Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reissue of a cool 80s TV cartoon, shame about extras., 30 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Along with 'Dogtanian and the Three Muskehounds', 'Around The World With Willy Fog' is another classic 1980s TV cartoon series based on a classic novel, this time Jules Verne's 'Around The World in Eighty Days'.
The series tells of Willy Fog, a rich member of the London Reform Club, who makes a wager of half of his entire fortune that he can travel around the world in just eighty days. Naturally, the disbelieving other members accept the bet.
Fog, accompanied by athletic new butler Rigadon and his tiny mouse sidekick Tico, they set off on the epic journey. But there are two complications thrown in that threaten his victory: one is that Scotland Yard police officers Inspector Dicks and his inept partner Constable Bully believe Fog is responsible for robbing the Bank Of England prior to his departure, and go on the same journey to try and catch him. The other is a hired saboteur named Transfer, a master of disguise and lethal cunning; his task is to simply stop Fog from completing his journey on time in any way he can.
The series, like 'Dogtanian', is still as wonderful as it ever was, and, again, for a TV series, the animation is pretty good and the characters really interesting.
However, despite its wonderful charm, I cannot give this DVD a top rating of 5 for two reasons: one is that the extras are a bit lame (just brief character profiles and a text biography on Jules Verne, really); and the other, far more damning reason, is that there are only five episodes on the disc, which, when you consider that the DVD for 'Dogtanian' contains nine, has more extras, costs the same price as this and was released by the same company, seems rather unforgivable by comparison.
It's still recommended, but it's just a shame that there were not more episodes included to make up for the small number of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 80s, 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Most people you ask who were kids in the eighties will remember Willy Fog. Based on the novel by Jules Verne, this adaptation was dubbed from Spanish to English and broadcasted on the BBC. I absolutely love it, although lost some of the series which we recorded back then. Now, here it is, digitalised and available at a very reasonable price.
Willy Fog, an English gentleman, lives in London during the Victorian era. He is challenged by a fellow member of the prestigious Reform Club to travel around the world in 80 days, to which many others bet and he stands to win, or lose twenty thousand pounds!
Accompanied by his butler Rigadon, and his friend Tico, they set out to travel the globe. This DVD sees them recieve the challenge and set off, travelling through Paris, the Alps, Italy and the Suez Canal. The adventure continues on the second DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willy Fog, 19 Jan 2004
By 
D. Johnstone (PORTSMOUTH,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent cartoon adventure series,used to watch it as a child, now my own children watch it too and love it...i defy any child (or grownup) not to sing the theme song after watching.
we cant wait for the next series to be released on dvd..the children want to know what happens to Willy, Rigadon and Romy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willy Fog... Still the best!, 30 Jun 2003
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
'Fog i'm the one who made the betand i know we'll be exactly right on time...' were the opening lines to one of the greatest cartoons ever. Now, after a ten year wait, the children of the 80's can finally be reunited with Willy, Rigadon, Tico, Romy and the rest of the around the world gang. Watching the episodes again after so long would suggest that they'd seem dated and as most things from the 80's... TERRIBLE! But this is a rarity, if anything the show, like a fine wine, has improoved with age and the DVD really shows this. Its so old that the picture quality isn't perfect, but the mastering is incredible and despite some dirt thats on the original print, the overall image is very impressive. The extra's are imited but the fact that you get any is amazing. The menu screens are wonderful, brightly coloured, animated and musical (bet you can't guess what music it plays...). Overall, it's a classic peice of nastalga that should be bought by everyone, either 'cause you want to rediscover it or you want to discover it for the first time. So grab your canes and and your top hats and sing along '80 days around the world we'll find a pot of gold...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, those were the days....., 16 July 2003
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a child of the 80`s and want to relive those early school days then this is for you.
As soon as the title music starts playing, you are back to 1983 and intent on the journey of Willy Fog.
Great for reliving those childhood days amd memories. DVD is actually volume 1 (not sure of how many) but is a good one for all those wanting to return to the 80`s and when cartoons were real cartoons.... (also bought Dogtanion and the 3 Muskahounds)
Pj.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable classic - deceptively described though, 10 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series when I was growing up, so was really keen to purchase this.

Any purchaser should be warned that this is, in fact, VOLUME 1 of a set of multiple DVDs (though I'm not certain how many there are). And you will only get the first 5 episodes only, and NOT THE ENTIRE SERIES. No where on the product description has this been stated, and I think it is very important for purchasers to know.

That said, enjoyed the viewing experience, though the songs seem trite and annoying the second time around ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Around The World With Willy Fog, 27 Jun 2003
By 
Coral Leane (Poole, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series as a child and still enjoy it now. This DVD only contains the first five episodes - sadly, as my favourite character was always Romy and she doesn't show up until a few episodes later. Still, an enjoyable DVD and one worth getting if you really liked the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An easy introduction to Jules Verne, 15 Nov 2003
By 
Harry Hayfield "Harry" (Ceredigion, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
If you felt that wading through "Around the World in Eighty Days" was too much of a hard slog then this is an excellent way to gently get into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD]
Willy Fog - Around the World in 80 Days Vol. 1 [DVD] by Luis Ballester Bustos (DVD - 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews