Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2003
It's not often that bands produce consistently great material, but Duran Duran managed it with three consecutively great albums in a row. So it is fitting that Duran Duran's debut along with Seven & The Ragged Tiger should finally join Rio in their remastered forms. Excellent songs, great sound and happy memories. I'm still puzzled as to why "Sound Of Thunder" was never released as a single - but there you go. This disc has been a long wait but well worth it - not one duff track.
This album was fantastic when it first came out, and it is every bit as good today. If you own an old copy, do yourself a favour and get this new version and remember the 80's.
0Comment23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
Everyone knows the 2 hits, but the quality of the album tracks are also pretty high, "Tel Aviv" is really the only filler.
The re-mastering sounds great: very bouncy, very '80s. So Simon never had a particularly great voice, the memories are still worth re-living.
But shame on EMI for putting out an album which only clocks in at 41 minutes - no 12" versions, no videos (unlike the re-release of their 2nd - and more consistent - album "Rio").
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2007
This album is one which is absolutely brilliant to listen to. Not only does it have the great singles Girls on Film and Planet Earth, it has a selection of other songs that keep you hooked.(Friends of mine is my favourite as the bass work is ace!) I am only 20 years old so I wasn't around when the lads were first out, but I must say I have thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to others. In response to one review, I think Tel aviv is great, the drumming and the keyboard work is so well structured! but i guess everyone has there own opinion.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2008
Back in 81, (before I was even born, I might add) Duran Duran were just 3 years away from world domination.
This, there first album, spawned hits such as "Planet Earth" and "Girls On Film" (Careless Memories was also released as a single, but stalled somewhat at a disappointing no 37)
It was however "Girls On Film" that shot the band to stardom, the now notorious video (Topless women etc) still receives airplay on music channels today.
Le Bon & co were every youung girls dream, young, fit & handsome. Duran Duran were everywhere.
Musically, Andy's guitar work was evident, Nick sync's played through strong and Le Bon's vocals were, well, average. (Lets be honest, he's never been the world's greatest singer)
The formula worked superbly though, making this, alongside Rio, one of the most essential albums on the early 1980's.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2009
Duran Duran's debut album is one the best albums of the eighties. Most people will be aware of the hits Girls On Film and Planet Earth but also included is the band's second single Careless Memories, which charted at a disappointing number 37 in the UK charts, which is an exciting pop-punk track. There aren't any filler tracks on the album but the standouts are Anyone Out There, Night Boat and Friends Of Mine. The latter still a concert/fan favourite over twenty five years later. Apart from the hits the album has dark and brooding feel to it and was a surprise success in the pop market. To anyone unfamiliar with Duran Duran other than their great pop singles this album will be a surprise but a pleasant surprise. The album has aged very well and is highly recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Dismissed by serious music lovers at the time as pretty boy band twaddle, this gem of an album is standing the test of time remarkably well. The singles still sound fabulous and Careless Memories is outrageously good. The second side is darker and moodier - there clearly was a lot more to Duran Duran than guy-liner and cherry ice-cream lip gloss. All in all, this album is no guilty pleasure - it is essential listening for anyone interested in early 80s' music and/or the New Romantic movement.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
ive still got the LP from when it came out.
i was 13, and this was /still is/great music to get into.
at the time i was into numan, but disliked durans chart pals spandau ballet.
the synth tones/textures on 'to the shore' and 'tel aviv' are just so creamy smooth.
'georgie davis is coming out'.......what a total catchy vocal on 'friends of mine'
all in all i still put this LP on every now and then and its very nice.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
I'd been wanting this album for a while and I wasn't disappointed! It has a lot of B-sides and demo mixes from the first album - my particular favourite is the Air Studios version of Tel Aviv - I'm not Andy's biggest fan, but the guitars on this track are superb. The whole package is great, shows the raw, edgy side of early Duran Duran...it's FABULOUS!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2004
This album was originally released before I was born but even now I can appreciate it's blend of catchy musical hooks and interesting lyrics. "Girls on Film" and "Planet Earth" are tracks which define 80's pop. "Careless Memories" is an underated gem and "Night Boat" demonstrates a more dark and hypnotic side of the band. Perhaps the only dissapointment on the album is the largely dull "Tel Aviv" which is a confused way to end such an exciting album. But overall this album is fantastic.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
It's hard to find a one or two word description for this album - but if I was pushed I would say 'raw'.

That isn't to say it sounds crude; it doesn't - but the tone of a few songs ("friends of mine", "Careless Memories") have an underlying agression in the lyrics which matches the beat of the songs to perfection.

I certainly wouldn't say that the album was a taste of things to come (and who would know what direction Duran would take) - but as it stands, it is a fine album in its own right and while Duran were probably finding their feet it doesn't really show.

A unique album in my opinion which is well worth adding to your collection. If I could only have a few of their albums this would certainly be one of them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.