Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And to think I almost missed this game entirely...
I know it may seem a little over the top when someone gives a game five stars (it has to have SOME faults, doesn't it?), but I can't help myself. This is one of the most fun games I've played in years. Perfect? Probably not, but the good points so outweigh any bad ones I might have encountered that I don't even notice them.

Basically, this game takes the...
Published on 26 July 2006 by Majik Monkee

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brilliant
First off, I bought this game as part of the Standard Games Volume One pack, which is great value for money. Jedi Academy is a very easily playable game, and one that I did definitely enjoy. I like the options of either FPS with a large array of weapons or the 3rd person lightsaber action. At the start the FPS mode will probably be more popular, as you get to pick off a...
Published on 26 Nov 2007 by T. Parker


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And to think I almost missed this game entirely..., 26 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
I know it may seem a little over the top when someone gives a game five stars (it has to have SOME faults, doesn't it?), but I can't help myself. This is one of the most fun games I've played in years. Perfect? Probably not, but the good points so outweigh any bad ones I might have encountered that I don't even notice them.

Basically, this game takes the best things about Jedi Knight (which was my previous favorite game of all time), and improves upon them greatly, tossing in a whole bunch of cool new features to top things off. As with Jedi Knight, you play as a Jedi, this time, a padawan (in the beginning, anyway) named Jaden. My favorite part about playing as a character other than Kyle is that you get to customize your characters species, costume, and lightsaber from a fairly generous pool of options, giving you more of a feel of "ownership" of the character as you play, despite the pre-assigned name. Later in the game, you get the option of choosing between dual sabers or a saber staff if you so choose, and both are a lot of fun to master. There is an overall story to the game, but mainly, you get to play through a series of "tiers" of missions, with a much larger mission that ties the story together after every four or five missions you complete. As usual, you get to choose the force powers you improve as the game goes on, and you are rewarded with extra force points if you choose to complete the optional fifth mission in each tier (only four are requried). There are some nice cutscenes to tie the game together as well, and the acting is done quite well for a bunch of computer generated actors.

I could go into a boatload more detail about the minute aspects of the game, but there are plenty of places to read the technical details. The point I want to get across is that this game is FUN...a lot of fun. I have literally played it through back to back four times since I bought it (it takes me a couple days to play through a few hours at a time, of course). Even without the level of customization the game offers, I'd still play through it over and over. The biggest issues I experienced was some slowdown on a couple of the levels, but my machine basically falls somewhere just past the minimum system requirements, so I can't complain. Jedi Knight fans or Star Wars fans in general will appreciate what this game has to offer - it's the next best thing to actually being a Jedi, and you won't have to "force" yourself to have a good time playing it! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feels more like an expansion pack (but a very good one), 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
I feel compelled to write this because this title only got 70% from PC Gamer's review, which I felt to be much too harsh. This game deserves better.
In Jedi Academy you play as Jaden, apprentice to Kyle Katarn, our hero from Jedi Outcast. An enemy from the past starts accumulating force energy using an ancient artifact, and fearing for the consequences the new Jedi are sent out to investigate. The game allows you choose which missions to take, weapons to carry and force powers to develop. In time, and as the game progresses, you can learn new lightsaber combat styles and can even construct your own double-bladed saber-staff (or fight with two sabers at once). This game allows all the character options that players have been crying out for, and no player can go through the game without a feeling of smug satisfaction at the progress of his character - because it's your character, not someone else's. So why is this not a perfect game?
Well, reasons given by the previously mentioned review are basically: old game engine, problems with graphics when the action takes place in large areas, superfluous weaponry and moronic AI. I would like to debunk these accusations a bit because at least three out of four are unfair.
Firstly, this game uses exactly the same graphics as Jedi Outcast. This is a plus, because if you can run Jedi Outcast you can run Jedi Academy too, and I can't see any owner of Jedi Outcast not wanting this title (that's how good it was). Secondly, the game will only slow down if you shove the graphics' resolution too far, and why on earth would you want to? In the middle of hurried saber-combat there's not a lot of time for sight-seeing, and in any case who is actually going to need such a hi-res setup? Thirdly, how you choose to use weapons is entirely a matter of skill and style. It's called gameplay. There are some weapons that are still very useful even at later levels. Catch a reborn standing on a ledge, unawares, and a handy shot from a rocket launcher can knock him off the precipice (saving you the need to actually fight him). Nothing can block a shot from the sniper rifle. And the concussion rifle is almost unstoppable. If you can't see the advantages of kit like this, you must be severely lacking in imagination.
But the comment about the AI is true, I'm afraid. Although you could argue that you are almost invincible once you get decent saber defence abilities, the stormtroopers really are dumb. Their accuracy is pathetic (fairly consistent with the films then) and while you get the odd Dark Trooper thrown in now and then or the occasional heavy weapon trooper, it's mostly a matter of deciding whether to smash them into the wall, push them off ledges, use a mind trick or just walk up to them and cut them into little pieces. I'd suggest that you crank up the difficulty for a real fight now and then.
So, overall I reckon this is worth a good 84% as a game, and four stars on this site. It's just that it feels more like an expansion pack than a freshly developed game in itself, and the AI really needs a tune-up. A patch or update from Lucasarts with improved AI and a few more single-player skins would not go amiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated engine but alot of fun to play, 30 July 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
The Quake 3 engine is showing its age now but I still find myself playing Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. Why? Because it's fun, that's why. The game has a good mix between linear and freeform gameplay which allows you to choose more or less which missions you want to play and in which order. You also get to design your own character (Human male, Human female, Rodian male, Kel Dor male, Twi'lek female, Zabrak female) and your own lightsaber (red lightsabers are reserved for multiplayer only by the way). You get to choose which force powers you want to focus on, getting to choose light (heal, mind trick etc) and/or dark (grip, lightning etc) powers. You'll find yourself choosing grip just so you can say "I find your lack of faith disturbing..." to every stormtrooper you come across.
Later on in the single player game you get to choose whether you'll be a Jedi or a Dark Jedi which has a dramatic effect on the closing levels and the ending of the game. Like I said, the game has a good mix of linear and freeform gameplay.
The multiplayer has kept me hooked for far too long. The amount of mods, custom characters, new levels and other fan made downloads is almost on the same scale as the original Quake 3. Want to play as Master Chief (from Halo) or Spiderman with a lightsaber? Just download the custom models and you can. Some people play Jedi Academy multiplayer for the saber duels, some for capture the flag or team based free for alls and some people play it to play out the role of a character. The amount mods and custom additions to the game means that you can have hours of fun just trying to get your team mates to dance the 'YMCA' in synch with you.
If you want a single player game which has a good replay value (thanks to the freeform/linear style) and grants a large dosage of cinematic events (saber locks, defeating swarms of troopers with your saber, fighting dark jedi on top of a speeding hover train through a windswept metropolis etc) then you should think about getting Jedi Academy. If you want to play a multiplayer game in which you don't have to shoot everything that moves and requires a little more thinking and even some role playing now and then, you should also think about getting Jedi Academy.
There are some bad points to Jedi Academy though; only a few but they should be mentioned anyway. The menus are annoying, it seems like a minor point but they really are irritating. Sometimes people find ways to exploit the dual saber and staff saber (like the one Darth Maul used) styles and it can be difficult to beat them when they just flail at you. The graphics and sound aren't top notch, like I said the game is dated, but with a good processor (2GB) and graphics card (128MB) you can put every graphic and sound option to the max and enjoy the game the way it was meant to be played; if you don't have the latest and greatest hardware it doesn't really matter because you can play the game anyway (the specs are pretty low since it uses an older game engine). And the AI is a bit dumb, sometimes dark jedi kill themselves by jumping off cliffs and the like (though you do end up laughing your head off when this happens) but these are all minor flaws in a fun game I find myself installing and playing through again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever Star Wars game..., 1 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
I was lucky enough to play a Beta copy of this game, and thoroughly enjoyed it (however I quit after the first ten levels so as not to spoil the final version).
Saber-combat is the focus of this game and the bewildering array of moves is both broad enough for the L33T Jedis out there, but easy enough to pick up for the newbies. Most of them only appear after a little more play, giving you time to expand your repertoire and skills as the levels get harder.
The locations are stunning and the plot of the story allows for a huge range of areas. The thing I liked most was the variety of levels, and the tasks involved. I played one level where there are no other characters, no need for weapons - just a lot of speed. You DON'T wanna be caught standing around here!
Another challenge is mastery of the vehicles... I've played Taun-tauns and Speeder Bikes, and I think the final version will have many more!
This is a game for any Star Wars fan, trust me. It is both appealing to get into at a very user-friendly newbie level, but for the die-hards out there, the experience is just as rewarding... theres nothing quite like the thrill of taking on a cluster of enemies armed with a saber, some dark-side powers and a bad attitude!
I cannot recommend this game enough...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of jedi knight game ever, 10 Sep 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
If you compare Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy with Jedi Knight: Outcast you will see how versatile the game design is (different planets, different models, different enemies). It's definite better than Jedi Knight II, more fun, freedom of choice, co-op missons with npcs, etc.
It's really Jedi Knight literally, you get send to other planets, as amassadors, as negotiators. You can rise from padawan to a jedi master.
Most levels are reminiscent to the star wars movies, so you feel home.
The only negative aspect of this game (maybe of all jedi knights games) is that the atmosphere is created more by the sound and the music than from the graphics, which could be better compared to other games in 2003.
Nevertheless, Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy is an excellent game for all Star Wars fans and gamers, who like action adventures. ENJOY to swing your lightsaber!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and learning all the way, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. N. Huxter "Mama Nix" (Welling, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this game for my 14 year old autistic son as his latest obsession is Star Wars. He also suffers from mild ADHD and having this game continues to help him with increasing his concentration levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brilliant, 26 Nov 2007
By 
T. Parker "thenuttysquirrel" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
First off, I bought this game as part of the Standard Games Volume One pack, which is great value for money. Jedi Academy is a very easily playable game, and one that I did definitely enjoy. I like the options of either FPS with a large array of weapons or the 3rd person lightsaber action. At the start the FPS mode will probably be more popular, as you get to pick off a variety of blaster wielding goons. Later on the lightsabers come into their own as you have to fight through waves of Dark Jedi.

The story is fine, and the cutscenes are well done, and not too long. You can choose which Force Powers to focus on, which is another plus. My main problem with the game is that I never felt really involved in the universe. My main point of comparison for this game is Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, which was released at about the same time. That game is an RPG, so they are not equivalents, but this game just doesn't have the depth of interaction with people and places that KOTOR has, or indeed other FPS games. The landscapes feel a bit claustrophobic, and the interface is wooden - the mission briefing screens look like they are from a game much older than this one. The single player missions are also quite short - it didn't take me very long at all to finish the game, and when the big light/dark side choice came I thought 'oh, that's quite early', but the mission after that is your last one.

This is a game worth playing - very easy to pick up, and good variety of play. It just doesn't quite measure up to various of the other absolute top notch Star Wars games out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 22 May 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
Having recently updated a very old PC I thought I would try out this instalment of the Jedi Knight series - having enjoyed Outcast & Jedi Knight II.

This game is great. You have the usual choice of weapons - however as you have a light sabre from the off I kept hold of that. The levels are good, some quite lengthy and there are plenty of foes to hack through. There are also a large number of Dark Jedi to fight - which is great if you like to use your light sabre.

Perhaps the best thing about the game is the depth and variety that comes with this. You have a different light sabres and styles to choose from while you need certain powers to complete levels. There are monsters that you cannot defeat in battle as well - such as the mutant Rancour and the Sandworms.

All in all very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good game, if you don't discover the fatal flaws, 1 Jun 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
I feel that this game starts off well, but as you progress into the later levels, there seems to be less and less variety, making gameply often quite monotonous.
Compared to the orginal Jedi Knight DFII, there are less puzzles but (i think) more enemies. The puzzles are really what make Jedi knight DFII a superb game. Obviously without the fighting it wouldn't be a superb game, but without any puzzle element, well it kind of falls into the "100 ways to kill a dude" category, and sadly, thats what I found myself doing for most of the time through Jedi Academy.
Jedi Acedemy also lacks that feel that you get from a really well concieved plot and again, i refer back to Jedi Knight- you are on a journey of discovery to learn the ways of the force, and find the man that killed your father. On Jedi Acedemy you are a pretty anonymous jedi student who encounters a strange sith cult woman. Then, whilst being babysat by kyle katarn and luke skywalker, he/she has the mission of eradicating this evil cult.
The missions are not hard, even on the hardest difficulty setting. There are major flaws that make the game far too easy. First of all, it is too easy to escape from the dark jedi. Jump on a high ledge, and yes they will follow you, but often they will try to jump and fall to their death. All you need to do to escape them is to run away, keep jumping.
Secondly, one force power can make you almost invincible. Force grip. There is a simple strategy to the game. Every weak enemy like stormtroopers, you slash. Every strong enemy like reborns, you use the force grip to throw them down a hole. But what if there isn't a hole? Well i was saying earlier about dodgy AI, well that's the key. Jog to a place where there is a hole, wait for master sith lord to arrive in all his glory, then lob him down a cliffside.
Jedi academy has some very good points though, like a mission spent on speeder bikes, and the ability to run across the hoth wastelands on the back of a tauntaun.
One of the worst things about jedi academy is that the gameplay is by no means smooth. It is very choppy, even on my pentium 4 2.8ghz. Also the lightsaber moves often look very repetetive.
On the whole, i think Jedi Academy had the potential to be very, very good. BUT obviously the testing wasn't very thourogh considering the terrible flaws to the game, and also it was so slow. I find myself wondering what was wrong with the jedi outcast engine? Well it didn't have volumetric shadows, but that is something jedi academy could do without, because being perfectly sharp they often succeed in giving the characters a high contrast, even cartoony look to them. Compared to Jedi outcast, JA is very slow.
By all means buy this game if you are a star wars fan, it will probably be very fun. However if you are into games I think you may be disappointed with this one due to it being quite easy.
(Beware- the final boss took me 6 minutes to defeat on my first go)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this game is really good, trust me i am a jedi, 16 Mar 2004
This review is from: Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) (Video Game)
jedi acadamy was my first shoot em up and i love it!
it has:
a brilliant single player with inventive and varied missions and the choice of which mission you do next.
first of all you choose your character- what kind of head he has body- legs hair colour etc.
Then you choose your light sabre- the colour and your hilt style. Later on in the game you can change your fighting style but at the start you get no choice just standard.
The first mission is quite easy however the absence of a gun is annoying. This allows you to get good at your light saber skills though which you will definitely need in the coming missions.
Force powers: Force powers play a major role in jedi acadamy and some are quite fun to use, each force power is 1-3 levels, 3 being the best. First you get the basic ones: force jump, force push, force pull, force sense and force speed. They go up a level every time you complete a group of missions. then you have lots of other powers that you can choose to up grade at the start of every mission (you can only choose one)
I advise that you choose force heal, force protect or force lightning.
light saber duels, these are fun but require little effort as all you really need to do is keep on pressing the attack button.
Multi player is really good you can go on the internet against other players or you can play against bots in about 5 different locations.
Now is your chance to have a go at dueling with a double bladed or duel light sabers before you get that far in the game.
This game is not really a break through in pc gaming but is a thoughly enjoyable game. So quick go out and buy it and I hope you have as much enjoyment as I a have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC)
Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (PC) by Activision (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: 6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews