Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated!
This game has been hammered both on Amazon and in the press. Don't be put off: There's a splendid RTS here.
The style of the game seems to be at the root of the bad press, but it feels much more in keeping with the great fantasy golden age of the 1970s. The game looks like a very attractive Fantasy Wargame! Just think Games Workshop Miniatures and you've got the vibe...
Published on 26 Dec 2003

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rushed Job
The premise behind the title is a sound one, unfortunately the woefully inept execution of this game renders it almost unplayable.
So much more could have been done with the "Age of Empires" playing format, and in fact if this is the kind of RTS you like then I would recommend that you spend your money on any of Ensemble Studios games as they have perfected their...
Published on 1 April 2005 by Craig Bunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated!, 26 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game has been hammered both on Amazon and in the press. Don't be put off: There's a splendid RTS here.
The style of the game seems to be at the root of the bad press, but it feels much more in keeping with the great fantasy golden age of the 1970s. The game looks like a very attractive Fantasy Wargame! Just think Games Workshop Miniatures and you've got the vibe of the game.
The landscapes are spectacularly and expertly designed, with fantastic 'particle' grass effects and changing weather patterns.Wildlife hops about and water sloshes around when touched by the cursor. Furthermore, the terrain is true 3D, so tactics are very flexible. For example, you can lure the enemy into ambushes in valleys by posting archers on the top of canyon sides. Simple things like this set it above the simpler tactics of Warcraft III.
The skirmish AI is very good, with aggressive and cunning tactics exhibited by your enemies, who frequently use diversionary attacks and pincer movements to great effect.
The unit mix has been condemned by many reviews, but with a few hours play reveals considerable depth. Despite there being only two factions, the player has a huge amount of freedom to create his own style of army. It's perfectly possible to concentrate on creating an army entirely of Goblin Spearmen supported with archer or an exclusively elf army, and win games with them. The mix of troop types is very varied and both sides differ greatly from each other (far more successfully than a similar feature boasted by Empires: Dawn of the Modern World, for example). The extensive unit mix allows for some very exotic and colourful battles not often seen outside of miniature wargaming.
Presentation is excellent, with solid voice acting, superb sound effects and atmospheric music. However, the opening film (a grainy replay of ingame footage) feels rushed and cheap, and blights the package. I've knocked a star off for that!
The campaign is well handled and feels much like traditional fantasy story telling. The game's lack of pretensions about it's subject matter and the the coherent atmosphere captures the spirit of fantasy gaming very nicely. The use of the traditional cast of characters and monsters lend it a familiarity not found in other similar games.
On-line play is fast and fun. The game runs very well over a 56K connection and the games are always action-packed and rewarding.
One of the biggest complaints about War of the Ring has been it's visual similarity to Warcraft III. This isn't the case, for the simple fact that the game uses the visual style of Battle Realms (made by the same people). Battle Realms was released WELL before Warcraft III, and is the visual and gameplay inspiration for War of the Ring. Check out some Battle Realms screenshots for proof of this.
Anyone expecting a version of the movies will be disappointed: Anyone who grew up with Tolkien and the table top fantasy games scene will be in for a very nice surprise. With gorgeous graphics, exciting and diverse gameplay and fantastic environments, I can thoroughly recommend the War of the Ring to any fan of fantasy and RTS gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good price, really good quality., 4 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
Bit of an oldie, but if you like classic rts and lotr then this is it. lol. based on the books rather than the films so a bit more in it than bfme. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warcraft in Middle-Earth, 31 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. Kevin Behan "kevbehan" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game is best thought of as a large expansion pack for Warcraft III - the game engine, tactics and 'look-and-feel' are identical to that game; the only difference is that the units are inspired by the Lord of the Rings.
.
As a fan of Warcraft, I therefore also enjoyed this game, which is a perfectly serviceable RTS (although not as much as the old 'War in Middle-Earth' game that I once owned for my Amstrad 128k, which took 35 minutes to load from a cassette player - ah, the memories.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rushed Job, 1 April 2005
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
The premise behind the title is a sound one, unfortunately the woefully inept execution of this game renders it almost unplayable.
So much more could have been done with the "Age of Empires" playing format, and in fact if this is the kind of RTS you like then I would recommend that you spend your money on any of Ensemble Studios games as they have perfected their art.
With the power this games requires (800MHz) then one would expect that they would be pushing the limits of the in game graphics (especially when this is coupled with a 32MB Graphics card) but, no they do not. In fact the games graphics would not look out of place in a game from 1998.
Graphics aside, the part of the game most fulfilling is the actual game play, unfortunately there is a surprising lack of this in the game. There is no real desire to continue throughout the game and no real reward if you indeed do.
The whole incident appears to be a rushed job, it seems that it was released so that it would tie in with the film release and make lots of money, no matter what the game play was like people were going to buy it because of the license.
If you are reading this review with the intent on buying the game, please spend your money somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War of the ring?War of good and evil?, 10 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
OK i got this game for christmas. It is amazing RTS and good graphics. But you can i only be good or evil. I was hoping it would be elves, men, dwarves, goblins,mordor,uruk hai. Be species or countrys not just good and evil. But still a good RTS game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Complete rubbish, only came with 1 of 2 needed discs., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
Only came with one disc absolute rip off and failed to inform me of this before hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tragic execution.., 9 Dec 2003
By 
Yu Li Hsiang "zaku0083" (Geneve Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
"The war of the ring" is not at all what it may seem to be, if you are a Lord of the Rings fan who wanted to try out how it feels like to command different armies existed in the movie, forget about it. It was a total dissapointment after I opened th box, like I was poured by a bucket of cold water. The game offers only two factions: Good and evil. As all other real time strategies now provide at least three factions to choose from, such division has ruined the whole magic and possibilities that could have been created alone with the movie, if not the novel. In my own opinion, the game could have easily been created with four balanced and fun factions: Modor, Isengard, Men and elves if the game desiging team intented to really let gamers have fun, especially over the internet. With two factions only, what fun is it in having it on line? The few units available in the game is a further evidence that the design team did not spend time and effort in the production at all. A total dissapointment for me, 1st. Unbalanced game play (18 units for evl and 15 for forces of good). 2nd. extremely limited possibilities (The only elvish combat units are archers while humans of Gondor can only work as the infantry...) 3rd. disconnection from the movie and book (Uruk-Hai are ranged units not melee units??? far from the images of blade waving Uruk-Hai in the series..) the list goes on and on. The game is in 3D but if the game is so poorly layed out it actually became a waste of computer resources. Not my cup of tea, in my point of view, it is rather hard to find another RTS game worse then it within the past 5 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool really cool, 14 Jan 2004
By 
S ALMOND (Grimsby England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
When i first bought this game i had all ready read another review about it and i am a big fan of lord of the rings i bought it and it my best game so far.
You have the ability to creat any force you want from the lord of the rings book.
Having a really cool zoom in and out fuction you can really get stuck with yous troops and the back ground affects are ace as you would expect from a cool game.
But becareful on what foce you want to be good or bad they have both got their advantages and disadvantages so i am always careful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I dont play games but...., 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
Since buying it my son ( aged 11 ) has spent about 5 hours a week playing and loving this game over and over. He'd spend more time, but I'm an evil grumpy parent who wont let him spend every hour of the day on the computer. Sometimes I even make him play outside!!
OK - so it must be pretty good to keep someone from the PS/2 and gamecube generation so entertained. Now all we need is a stratergy guide to go with it for the top levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 6 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is the best game i've ever played. Does other coustomers are very wrong to rate such a good game 2 or 1 star. This game has good graphics, gameplay and everything. If you are a fan of RTS games, then rush of to you're nearest store and buy this game!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD)
The Lord of the Rings: The War of the Ring (PC CD) by Sierra (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews