Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Wrong Can You Be?
Back in the dark days of the early 1970s, as a callow youth just having started college, and already set in my musical tastes (basically Bowie and nothing else), I roundly poopooed my younger brother's propensity for what I thought was plain "Weird" Music (Van Der Graaf Generator, Colosseum, The Groundhogs et al), whilst at the same time sneaking a listen whenever he...
Published on 6 May 2006 by L. Johnson

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Cover....Shame about the Music
Who will save the world? Visually with its clever Marvel comics style cover design, (featuring characters created by the artist Neal Adams, who drew the X-Men and Silver Surfer characters for the comic), this album certainly made an impact in its original 12" gatefold sleeve back in 1972.
Lyrically, the album is more adventurous in content then previous Hogs albums,...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by Musicat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Wrong Can You Be?, 6 May 2006
By 
L. Johnson "groundhogger" (Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
Back in the dark days of the early 1970s, as a callow youth just having started college, and already set in my musical tastes (basically Bowie and nothing else), I roundly poopooed my younger brother's propensity for what I thought was plain "Weird" Music (Van Der Graaf Generator, Colosseum, The Groundhogs et al), whilst at the same time sneaking a listen whenever he wasn't around.

What was I thinking of? With the benefits of age, experience and a solid burst of nostalgia, also via the fantastic medium of Compact Audio Disc, I have revisited all the old haunts of my youth (in a musical respect), and have been surprisingly delighted by the quality of the work passing through my ears.

None better than The Groundhogs, in actual fact. Me and "my mates" of the time thought my brother was a right 'geek' for buying and listening to "Who Will Save The World - The Mighty Groundhogs". We admired the comic strip album design, fair enough. But please! Turn off that noise! How wrong can one immature person ( and "his mates") be?

Tony McPhee is an absolute genius. I have now had the opportunity to listen to other masterpieces created by the bluesman (Split, etc.), and can only conclude that I was a complete heathen as a young man!

Buy this! You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good effort., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
I totally get why some people can't get to grips with this album. Split and Thank Christ are so good that the departure of the bands signature on Who Will Save the World is a strange diversion for some traditionalists. Its shamelessly self-indulgent in places, unsurprisingly given its eco-message, but you can identify with the majority of it.
Apart from the strangely disjointed Body in Mind and the peculiar inclusion of Amazing Grace, I think the rest pretty much stands up to the test. Earth is Not Room Enough is quality, while Wages of Peace has a very raw bluesy feel to it and Music Is the Food of Thought is as good as anything you'll hear from the boys. And then the whole album is wrapped up with the familiar thrash of TS' excellent guitar, all ten cracking minutes of it.
The first two albums, to be fair, took some living up to, but I'd say this was a damned good attempt. And hearing it all these years later having been remastered has'nt changed my opinion on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comes in at 3rd Place!, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. K. C. Brook "KevBlut" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
I rate this album highly, just not as high as Split & Thank Christ For The Bomb which are superb albums. Grey Maze, the final track, lifts this album into the "very good but not great" realms. That said, I would recommend this album to all 'Hogs fans but not as a starting point. If you are unsure about the Groundhogs but you are a blues guitar fan, try the "best of" as an introduction. Just remember that Tony (T.S.) McPhee does not play his axe with a pick and prepare to be amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Cover....Shame about the Music, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
Who will save the world? Visually with its clever Marvel comics style cover design, (featuring characters created by the artist Neal Adams, who drew the X-Men and Silver Surfer characters for the comic), this album certainly made an impact in its original 12" gatefold sleeve back in 1972.
Lyrically, the album is more adventurous in content then previous Hogs albums, no wonder given the album's environmentalist theme that was way ahead of its time and, which Tony Mc Phee handles extremely well - so no six form lyrics here that "Thank Christ for the Bomb" was accused of by some critics.
Musically, based on the bands 3rd and 4th "concept" prog rock outings, with "Thank Christ" and "Spilt", (both albums), I was expecting more of that brilliant power trio guitar rock and eagerly bought this album without hesitation. Well with all of that fantastic guitar playing and now with added mellotron and harmonium this album just had to be out of this world didn't it? Well for me the mellotron and harmonium add "colour" but fall short of making up for the absence of any of the riffs or excitement of the previous two albums.
The original album featured four songs per side and clocked in at 36 minutes, so does this CD version. No bonus tracks or indeed bonus live versions of the songs as on the newly re-mastered "Thank Christ" and "Split".
Value for money? The last 12 minutes can only be considered fillers, a two and half minute instrumental version of "Amazing Grace" (co-incidentally Ron Wood played the same tune on Rod Stewart's "Every Picture Tells a Story" the year before - so not new) and a ten minute long boogie thrash that sounds like a rehearsal or outtake from "Split" leaves only two standout tracks - "Earth is Not Room Enough" and "Music Be the Food of Thought". A few more decent tracks and longer running time might of helped but, unfortunately, the nice cover and ambitious concept theme couldn't help The Mighty Groundhogs to save the world with this musical offering.
There's no real comparison, but for lovers of 1970's British guitar based blues rock that takes over where Cream and Jimi Hendrix Experience left off "Thank Christ for the Bomb" and "Split" are essential 5 star listening. Amazon's current price offer for the two re-mastered albums together plus bonus live versions from the BBC Sessions make them a must have for both old fans and newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal album of Prog/Blues & diabolical hard/rock music, 19 Aug 2013
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
With one of the best album covers ever it details The Groundhogs & especially Tony McPhee's heroic leap from just blues hard rock of their 2 previous albums 'Thank Christ'& Split to encompass far more complex and interesting Music. Tony plays a mellotron & harmonium on this album & plays them as if he has played these instruments all his life. The lyrics by Tony are extremely thoughtful & his topics of business & greed imperilling the planet resonate as strongly today as when he 1st wrote them. The depth & range of songs are phenomenal from the brilliant progressive song of 'Earth is not room enough' to the 'Grey Maze' one of the best hard rock songs I have ever encountered. The only wish is this album could be a double album & essentially it is if you count 'Hogwash' which also was recorded in 1972. The Hogs at their peak & Tony McPhee is a true master musician & deserves far more credit than he has garnered as for my money he is also one of the top 10 rock guitatist ever & some of his playing equalling Jimi Hendrix. He is also one of the best vocalists & songwriters & this album is an essential listen & absolutely in my top 100 rock albums ever. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
one to collect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Groundhogs CD - A disappointment, 31 Dec 2010
By 
SCSALMON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs (Audio CD)
This CD was diasppointing. I had not heard it before buying it and bought it as it looked like one of their most prominent albums and I saw good customer reviews for it. I liked The Groundhogs album "Split" alot but "Who Will Save the World" is forgettable and is money wasted by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs
Who Will Save The World? The Mighty Groundhogs by Groundhogs (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews