Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2003
Kindred are for sure the next big thing coming from Philly after Jill Scott, Bilal, Musiq or Vivian Green.
I listened to the first song of the album and i just surrendered to the freshness and the soulfulness of the 18 tracks of the album. There's a great deal of positive energy, creativity, warmth, sincerity in this opus.
The husband-and-wife duo, Fatin Dantzler and Aja Graydon, offer a journey in their everyday life as a couple and ordinary people. The lyrics are full of poetry and honesty, the voices incredibely soulful and they are supported by an admirable 10 pieces band. Surrender to Love is that kind of music that makes the weight of life seem lighter...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
The words 'the new Jill Scott' are sadly overused to describe pretenders to the throne of one of the most original artists of the decade. While Kindred are not the new Jill Scott, they capture the spirit of her music in way that Angie Stone, Vivian Green et al can't quite manage. From the same Hidden Beach stable, the soulful lyrics, tight backing and jazzy feel combine to make an album of exceptional diversity and quality. More than enough to keep Scott aficionados happy till the release of her new album this autumn...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2003
Kindred is the next big thing coming from Philly. just like Jill Scott, Bilal, Vivien Green or Musiq, this husband and wife duet sing some truly inpired soul. From their everyday life, their experience as a coupe, parents, they give some soulful tracks filled with sincerity and poetry. Backed by an awesome 10 pieces band, Kindred makes the kind of music that makes you want to believe in love again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Nothing to say, other than these two are my new superstars! Actually there's a lot to say, starting with: Where have I been to not know about Kindred? Although I definitely realised I'd heard at least a couple of the masterpieces on this album years ago - just not known who it was at the time. They are not image-driven, or a 'brand', but the combined talent of this husband and wife duo just seems endless. Every song is beautiful and heartfelt in its own way and - not wanting to have to use an often overused word - Soulful! I also found, for the amount of songs on the album, it didn't fall into 'samey-ness' where too many songs sound alike and uninspired, i.e. "fillers". By far the most intense tracks for me are Far Away (takes you far away) and If I (joy wrapped up in wistfulness), but there's truly nothing I don't really, really like. It's rare to get artists who can sing about the vulnerability, fragility, excitement, madness and even mundaneness of a true love - and life - relationship. Kindred can convey all this because they are totally genuine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2007
I keep comming back to this album time and time again and no matter how many times I hear it it still amazes me. It is a really good album. Right from the same style as Jill Scott this is a clssic album. If you like this type of music this is not going to disapoint you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Great Silky, funky album - the only problem was one track skipped (just happened to be my favourite track) and they didn't have any replacements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great album. Quick delivery. But case was cracked and wasn't wrapped in plastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2003
When I first heard a few tracks off this album I must say I was truly impressed by the style and character of the songs.On purchasing this CD and playing its entirety, I was able to feel the love being generated from one partner to the other. This is a truly powerful, inspirational amd deep album that should be purchased by all, it is truly wonderful when you come across a trio who have so much love for one another. You go Guys!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
YES Wonderful Music for the Heart & Soul..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2003
Beatiful production and distinctive yet always beutiful souund of philly soul in the vein os erikah badu.Truly beatiful for the more intimate moments in life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.59
£14.89
£19.80
£11.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.