Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAUL SKEATES ON CATRIN FINCH
The rising fame of this outstanding talent is not a moment too soon, and Crossing The Stone provides the perfect introduction to her music,offering as it does a good mixture of the old and the new. From the opening Mountain Dance to the closing Palladio, this CD illustrates the superb arrangement skills of Karl Jenkins and the technical brillance of Catrin.
The star...
Published on 28 Nov 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars could do better
The main one "crossing the stone" good , but found the rest disappointing, however would be interested in anything else she does
Published 13 months ago by sue green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAUL SKEATES ON CATRIN FINCH, 28 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
The rising fame of this outstanding talent is not a moment too soon, and Crossing The Stone provides the perfect introduction to her music,offering as it does a good mixture of the old and the new. From the opening Mountain Dance to the closing Palladio, this CD illustrates the superb arrangement skills of Karl Jenkins and the technical brillance of Catrin.
The star piece has to be the title track, Crossing The Stone, with its emotionally charged performance from Catrin and her teacher, Elinor Bennet. This is simply one of the most beautiful pieces of music you will ever here, and sends a tingle down my spin every time I hear it.
Track 13 will be the purest version of Ave Maria you will hear, and the closing track has a pace and rhythm that's uplifting and lively
If you love the harp you will love this album, and if you love this album, do try the rest of the rest of Catrin Finch's music, or better still see her in concert live: you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you'll liked 'Adiemus'..., 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
I love harp music. I'm an unashamed fan, and I have several CDs with more 'classical' selections on them than this, from Catrin herself, Julia Thornton and others. This is my favourite, though. I also own all the Adiemus CDs to date, and this combines a composer that I really like with one of my favourite instruments.
I first discovered Catrin on Classic FM TV, when I saw the video to Harpers Bizarre. I ordered 'Crossing the Stone' straight away. You'll find it lively, upbeat and impossibly foot-tapping. The only track I ever skip is the Debussy, and then because of the irritating radio effect, not because of Catrin's playing.
Cheesy? Well possibly, but it's Stilton served with good port rather than Kraft Dairy Slices.
Buy it if you like Adiemus, or if you want to hear what a harp can do outside its traditional setting. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the pre-conceptions ...., 13 Feb 2004
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
Personally, I think this album has been incorrectly classified. Is it classical - yes, in many places. Is it pop - verging on. Is it rock - definitely makes you move, both physically and emotionally. Is it a harp album - well, she's playing one extremely well, but not like most would expect a harpist to play traditionally through the entire length of the performance. This album should be classified as Fusion as it sets out to stretch the barriers, and in challenging them and being an opening portfolio of Catrin's undoubted talents will disappoint the listener in places - but that's like saying you can’t find something to eat at a 5star buffet, or that you loved everything. If this album disappoints anywhere, it is in the over use of the samples and modern mixing to get the listener between the diversity of music and styles that is used here track to track. Also, remember that Catrin is still in her early 20’s – it comes across as great fun to play something you love in a way which you and your generation will relate to: and in allowing for that the listener will only enjoy this album more. Buy this album to blast away your conceptions of what a Harp is and how it can be used; buy this album to hear undoubted talent; buy this album to play next to your favourite dance, moods, chill out or classical music as it will sit exceptionally well – but don’t buy it to meet your classic purist expectations. That will be done later when we have seen and bought in to this exceptional talent, and it has been allowed to develop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catrin is superb, 2 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing The Stone (Audio CD)
I am priveleged to have shared a stage with Catrin and a number of other talented musicians earlier this year. Having sat behind her and watched how she moved across the harp strings with a near perfect balance of grace and passion I was anxious to hear her magic in the privacy of my own home.
For the most part I am pleased to have bought this album but unfortunately there are some tracks that are over-produced and which (sorry Catrin) don't do her musical talents the justice they deserve. I'm not a complete musical purist but I hope that as she gains more widespread recognition for her remarkable musicianship that her confidence to resist jumping on the bandwagon of making classical music 'accessible' will grow. If you have the chance to see her perform, you will understand what I mean.
Having said all that I can't completely knock the album because without her enthusiasm and creativity I would never have bought an album of harp music. Track 5, Prelude from Partita No 3 is my favourite though I would pay to hear her play Handel's Arrival of the Queen of Sheba without the background fuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crossing the stone, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Stone (Audio CD)
very modern, very funky, love it. Crossing the stone is one of my favourite pieces of music and so pleased to have found
it on a cd. some modern some trad. anyone who likes modern and harp music will .love this as it mixes both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loosen up--please!, 14 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
Having always enjoyed the sweet, crisp sound of the harp, I bought this album purely on spec & I haven't been disappointed. There's a nice range of melodies here-and styles- and it really is very easy listening. With the exception of track 12 ( the bergamesque on Debussy, which, even allowing for tongue-in-cheek, was too syrupy for YT) the whole package was digestible and pleasant.
Therein, however, possibly lies its weakness: superb technique and classical training abound, but so also does the heavy hand of production, and I, like another reviewer, couldn't help but feel that this lady really should throw herself into jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new and exciting way to play the harp, 12 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
Catrin Finch is a real phenomenon among the contemporary harpists, at the age of only 23 she shows really stunning ability to cross the barriers of various musical styles, especially with her latest CD Crossing the Stone. On the album there are many classical music favourites (Debussy's Clair de Lune & Bach/Gounod's Ave Maria for example), but Catrin also fertilizes her delicate and virtuoso playing in some great jazz tunes by Chick Corea & Pat Metheney as well as a minimalist piece by Steve Reich. Almost all arrangements have been made by "Mr. Adiemus" Karl Jenkins, and this gives the album even more exciting feeling! Karl has also composed some of the tracks, for example the great Irish-style piece Thingamujig as well as the excerpts from his double harp concerto Over The Stone. A real ear-charmer, so get your copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A skillful mix of old and new, 25 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
This album breaks the mould of traditional harpists by mixing older pieces on a standard harp with some new interpretations using an electronic harp. Karl Jenkins brings his distinctive style to a number of the tracks, giving a modern edge to the album, whilst maintaining some beautiful traditional melodies, especially Tros y Garreg. There are also a number of classic pieces such as Ave Maria and Claire de Lune, and all, both old and new are performed with great skill and feeling, without sounding sentimental and cheesy. At 23 she brings life and vibrancy to the harp to produce an upbeat album, without the standard 'crossover' feel to it. It is a brilliant first major recording; may it be the first of many!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fine and exciting debut album, 4 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing the Stone (Audio CD)
this CD is great.
i first heard it a year ago - and the novelty still hasn't worn off. there's something for everyone, even for a non-classical listener such as myself. calming and stimulating in equal doses, this CD is simply great and perhaps a work of authentic musical genius.
i don't know much about the harp - but i know Catrin's an excellent player. i can't wait to hear her new one.
she's gorgeous, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Stone (Audio CD)
In general I like harp music - i.e., Claire Jones, 4 Girls 4 Harps but when I started playing this I was overjoyed. I had picked her up on Classic FM, liked what I heard and wanted to hear more. This CD is absolutely brilliant. I have only had it a few days but already I have listened to it half a dozen times and not tired of it. I shall certainly order more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossing the Stone
Crossing the Stone by Johann Sebastian Bach (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews