing wrong, I was not the only one. So be warned you may have to spend a few hours or even days to get started, but I think that it is well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back with old friends, 28 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
Before buying this game for my girlfriend for Christmas (she is a big fan, introducing me to the first two games!) I read the reviews for this game. Some slating others loving it hmmm.... Well This is the review to believe! Having enjoyed the ease of the controls of the previous two, this new system was a bit of a worry, but it really is not a problem, it's very easy to get the hang of. Unfortunately much of the game is decided for you as your actions are limited to what the controls suggest, taking away the mystery of the first two, but also the frustrations, as often I was stuck for ages trying to work out what I was meant to be doing in the previous games!
On the plus side the graphics are brilliant, the story just as good as the previous chapters, and the same actor plays George's voice. I am quite simply addicted to it, as is my girlfriend! The PC version is much cheaper than the playstation game and depending on your PC specs, a lot faster in loading! a definite two thumbs up!! a present that you buy for someone else but end up playing with more than they do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Form, 13 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
First up, a word to the three reviewers who have given this game 1 star reviews for reasons such as 'being a linear, on-rails game' and for 'having to interact with everything in the level to proceed': Broken Sword is an adventure game! That is the nature of the genre and you should have know that before buying it. People's own misconceptions are not a fault of the game.
Right then, it's been six long years since Broken Sword: The Smoking Mirror hit the shelves; six long years in which only a couple of decent adventure games have been released, leaving a huge gap in the games market and leaving games players pining for a return. Well here it is, or is it? When Revolution announced that the third game in the Broken Sword series would not be a point n'click adventure, many fans wrote back in dismay, saying Revolution had folded to the pressures of the industry to conform to technology. But they need not have feared, as during the development of The Sleeping Dragon, the designers at Revolution had devised a way of combining the classic puzzle solving gameplay elements of the first two Broken Sword Games with a brand new interface, suited to the new 3D environments.
For the most part, the new system is a success, as the player can now choose one of four modes of interaction when they approach an object of interest, which are displayed on the screen, corresponding to the layout of the buttons on the keyboard/game pad, making object usage extremely quick and easy. This system completely removes the use of the mouse from the game, thus also placing the control of the character on the keyboard; unfortunately, this does not work so well, as due to the frequent camera changes, it can often be tricky to navigate the environments. Fortunately however, your character is not able to fall off high ledges or into perilous areas, so you will never die as a result of a control mishap.
So with a control system established, Revolution did what they do best and set about crafting a storyline of epic proportions, spanning several countries and introducing lots of key new characters. The plot once again revolves around the Templars as a new enemy threatens the world, and the player, as George and Nico, must attempt to foil this plan. The storyline is good and nicely links the different setpieces together, but I did find that it lacked the attention to detail of the first two games. The characterisation however is simply spot on. In my oppinion, George Stobbart has to be one of the best computer game characters ever created; he is incredibly witty and has some amazing dialogue (made even better by Rolf Saxon's awesome voice acting), but he also displays a mortality that is often missing from the more current games characters. Similarly, Nicole Collard is also fantastic and the chemistry between the two leads REALLY works; in fact there are no badly realised characters in the whole game.
But there are also not enough characters in the game. This, for me, was where The Sleeping Dragon pailed most significantly compared to it's prequels, as in changing the style of game to incorporate more action setpieces, they removed a lot of the deep character interaction that is typical of point and click games, which really detracted from the overall atmosphere and personality of the game. What I would have given to have seen another Harry and Pearl cameo...
Following on with this theme, certain other aspects of the game, such as the persistent (relentless) block pushing puzzles which, although cleverly intergrated, did get tiresome quickly and the stealth sections were quite painful, especially if you got killed repeatedly and were forced to start the same section over again. Also the fact that you could not skip lines of dialogue or cutscenes was an oversight.
But these are only moderate criticisms of an otherwise very well rounded game. The graphics are beautiful, creating a much better impression of '2D in 3D' than any amount of Cel-Shading could ever achieve and the voice acting and music was similarly brilliant. It's a shame though that they didn't get Barrington Pheloung back for the score. Therefore, with Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon, Revolution software have defied the critics and sparked the rebirth of the adventure genre, albeit in a slightly different guise. The Sleeping Dragon is not quite as good as its predecessors, but given that both Broken Sword 1 and 2 were masterpieces, it still stands high above the competition. If they make a fourth game, it may well be the adventure to top all others; I just hope we get a chance to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy end to a fabulous trilogy, 15 Nov. 2003
By 
M. Palmer (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (aka Broken Sword 3) has everything it's predecessors had and more...in bucket loads...
It's not a particularly difficult game, the plot line is very linear (as is your exploration through the game), and it took me only 11 hours in total to complete...but although it won't have experienced adventurers scratching their head (most of the time anyway)...there is one thing that should make this game a must buy for even the most experienced adventure game player...it's just so enjoyable to play.
It retains the previous games love of mystery, secret passages and ingenuity, and ties it all in with a very well thought of plot.
For a long time adventure games have been stuck around the 800x600 pixel resolution, and if 3D graphic were involved they would be placed against a pre-rendered static background...nothing wrong with that, but they can sometimes seem a little dated against the full 3D engines employed in today's games. Well THQ have just combined a 3D engine into an adventure game, and my god, they've made a brilliant job of it.
Playing the game at 1280x1024 resolution with 32bit colour depth and dynamic lighting, brings Broken Sword to life like no other adventure game before it - it is truly a visual feast.
As you wander around a scene (either as Nico or George who are themselves superbly animated) the scene camera employs brilliantly choreographed movements that gives the whole game an absorbing cinematic quality.
Novice or experienced, it makes no difference, this game is a fun ride, and I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
Having enjoyed the previous two and found the puzzles pleasant enough two or three things really bring this game down. First the puzzles you have to race to complete using key strokes. No fun at all. Second the repetitive block/crate shoving. Basically repeats of the same puzzle. Third the key stroking rather than point and clicking and having to change direction as the characters move through different perspectives. Instead of this, I'd recommend Grim Fandango. Funnier, bettr puxzzles and more intriguing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much like tomb raider?, 24 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
Once again revolution have created an absoloutely fantastic game. The change to 3-D has given the game a real egde over the competition. It continues on from the first two incorporating the storyline about the templars. My only complaint was that the interface and general gameplay is becoming too much like tomb raider. Although there is still loads of interaction with other characters and the new action sequences are good. I was a big fan of the previous games and still am of this one. I think that this game will appeal to people who didn't play the first two as they might be used to the interface more. I was deeply saddened when i heard that it was going to be made without point + click, i still think that many people that bought the first and second games will not buy this one for that reason. After all this, it is still a great game, good storyline and plenty to keep you occupied. Another fantastic game from revoloution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy the game!, 29 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
I am no adventure game expert, but I am an avid Broken Sword fan. I loved the first two games (the first game especially), and the third is an excellent addition to the series. It took me about 16 hours to complete (I said I was no expert!) but I certainly think that makes it worth the money. The plot is well thought out, the animation is ace, and the dialogue is as funny (and sarcastic) as ever. Well done THQ, please start working on Broken Sword 4.................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Irritating interface, fun game., 8 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
I strongly agree with the comments about movement control by Roland Davis from Shoreham. They have made a feature out of this fault, as several puzzles are only a challenge because of the control difficulties, which I find poor gaming. I also found the save menue irritating. Unlike most games it doesn't list the saves in reverse order, so one has to scroll through every previous save to make a new save. That's just careless.
Having said that the storyline itself is fun and the backgrounds excellent. Interaction of characters with backgrounds is fair (some tendency to walk through objects and people) The puzzles are easier than the previous games and solutions often telegraphed, but the difficulty level is fairly consistent.
There is a new feature whereby in some dangerous situations the game runs in real time, so one has to think and act quickly. Haven't entirely decided how I feel about this yet, but leaning towards liking it as a good way to balance adrenalin and puzzle solving time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 19 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
I loved the first two Broken Sword games so I was really looking forward to this one. The game is of the same high quality as the other two and is fairly enjoyable. However, I was disappointed at the lack of puzzles to solve. It was also quite a bit easier than I expected. Overall, it's not too bad but I prefer more (and trickier) puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George is back and it all looks very good, 29 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) (Video Game)
Years after the Smoking Mirror incident, young Mr. Stobbard has abandoned the skinny student look to become a slim but athletic action hero type who pushes boxes and climbs walls. He has also given up language studies and graduated from a law school, apparently wishing to imitate Ms. Kate Walker of Syberia. And the world is again in danger, this time threatened by a cross between Christopher Walken and Quentin Crisp. So George turns to adventuring and is joined by Ms. Nicole Collard, his perfect-bodied but ill-tempered ex-girlfriend who still substitutes French phonemes for English ones. They meet a host of other characters, all eager to share some excellent voice acting and looking attractive even when wearing their ties too short.
The Broken Sword series is generally how adventure games should be made and the new 3D environment of the Sleeping Dragon is a signicant improvement to the previous titles. I would only criticise the game's growing self-referentialism and its theme - surely there must be other excuses for adventuring than improbable global conspiracies and nonsensical ancient powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC)
Broken Sword: The Sleeping Dragon (PC) by THQ (Windows 2000 / 98 / NT / XP)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews