Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk rock brilliance
This album is one of the most recent additions to my collection, and has already managed to force its way into my top 5 albums of all time. Most of the songs are chilled out and melodic, with the only real "attitude" being paraded about in opening track "Until I Met You"
However, this has no real effect, because whatever Mest attempt to do, they do very well indeed...
Published on 1 Nov 2003 by angstywhingergirl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mest CD
CD was described as very good condition. However, when it arrived had 3 cracks in the case amongst many scratches. The CD was really dirty and needed cleaning before I attempted to play it. However, despite the small scuffs on the shiny cd surface the CD does play.
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by Anonymous


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk rock brilliance, 1 Nov 2003
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
This album is one of the most recent additions to my collection, and has already managed to force its way into my top 5 albums of all time. Most of the songs are chilled out and melodic, with the only real "attitude" being paraded about in opening track "Until I Met You"
However, this has no real effect, because whatever Mest attempt to do, they do very well indeed. If you want more of a clue as to what Mest sound like, look no further than their friends. Good Charlotte, Goldfinger, New Found Glory et al sound similar, but at the same time Mest have enough talent to make their sound unique.
With the imminent release of their album in UK record shops, I look forward to seeing them on Top Of The Pops :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a Mest fan, you'll love it, 27 Oct 2003
By 
Xel (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
If you're a Mest fan, you'll love this one.
Mest are another band who are friends of Good Charlotte, but their music is alot edgier. It's heavier than GC (alot heavier than songs like Girls & Boys, and Lifestyles...), but Jaded (These Years), featuring Benji Madden, is still a must for Good Charlotte fans worldwide.
Don't expect fun and frolics like Simple Plan or scary gothic riffs like HIM... Mest isn't quite pop-punk but not quite deep punk. It's easy to identify to their lyrics, and the songs are good to listen to whenever, wherever... unlike some bands that drive you crazy if they're playing and you're in a bad mood.
**Also, reviwers, this isn't their third album, it's their fourth. Their first album (at time of writing, is not available at Amazon), "Mo Money Mo 40'z" was released in 1998.**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rds a charm, 8 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
i have been eagerly awaiting this release from mest, and i wasnt disappointed! this is mest's best work to date. in terms of lyrics and the sound, it is one of the best in comparison to the two previous releases 'Destination unknown' and 'Wasting Time'. Both of these previous albums, especially 'Wasting Time', i thought would be hard to beat, they are both very energetic with the hard core sound you expect from a raw punk band whos biggest influences are Goldfinger and Good Charlotte to name a few. With this in mind and after listening to the new self entitled album, you can see the influences creeping in. this album tends to fall down into pop punk with melodic and catchy songs like 'rooftops', 'Jaded' and '2000 miles'. This doesnt mean its a bad thing, all the songs on it are incredible, tony Lovato's voice is much stronger and the sound quality is tighter which makes this one of the hardest albums to beat this year. Another standout track would be the amazing orchestra accompanied acoustic 'Chance in a lifetime' which is a soft and deep song reflecting mest's rise and making the most of things.
All round, an amazing album, i love it, you will love it, so go buy it.The raw mest sound is still there. The heavy drums, bold bass notes and hardcore rifts are ever present and the music as a whole has been tuned into songs that epitimise perfection. goldfinger front man John Feldman co-produced the album so thats what you would expect from a music genius. Mest will be big, its only a matter of time now with the iminant release of 'Jaded', so take a chance on them if you havant already, because if like me, you hate to see bands sell out and go mainstream, there may not be much time left! you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mest are nearly there, 8 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
i have been eagerly awaiting this release from mest, and i wasnt disappointed! this is mest's best work to date. in terms of lyrics and the sound, it is one of the best in comparison to previous releases 'Destination unknown' and 'Wasting Time'. Both of these previous albums, especially 'Wasting Time', i thought would be hard to beat, they are both very energetic with the hard core sound you expect from a raw punk band whos biggest influences are Goldfinger and Good Charlotte to name a few. With this in mind and after listening to the new self entitled album, you can see the influences creeping in. this album tends to fall down into pop punk with melodic and catchy songs like 'rooftops', 'Jaded' and '2000 miles'. This doesnt mean its a bad thing, all the songs on it are incredible, tony Lovato's voice is much stronger and the sound quality is tighter which makes this one of the hardest albums to beat this year. Another standout track would be the amazing orchestra accompanied acoustic 'Chance in a lifetime' which is a soft and deep song reflecting mest's rise and making the most of things.
All round, an amazing album, i love it, you will love it, so go buy it.The raw mest sound is still there. The heavy drums, bold bass notes and hardcore rifts are ever present and the music as a whole has been tuned into songs that epitimise perfection. goldfinger front man John Feldman co-produced the album so thats what you would expect from a music genius. Mest will be big, its only a matter of time now with the iminant release of 'Jaded', so take a chance on them if you havant already, because if like me, you hate to see bands sell out and go mainstream, there may not be much time left! you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best effort but still a good album, 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
After listening to this album, i would say that it aint their best effort, not as good as wasting time or destination unknown, to many "feely" songs in it really like jaded. rooftops and night alone are good though. i would say that it is worth buying because the album is good, just don't expect it to be as good as the other three more fun records. This one sounds like they were in too much close contact with good charlotte instead of goldfinger or trying a new approach like green day with warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4th Album Best From Mest, 20 Jun 2003
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
After 2001's Destination Unknown it would have been a huge challenge for Mest to write a better album but...
1. Until I Met You - Lots of 'ah ah ahs' in the beginning. It's a good opener though. Not to distant from their older stuff. Its still a bit like Goldfinger though, 'Shaking on the outside, because of what I'm feeling inside' Good Lyrics
2. Rooftops - One of the first I heard, it is a real good anthem, great chorus. One of the most catchy and happiest on the album 'Up on the rooftop, listening to punk rock'
3. Jaded (These Years) - if you didn't know, Benji from GC features in this song. Its also the first single, it wouldn't have been my pick, but its more Mest than most of the songs on this album.
4. Night Alone - One of Jere's songs. Heavier than old Mest songs, like most of this album, The guitar parts in this song are amazing.
5. Burning Bridges - One of my favourites, if u have the other album, its a little bit like 'Reason'. Tony's song writing skills have certainly grown. Its quite a sad song this one.
6. Walking On Broken Glass - This is THE best on the album; it's similar too burning bridges. The effects on the vocals are really cool. Just listen to this song it is fantastic.
7. Your Promise - Piano intro: Mest haven't done this before, it quickly picks up, up-tempo song. Jere's voice has changed slightly since the last album. In my opinion he is a better singer than Tony.
8. 2000 Miles - This is another catchy one, Starts a bit like 'Another Day' on the last album, I really like this song..
9. Shell Of Myself - Another song by Jere he has quite a few on this album. His voice is really amazing. I think they are departing from the Goldfinger label they had stuck on them.
10. Lost, Broken, Confused - Not really a stand out track, but still a solid song.
11. Chance of a lifetime - Strings and acoustic guitars, very slow song, different from the rest.
12. Return To Self Loathing - This is another favourite, good guitar parts, its also another Jere song. This and walking on broken glass really sum up Mest's new direction.
13. Paradise - Album closer, starts with a siren. This is very old skool Mest, like Wasting Time album. This song has a very good riff
This is gonna be a great album to remember in the future, Mest have taken a brilliant new direction without distancing themselves too much from their trademark sound. They are gonna be huge this year, take my word for it...and its about time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mest Rock, 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
This album is great i love it is always in my cd case and has been working its way around my mates who now love mest. if u like Punk Rock wit attitude and a sense of humor as well then u will love this album. the tracks on it range from deep and meaningful Jaded which featuures Benji from gc to 2000 Miles which is really rocky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mest CD, 16 Feb 2010
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
CD was described as very good condition. However, when it arrived had 3 cracks in the case amongst many scratches. The CD was really dirty and needed cleaning before I attempted to play it. However, despite the small scuffs on the shiny cd surface the CD does play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MeSt, 28 July 2006
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
This is the best album to date, there is a change of pace in the album with slow songs such as "lost,broken,confused" and "chance of a life time" but there are more upbeat songs like "rooftops" if you like Good Charlotte or Blink this ia a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mest, 28 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mest (Audio CD)
all three of the cd's are excellent u gotta buy all 3 to see the full brilliance of mest they are the best band
from dave swan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mest
Mest by Mest (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews