Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game - and loyal to the film
My first thoughts on a Tron game were that it's going to be just another money-maker. 60 seconds into play and I was proven totally wrong. Tron 2.0 is an excellent game. It's a first-person shoot-em-up which 'feels' very similar to System Shock 2 in some ways (same graphics engine maybe?). In a similar vein to the film, you find yourself 'zapped' into a computer for...
Published on 27 Feb 2004 by Mr. D. Haylett

versus
4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surefire way to go insane, very quickly!
I have never yelled at my monitor as much as I have with this game. It's the sort of fiendishly addictive game that you want to play but simply cannot as it's combat is simply so hard - even on the 'normal' difficulty level.
The game is simply beautiful with fantastic graphics and an excellent game concept, atmosphere premise and ideas within. But the combat is a...
Published on 3 April 2004 by P. J. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game - and loyal to the film, 27 Feb 2004
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
My first thoughts on a Tron game were that it's going to be just another money-maker. 60 seconds into play and I was proven totally wrong. Tron 2.0 is an excellent game. It's a first-person shoot-em-up which 'feels' very similar to System Shock 2 in some ways (same graphics engine maybe?). In a similar vein to the film, you find yourself 'zapped' into a computer for reasons unknown, and have to survive in a world of circuitry, 0's, 1's, and the human embodiment of programs, viruses and even DLL files!
There is a strong and interesting storyline which follows from start to finish, and merges well with the action of the game. Players of Sys Shock 2 will get deja vu as Ma3a - a female program guiding you on your mission, seems a bit like Shodan (on a friendly day).
The graphics are exactly as they are in the film - the luminous grey of peoples faces, the glowing blues and reds. Everything is smooth and you get the exact feeling that you're inside a computer system. The feeling of loneliness (a la Sys Shock 2) is also there and pulls you right into the game.
Gameplay is straightforward. Shooting people (or throwing your disc at them) and solving simple puzzles while trying to upgrade your own systems. You can obtain weapons, defences and upgrades which you choose to plug into your own software to enhance yourself - which can become corrupted should you receive damage from a virus. The RPG factor is also there and strong.
And of course there's the light cycles sub-game - incorporated into the storyline, but also available as a mini-game which you can play whenever you want.
This game is a must for fans of Tron, fans of System Shock, fans of shoot-em-ups, and fans of RPGs. It's a little tough at times but you can select your difficulty level and you can quick-save whenever you want. It's also sprinkled with brilliant moments like trying to escape a hard-drive when it's being formatted! You can't go wrong with this game - and just check out the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Game not to be missed, 20 Feb 2004
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
Tron 2.0 is a superb game. Its refreshing to finally come across a unique shooter/RPG instead of all the war clones out there.
The two 5 star reviews previous pretty much sum up the game. The story, world environment/level design, voice acting and motion capture are top notch and add to the great atmosphere that is Tron.
As you progress you will visit many real computer locations like a firewall, router, a PDA and even the internet. You can even ride the light cycles from the film which is challenging and fun.
As you advance in the game you can modify your five main stats (Health, Energy, Weapons, Transfer rate and Processor power) however you like and also there are programs you can use to help you survive in the computer world. These are split into Offense, Defensive and Utility programs which range in quality from Alpha then beta to Gold. (Examples of some are new weapons, shields for specific body areas, jumping, damage enhancing and even virus scanning.
The combat is fast paced and exciting (my favorite weapon is the Disk - same as used in the 80s film) so no let down on that side of the game either.
The only downside is because this is such a strange game a lot of people will be unsure or put off. This has led to sales not being so great and chances for a sequel unlikely :( The same happened to the Original System Shock by Looking Glass Studios (now rated one of the best games of all time).
My advice is if your looking for a FPS/RPG then buy this. I dont believe you will be disappointed at all. In a market of so many sub standard games this one really shines.
In response to the previous reviewer that gave one star because it didnt run on his system, i have tried this game on my main 2.7 amd and my old 1.6 amd and it runs fine.. no jerking whatever on max detail and no matter how many objects/NPCs are about. Saving the money for Doom 3 might be a waste of his money as that game will need a beast to run it guaranteed :)

Its also dropped to £14.99 so what are you waiting for....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually outstanding, 24 Sep 2003
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
Almost like an amalgam of two separate games Tron 2.0 is a sequel to the original 1982 Disney film (Bruce Boxleitner appears again as a much older Alan Bradley) and captures the look and feel of the original perfectly. On a high spec machine it really lives up to the hype as one of the most beautiful computer games I have ever seen, truely breathtaking and filled with ooh-ahhh moments. It's really like slipping into the movie (with all the warm cuddly nostalga that involves)
Now to the two seperate games. The main thrust of the game is a fairly standard first person shooter with the twist of being able to use the Tron light disk as the main weapon. This would have condemned the game to being a strictly two star affair apart from the inclusion of the upgrades. This allows the character in a very RPGish way to upgrade their abilities and skills and juggle them to make their character unique. Prefer blasting everything in sight, then upgrade weapons and defence, prefer sneaking around and you can gain silent walking abilities, so not only can you choose the way you want to play the game you can also mould your character to excel in that area. But what this game really a top class release is the inclusion of light bikes, both playable within the main narrative and seperately as an escalating light bike challenge. One of the most famous sequences from the original movie was the light bike scene, a manic game of "Worm" played on bikes here recreated with graphics that if anything look better than the movie! Adreneline inducing and painfully addictive (You'll glance at the clock realise it's 3am and then decide to have another go!) it really is the crown on top of a prime release.
Difficulty is set about right (on normal level) with sections of the game holding a real challenge but the real lasting replayability lies in the light bike races. Now if you'll excuse me program I'm going to take another attempt to run the cursed red riders into the nearest grid wall....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 7 April 2005
By 
C. Stroud (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
This game works very well - it combines some character building with the staple blasting action that we all know and love. The levels look fantastic (in particular the internet hub and the mobile server)and the glowing items and chracter skins are elegant and not overdone. Plotwise, this doesn't lose out - its not on a par with the Max Paynes but its good enough to hold the story together and make you feellike you're playing for a reason, not just the mind-numbing shooting that seems to feature in so many of the games around currently.
The game allows you to load up different 'subroutines' into your personal system memory, which grant you additional shielding, weapons and occasionally other abilities like zoom or extra information about objects that you meet. Each subroutine is on one of three levels, alpha, beta or gold. Their performance increases and the amount of memory they take up decreases as they upgrade.
Weapons are also nicely done - they come in four categories based on 'primitives' - a rod, disc, ball and mesh. The rod has the standard gun-like properties (with the correct subroutines) and the others have different properties. THe disc is the iconic Tron disc, and in unique in that it can be used to block other discs coming in.
The game on easy is as it probably should be on normal, and normal is harder than normal normal, etc; but I found that it was nonetheless a very enjoyable experience. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Movoe to game transfer, 24 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
I came to the game with some trepidation. Would it immerse within the world of the movie? This game did! It started out from a significant point, a story, a plot and a vision. Is the gaming good? As a relative amateur of 24/7 addiction, it gave me the addiction and enjoyment that I wanted! 2 months of puzzles, refining moves and a feeling of fulfilment. This wasn't about getting to the end, quickest, it was about adding a new level to the film. It immersed me within the atmosphere of the film, the philosiphy and then added to it. If you loved the film for its unique quality, and difference, then this is a game you'll enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but a few missed opportunities, 30 Oct 2009
By 
C. A. Wyatt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
I'm quite a fan of the Tron movie and after seeing a trailer for the coming sequel, I decided to splash out on this little nugget. It's not so dated graphically - the computer world of Tron is well realised in many ways and the game runs smoothly, and I would expect the same on even an average rig of today. The game itself is a little trickier than your average FPS given that the weapon of choice is often going to be your disc. This requires some getting used to, especially with respect to blocking, which needs to be timed well. The game includes the voice talents of some of the old movie stars from Tron, which is a nice touch, and the light-cycle grid is impressive although the camera can make playing it effectively occasionally an element of luck as much as skill.

The biggest let down for me is probably due to licensing - the game internally makes reference to the Tron arcade games which, if you're of a certain age like myself, will bring back fond memories. It would have been nice if some of these, in particular the actually quite excellent Discs of Tron, could have been included as a subgame. The game itself is a little on the drawn out side - it's nice to have a game with longevity, but not at the expense of fun, and sometimes the game feels a little stretched. Still, it can't be argued you don't really get value for money, so it's not much of a gripe.

Overall, the gameplay is solid and the game not unattractive considering it's age. If you're a fan of the original movie, this fits well, continues the story in some interesting ways, and warrants a play. I'd give it 7.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great little game most people will have missed, 10 Feb 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
Nothing new being as this is an FPS, but it is based on the world of Tron from the 1982 film. The graphics emulate the look of the film and it has a Far Cry effect where you actually stop and look around whilst playing as the environment is render so well and in such a novel way, being as it is set inside computers.

The storyline is quite linear, which isn't particularly a bad thing, but there is the option to upgrade your stats and there are numerous defence, attack (yes the disc is in there) and utility programs to find and download that also enhance play. These can also be upgraded from alpha and beta to gold. A hint here is to upgrade energy and health to max first and ignore the other stats, you only learn this from playing it more than once, otherwise death loops can be got into from not having enough of either.

Irritations are it is a frequent quicksave game as there are no waypoints apart from level starts and cut scenes and death is just around the next corner, but once you are into pressing F5 this ceases to be a problem. The other thing I find odd is that when I played this initially a couple of years ago it was choppy and I put this down to the machine spec. This doesn't seem to be the case as I am now playing it on a 2007 dual core, 2 graphic card, 4 gig machine and wouldn't expect a game from 2003 to cause this any problems. It does pass though, so it is a minor annoyance.

Overall, one most people will have missed and as far as I am concerned is novel enough and of a quality that it warrants a couple of plays through at least and is definitely staying in my collection to go back to in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Graphical and Fun Games Ever!!!, 26 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
If you like speed and astounding graphics then you really should buy this game. The Light Cycle Races are so much fun, with breathtaking speeds. Even if you keep losing the Race's you can't help but Laugh at the speed. The Storyline is really good, which if you enjoyed the movie then you really will like this Game.
With an assortment of Digital Weapon's/Shields/gadgets and great Locations, this is a Huge game.
I would recommend this game to anyone, even if you're not a fan of the Film. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-familiarise yourself with the unique world..., 6 Nov 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
...of Tron ;) in time for the new sequel! The games is beautiful despite being 6 (?!) years old. On full settings there is still little to rival it's original look, which has been faithful and expanded upon the incredible 1982 movie. If you're a Tron fan it's a must have. If you're after an original FPS at this price, it's certainly worth a look too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd time round, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tron 2.0 (PC) (Video Game)
I loved Tron when it first came out. Managed to find a 'fleapit' back in the 80s and slip in for the best bits stoned over a week.
I had a copy of this but lent it to a friend and never got it back. I had struggled with the first person (couldn't upgrade the jump height to get out of the training section), but the light-cycles section is brilliant in itself.
Saw this copy going cheap, and didn't regret it. I managed to get past my previous problem and am now forging on and enjoying the whole thing.
This really is a great game. The graphics are really good. If you've read this far; you know you want to go on: DO IT.

Suits you sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tron 2.0 (PC)
Tron 2.0 (PC) by Ubisoft (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / XP)
£31.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews