Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time
This is the most enjoyable adventure game on the PS2 since 'ICO', a game which in many ways it is similar to. With sumptuous visuals and thrilling gameplay from start to finish, if you are after something to a while away a couple of grim winter nights then look no further.
In recent months, in fact for long periods over the last year my gaming attentions have turned...
Published on 4 Dec 2003 by J. T. Brennan

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Hard and quite boring!!!!
Although the graphics and movements are very impressive in this game(and they really are!), i found that it, A: It get's very repetitive and B: I couldn't get past the second level where you have to jump from wall to wall to get upto the top of the statue. No matter how many times i tried (and i tried about a hundred times!!!), i either couldn't get the prince to jump...
Published on 15 April 2009 by Sj Winteringham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time, 4 Dec 2003
By 
J. T. Brennan (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the most enjoyable adventure game on the PS2 since 'ICO', a game which in many ways it is similar to. With sumptuous visuals and thrilling gameplay from start to finish, if you are after something to a while away a couple of grim winter nights then look no further.
In recent months, in fact for long periods over the last year my gaming attentions have turned to the Xbox or Gamecube due to the dearth of good action games on Playstation - a prime example of this was the massively disappointing 'Tomb Raider, Angel of darkness' and nothing since has come close to the mighty aforementioned 'ICO' until now. So what makes 'Prince of Persia - The sands of time' stand head and shoulders over it's peers? For a start the graphics are superior to virtually anything on PS2 at the moment, some of the outside areas in particular are breathtaking. But graphics are nothing without gameplay and in 'Prince of Persia' it's literally groundbreaking! Once you have the 'dagger of time' all manner of hell can be unleashed upon your enemies - fight them in slow motion (a la Max Payne), freeze time to pick them off without being harmed and then there is the awesome mega freeze or 'fast forward' attack, which although must be used sparingly it has to be seen to be believed.
The biggest advantage you have though is the 'rewind' ability - again limited - but taking a leap of faith is no longer the risk it usually is in most action/platform games (Think any Tomb raider games!), as you can press the rewind button and give it another shot even after plummeting to your death.
Which leads on to the only real criticism of the game. With the 'rewind' ability you can cheat death on a regular basis obviously saving you from those annoying re-tries and broken controllers, but what it means is that things are a lot easier. There are also many save points littered throughout and at each one you experience 'visions'. These give away parts of the game yet to come, making the already easy puzzles even easier, although you can chose not to watch them if you are that way inclined. Seasoned gamers will finish 'Prince of Persia' within 8-10 hours on first play which is a little disappointing as it is the kind of experience you don't want to see the end of, there is however the bonus of the full original POP to unlock - if you manage to find the right wall to knock down whilst playing.
Time span aside there are very few flaws to this game, the odd dodgy camera angle aside, but then all games of this ilk are cursed with that problem and it is something that you will hardly notice as the controls in general are so sublime. This game is really what many had hoped something like 'TR - Angel of darkness' would be and then so much more. The developers UBI-Soft appear to be trying their hand at just about every game genre out there at the moment (e.g. 'XIII' and 'Beyond good and evil'), well I can tell you that they have this one well and truly nailed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why cant all games be as good as this one?, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game expecting to be completely confused by it and take it back within days but I was so impressed I just couldnt stop playing it until I reached the end!
The graphics are absolutely stunning, the gameplay is flawless and thankfully the puzzles arent too taxing - which is a good thing when you're me and really difficult games confuse the hell out of you! The prince himself is by far one of the most acrobatic characters Ive ever played as : he can run along walls, travers beams, vault over opponents - you name it! Not to mention when he gets the dagger of time he can stop time, speed it up, rewind and cheat death... not bad eh?
all in all its a birllian game. my one criticism would be that it was too short, but i wont complain too much because everything else about it was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible style, and great fun too., 9 Dec 2003
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
This has to be one of the stylish games ever released. It's hard to describe the feel of this until you have seen it running for yourself. The graphics are super-detailed, realistic in style (yet with a slight cartoon quality to them), with beautiful locations and superb animation. There is also a certain 'softness' to the graphics as well, everything is detailed, yet with a gentle focus (and I'm still trying to figure out how this is done!). Even the title menu is atractive. The audio complements the Eastern theme nicely, with mystical music and good quality voice-overs. In fact, the game is played as if it were a story being retold by the main character, a novel idea.
It has to be said that this *is* just another 3D, platform/puzzle/combat type adventure game in the same vein as Tomb Raider and Soul Reaver, but UbiSoft have managed to incorporate so many new ideas that it actually feels fresh and new, quite an achievment. The idea of including time effects such as rewind (up to ten seconds) and look-forward is inspired, and is sure to be copied by other games in the near future.
At various stages in the game there are save points, however these can also be used to get a brief glimpse of the future path you will take. These come in very usefull at certain times, as they can give hints on the various puzzles you will encounter - and as usual, the style of these is superb. These flash-forwards are viewed in a sepia-stlye, almost black & white mist, with suitably strange sound effects.
The animation of the prince is exagerated, but so free-flowing it is almost believable. The energetic main character can perform the usual jumps and rolls, and can also use the walls to perform back-flips and long, arced runs to clear large gaps in the floors, as well as somersaults from flags poles etc. The attention to detail means that after walking through water, the Prince's abilities are reduced (but only for a couple of seconds) as his wet shoes cannot grip the walls as well as usual!
I don't think this is quite as large in overall length as the Tomb Raider games, but another bonus can be found at the start menu under 'extras'. This menu has 'Prince of Persia 1' listed here, and I think it is the entire original game which made it's debut a long time ago on home computers such as the Amiga 500. This isn't exactly cutting-edge anymore, but it's great to see it here included - I still have fond memories of this. Unfortunately it needs to be unlocked first (by finishing the new game I expect!) but it's a great idea and still a good game by itself.
In conclusion I still think that the Tomb Raider games have terrific music and a lot of class, but this new Prince of Persia has a style which is the new leader in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but Temperamental, 14 Jan 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
From the moment you start playing PofP you will find it a wonderful visual experience. The graphics are possibly the best in a game yet, you actually feel like you are playing within a Disney animated film. The plot is good enough to remain interesting.
I liked the ability to rewind time, as there is nothing more irritating than accidentally falling and having to redo an entire scene again. The rewind came in especially useful when the camera angles did not allow you to see what is happening and you had to jump as if blindfolded! That is the main problem with this game, and why I am only giving it 4 stars. There are some serious problems with the camera angles, so that you can not see around you when you zoom out, and more frustratingly sometimes no matter what camera angle you use, you remain obscured behind a wall, flag or some other object. There is also a problem with the was use of the directional buttons. Several times in the game I found that you actually had to aim in another direction (not necessarily opposite) to get the Prince to move in the direction he needed to go.
I found that after the first 10% of the game, it did not get any more difficult, as you had already learnt most of the skills necessary to continue. This leads to a feeling that the levels and puzzles are a bit repetativeThe only time this was not the case was when, towards the end of the game, you no longer have use of the dagger and therefore the power of the sands – it is then you find just how much you were using the power to rewind time! Expect about 12 hours enjoyable gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game worth playing everytime, 6 Jan 2005
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
Yes as you might say this is another praise Prince of Persia game but I got loads of good reasons behind it.
I lost my original copy of this and as I was playing Warrior Within (POP 2) I thought how did the Prince learn some of his original tricks so I re-bought this and now I know why.
First of all it's one of the most critically acclaimed games of 2003 but it never catched on with the public but why is that, I mean look at the game the original which is included has become the basis for most platforming games essentially it's the original platformer.
Now take a revolutionary twist and add loads of style, flare and wit and you got our hero the new Prince of Persia.
The story is the best thing about this game taken from an arabian tale but make it more exciting and add in the graphics and sound and it's easily one of the top games on the PS2 and it's beaten by it's sequel.
So get this game if you like hacking, slashing and puzzles otherwise just rent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Tomb Raider ever progressed ..., 12 Jan 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
If the Tomb Raider ever progressed after the first game then it would resemble PoP: Sands of Time in some ways. That's not to say that PoP is "just another Tomb Raider game". On the contrary it has a very distinct feel to it (linking it strongly to the original 2 PoP games) and is miles away from other action adventure games gameplay wise.
As a game it's up there in my top 10, but as a technical achievement I'd have to say it's possibly at the top of the list. The camera, which as all gamers know usually annoys and generally sucks in 3D games, is the best I've seen. At no point can you blame either the camera or the controls for your deaths (of which there will be many).
I can't say enough good things about this game; the gameplay is excellent, the story is involving, the controlls are right, and the camera works - what else is there to a game?
I have to balence this review out with some negative remarks though or else I'd feel like a fan-boy. But the only complaints I have are that it's pretty short (two days of solid play), and I do believe I noticed some slowdown at times.
Since I'm in the UK I couldn't get this on my Gamecube until March and so after 4 years of holding out, I went and bought a PS2, just for this game. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowing, non-stop action, 5 Jan 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
A perfect balance of action, (fighting), puzzles, running, jumping and swinging. Very brief storyline interludes which keep the game flowing and do not bore you to death.
Good graphics and sound and although the longest I have spent stuck with a certain puzzle is 10mins, they are so clever and different that it keeps you satisfied and entertained everytime you complete a section.
Bravo, Ubisoft have done it again, (Splinter Cell was their last title I played and enjoyed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 25 Nov 2003
By 
Andrew Watt (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
If your favourite game is Tomb Raide / ICO style 3D puzzle and action type game then this is a must buy. Where ICO really set the standard for this type of game on the PS2, and the latest Tomb Raider was a total dud in comparison, this is a game that can certainly mix it with the best.
The combat system can be a bit of a pain to start - just make sure you jump/move repeatedly to avoid getting hammered - but the controls are smooth and responsive, the graphics are superb and the whole feel of the game a joy to play.
I'm about 25% through already and certainly hooked. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prince of all Adventures, 6 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. L. J. Taylor "leeangelo" (Hitchin, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
What can I say - in one fell swoop, the Prince of Persia defined the adventure genre in video games. Now it's back to reclaim its crown.

I've been playing the demo version for two days and this section of the game is flawless. The graphics are some of the best I've seen on PS2 and the sound lives up to this standard. More importantly, the gameplay is just as good. The ability to manipulate time in five different ways really sets it apart from other titles, while the puzzles provide a welcome change of pace.

The fighting mechanics do begin to grate very early on, but this is redeemed by being able to manipulate time to freeze your enemies, killing them in quick succession.

From what I've seen and played, this is right at the top of my Christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king of action platformers, 9 Dec 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2) (Video Game)
This is without a doubt one of the best games i've ever played very few things do i believe can compete with it. This game combines amazing graphics with action and puzzle solving. With a decent blend of these two key elements you end up with a increadibly gripping game that will promise hours of fun. The prince has released the sands of time turining the entire kingdom of Azad into sandmonsters, the only surviers are Fahrah the prince and the grand vizier. You need to fight through legions of sandmonsters to change history and make sure this never happened. This is an unbelievable game this is such an amazing game i can barely control my excitement talking about it it's just so fantastic. A blend of puzzles fighting and a strong story make this an absolutely fantastic game. If you buy this and love it like i did you will also be looking forward to the sequel Warrior Within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (PS2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews