Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What DVD was invented for
QUEEN LIVE AT WEMBLEY STADIUM
1986 was without doubt Queen's year. Appearing at a sold-out Wembley Stadium, Queen are shown here at their most successful point in what was already an illustrious career. The band had stolen the day at Live Aid the previous year at the same venue, and these dates were the most anticipated of 1986.
Typically of Queen, the show was...
Published on 23 Oct 2004 by ronster500

versus
11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ka ching go the ca$h Registers
I'm a huge Queen fan but am over the cashing-in that is going on since they moved their catalogue to Universal Music.Brian May and Roger Taylor's pension fund must be getting low. I've already bought this show twice Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) and I already own the cd set.
Now,so you can see the previous nights show,which I AM...
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by DJ Control


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What DVD was invented for, 23 Oct 2004
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
QUEEN LIVE AT WEMBLEY STADIUM
1986 was without doubt Queen's year. Appearing at a sold-out Wembley Stadium, Queen are shown here at their most successful point in what was already an illustrious career. The band had stolen the day at Live Aid the previous year at the same venue, and these dates were the most anticipated of 1986.
Typically of Queen, the show was put on in the grandest manner. The largest stage set (160 feet wide!) an immense bank of coloured lights, and state-of-the art sound and vision system to cater for the 72,000 fans who had made the pilgrimage. The cameras seemed to be everywhere; stage side, in front, above, even helicopter shots looking over the stadium. It was as though they KNEW one day there would be a suitable medium to release this footage on.
But what of the band themselves - by this point the group were one of the very few great British rock bands of the 70s still playing, remarkably with not one change in personnel from their debut album. They had survived glam, punk, disco and New Romantic to emerge as the UK's biggest rock act. The set they played on the Magic tour was carefully considered, with old material sitting comfortably alongside more recent.
You see the approach to Wembley Stadium as the intro plays to 'One Vision' before the camera pans across an empty stadium, and time-lapse footage of the stage being constructed and the fans pouring in. The camera then switches to the stage, and first to emerge is the great Freddie Mercury, arm aloft, bestriding this huge setting. Flanked, as ever, by the reassuring sight of Brian May, complete with curly mop of hair and trusty Red Special in hand, and 'quiet man' John Deacon on the other side, and backed by the blonde powerhouse Roger Taylor, they launch into the main body of the song, the lead-off single from their then current album 'A Kind of Magic'. A succession of oldies follow; they are even confident enough to resurrect their old 70s set-closer 'In The Lap of The Gods...Revisited' (owners of 'Sheer Heart Attack' will know that is the correct title) three songs in - you see clearly the huge crowd swaying along to the 'whoa, whoa' chorus and already they are in the thrall of the majestic Mercury.
The many cameras cut often from Freddie to Roger, Brian to John, but this is far from distracting; it seems to add to the 'feel' of almost being there in the stadium with the crowd, and serves to illustrate that they really were a BAND, and not just the Freddie Mercury show, with great shots of the whole group putting their all into the show. There is even a 'multi angle' feature' on the second disc, with a camera trained (mainly) on each individual band member for four songs, and it is possible to see just how hard the guys rocked out behind Freddie.
With a long set that covered many bases, they even played a light-hearted medley of rock 'n' roll standards before bringing back the heavy artillery towards the end of the set, the band illustrated perfectly why they were so enduringly popular.
This DVD features the complete set for the first time (previously available was a 75 minute edited version) along with the second disc packed with goodies. There is a documentary, the aforementioned 'multi angle' feature, new interviews with Brian and Roger, plus tour manager Gerry Stickells and video director Gavin Taylor. If the whole of the Saturday set was not enough, then there is even some footage included from the Friday concert, when the director used the show to rehearse his filming, plus home video footage of the band rehearsing, previously held by a private collector.
Although the best equipment then available, and plenty of it was used to cover this show, inevitably the footage shows its age when compared to modern digital video - nevertheless the quality still stacks up well and as an added bonus on this release, the soundtrack is available in DTS as well as regular stereo.
If you are a Queen devotee doubtless you are already in possession of this DVD, the more casual fan can buy with confidence. If you are new to Queen and perhaps not familiar with what they were about, watch this disc just once and you will understand. It is painfully clear from watching just ten minutes of this concert just what we lost when Freddie left us; his voice, charisma, showmanship and stage presence were beyond compare, and his ability to enrapture the largest audiences is sorely missed in these days of anonymous arena acts.
Remember Freddie this way: treat yourself to this DVD. You deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert, Great DVD, 10 Jun 2003
Nearly 20 years ago I was at this concert, and little did I know that now in 2003 I would be watching this concert in such a great format.
The first disk is pretty similar to material that has been shown on TV and been out on VHS before (a couple of extra tracks however), so I will not comment too much on here, although obviously superior quality.
The second disk is the real gem however. You have your usual interviews with Brian & Roger (who provide some good insight into concert preparations). Also included are interviews with the Camera and Concert directors.
Back in 1986 someone used a dodgy camera to video Queen rehearsing for the tour in a warehouse, and that makes a great insight into the work thet Queen put into becoming the greatest live band ever.
Finaly are the Queen Member cams. Ever wanted to see exactly how Brian played a particular riff, but the camera edit went to Freddie just at the wrong point? We its not a problem any more, select The Brian cam, and the footage never leaves him. Same goes for the other 3 members. Fantastic!!
In summary, Disk 1 is for your casual Queen fan, the great concert in its entirity, remarkably undated. Disk 2, your die hard queen fan will love.
If you like live rock music, get this DVD now, it shows you how live Stadium rock should be done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What all Concerts should be Like, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
I love this DVD. Queen were remembered for their live and superb performances. This DVD has captured the magic of it.
The show starts with the brillant opener 'One Vision'. The jubliation of the crowd when Freddie Mercury comes out is fantastic and the one shot of him coming out of the smoke holding his sawn-off mic stand could go down as one of Rock's greatest shots.
The rest of the songs go through and the band pull them off with such class you might think they were from CD.
The light show is brilliant and Freddies Mercury is the perfect showman, jumping around like a mad man, but none the less you love to see him do it.
To pick favourite tracks is so hard but to pick my favourite it would have to be "Crazy Little Thing called Love". The Rock And Roll tongue in cheek always makes me smile and Brian May solos at the end are so great. Anyway, Brian May changes his guitar three times in that song!
The extras are good aswell. The interviews are amazing, but the multi angle section is such a great advantage. To flip between the bands between each part is a great idea, if only for some songs. Also the selection of songs from the Friday concert is great!
This is one of my favourite DVD's, showing a band who had conquered the world yet still put on a show to get it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their best! Wonderful!, 17 Jun 2002
As a huge Queen fan I love all of Queens music, but I never had the opportunity to go and see them perform live as I was only 5 when their Magic Tour came to Wembley! So, when I was older and I found this video I just had to have it! The magic of the concert can be felt through the TV! It was a wonderful performance where they performed some of their best classic songs and some new songs (such as Who wants to live forever from Highlander) and the atmosphere in the stadium is electric! Queen rock the crowd like no-one else has or ever will! With 100's of thousands of people singing and clapping along to "WIll will Rock you" and "Radio Ga Ga", they literally blew the audience away. Its also an opportunity to see the legend that was Freddie Mercury show what made him so popular! The music is great, the sound in wonderful, you never miss a thing, the direction is some of the best for concerts. Almost as if you were there at the time! If only....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
Revisited this after quite a few years and had forgotten quite how good a live Band Queen were. Over 20 years old now, this show seems as relevant today as it was groundbreaking then. A year after LiveAid, Queen really let rip at Wembley - they raised the bar on what a live show should look like and nothing and no one have come close since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just...wow!, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
The only way to describe this DVD concert is "wow". If you would like to see Queen at their best, this is the concert for you.

In the previous year to this Queen appeared in Live Aid, and decided that after the amazing response they gained in this concert that they would like to play Wembley. It astonishes me how these 4 men managed to carry the entire concert off ON THEIR OWN with only the help in a couple of songs, from long term friend and musician Spike Edney. The amount of energy that is put into every song from each member is incredible, and you definitely gain some of the energy through watching the concert; even though you are not physically there. I am yet to find a band that put as much effort into their public performances as Queen did throughout their career.

Another reason that you may wish you view this, is the fact that I was the last tour the band performed before the death of Freddie Mercury in 1991. It is without doubt a must see for any fan. If you have only ever heard their music on albums, I suggest that you watch them live, because they're pure magic. This is one that you can watch over and over again. Truely, a kind of magic!

As well as the legendary stage performance, this double disc set also invites you to watch the band in rehearsals. The second disc offers a whole range of different viewpoints on the concerts, so for example, say you are a budding guitarist wanting to learn a song, you can set the concert to just watch Brian May on certain songs! As well as this, the second disc also includes rare footage of the band rehearsing before the concerts - this is an insight into the amazing chemistry between the members and is increidbly fun to watch; even though the sound and image quality are not fantastic.

Buy this and take a little piece of Queen home with you. I can guarantee that you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen.....(the name says it all), 14 Nov 2003
By 
A. Healey (Newport, Gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
Greatest live act?Best showman of all time?....You decide.
For me the answer is yes and hopefully this DVD will show you why.Queen at their most peerless.Fresh on the heels of Live Aid,Queen return to the scene of that triumph and top it.Songs are drawn from most of their albums and range from heavy rock to beautiful,haunting ballads that really show off the songwriting abilities of all members of the band effortlessly.
Highlights are A Kind of Magic,Another One Bites the Dust,We Will Rock You and of course Bohemian Rhapsody.Some of the best interpretations of these songs I have ever heard.Bonus disk is also superb with lots of unseen footage and bonus material.
Highly recommended.A great introduction for the people out there who don't really know the band all that well.After watching this display of musical brilliance you will be a fan for the rest of your days.
Enjoy and revel in the way music used to be and how it should still be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A Kind Of Magic..., 14 Oct 2005
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
Queen is really a kind of magic! During their "Magic Tour" Queen showed again their tremendous energy, their unique extravagance and their great ideas, which never seem to end.
A gigantic concert full of huge hits and Queen's immortal magic, which lasts until today.
The complete concert on Disc one contains beside the songs of the album "A Kind Of Magic" many of Queen's timeless hits like "Tie Your Mother Down" and „Now I'm Here" and songs much loved by the audience like „Crazy Little Thing Called Love" or „Love Of My Life". Also great is „Impromptu", „Brighton Rock Solo", where Queen show they're a real Liveband and some songs from the 50es like "Tutti Frutti". "We Will Rock You" and "We Are The Champions" of course top the end and "God Save The Queen" follows them. That means great rock, great show and great songs - summarized: Queen!
It's always nice, that the audience is included into the songs and in e.g. "Love Of My Life" it's singing parts itself. In "Radio Ga Ga" everybody claps as usual in unisono.
An unforgettable moment is, when Freddie Mercury tells the audience: „There's been a lot of rumours lately about a certain band called Queen ... the rumours are that we're gonna split up. What do you think?" Audience: „No!" Freddie Mercury: "Forget those rumours, we're gonna stay together 'till we die, I'm sure!"
A huge concert with Queen in top form and even on the couch in the living room you are carried away because of that power, Queen has.
Disc two: Here you find many specials, such as new interviews with Brian May and Roger Taylor, the Queen-Cam - that means you can watch all four band members separate in four selected songs, a "documentation" about the construction of the stage in the Wembley Stadium... and much more! Very interesting extra material!
The "Magic Tour" went to be Queen's last, but with that concert you possess one part of the huge spectrum of this unique music of that unforgettable band in your shelf and probably also in your heart, of course not to forget the magic, which makes Queen immortal.
A concert you have to possess as a fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Completely Live Magical Experience, 16 Dec 2000
When I first watched this video I thought WOW, because to me watching Freddie playing a LIVE! gig was absolutely amazing. I only started listening to Queen in the late 80's when I was 8, and I thought there was something about their music which made it stand out. A lot of people out there talk about putting 101% into all you do, good old Freddie must have been putting 200% into this Live act as you could see the beads of sweat gushing out him. If you have to get any Quen video then this is it. It's an absolute must for all you Queen fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 2 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Queen - The DVD Collection: Live At Wembley Stadium (Two Disc Set) [2003] (DVD)
I love it!!!!I got this dvd for xmas and spent all day watching it again and again til my family couldn't stand it anymore! This shows Queen at their very best, and I definitely think this was their peak in their career. The second dvd has good interviews with Roger Taylor and Brian May, and A Beautiful Day is interesting, especially when it shows the stage in the making. I couldnt see the point of the unseen footage of the previous concert though, because it's just the same as the other concert but with poorer cinematography. This dvd really captures the life and energy of Queen, as it will do for years to come. A real feel-good as well when you're down, since you can't help singing along with classics such as Bohemian Rhapsody and One Vision.
You've got to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews