Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So moving - it literally makes grown men cry...
It took me ages to get round to seeing this film, even though I was living in Nottingham at the time it was filmed & released (indeed, I recognised the actor playing Fagash from his time working at the Broadway Cinema bar).

A lot of reviews are misleading and off-putting. Yes, it's about Bob Hoskins setting up a boxing club to give some inner-city kids some...
Published on 21 July 2007 by J. Simpson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its just ok
im from notts owt on it on dvd i want. yet again abit disapointed. he could of done better. its in b and w god knows why
Published on 30 Mar 2012 by tango


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So moving - it literally makes grown men cry..., 21 July 2007
By 
J. Simpson "Jenny" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
It took me ages to get round to seeing this film, even though I was living in Nottingham at the time it was filmed & released (indeed, I recognised the actor playing Fagash from his time working at the Broadway Cinema bar).

A lot of reviews are misleading and off-putting. Yes, it's about Bob Hoskins setting up a boxing club to give some inner-city kids some hope - that sounds trite and in the wrong hands it would be. What makes this film special is the real depth the actors bring to their characters and the lack of over-sentimentality, punctuated with wit.

It's so poignant, Bob Hoskins can portray so many emotions at the same time.

It really is one of the best British films ever made, along with the other Shane Meadows films. Gritty, sad, poetic and funny - definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut Feature, Premiere Talent, 7 Aug 2006
By 
C. G. Watt "the block" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The first picture from Midlands based film maker Shane Meadows, is a lyrical and beautifully shot debut, that heralded Meadows as a person to watch. Focusing on one man's dream to bring hope and inspiration back to the kids in his town by opening a boxing club, the film manages to be both poetic & entertaining, funny yet touching and raw but stylish. With gorgeous Black and White photography and a towering central performance from Bob Hoskins, this is a film from Meadows heart, a tribute to the Midlands streets he grew up on. The disc also includes the short "Three Tears For Jimmy Prophet", made by Meadows two years later and starring Paddy Considine as a boxer trying to make sense of the tragedy his life has become. This short has to be seen to be believed, in the economy of the storytelling, and the one man acting school that is Considine's performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a REAL British film, 3 Jun 2000
This is an absolutely fantastic film. It's so much better than the dreary middle class rubbish that passes for being typically British in Hollywood and elsewhere. The world which Meadows portrays is real, Hugh Grant arguing about "brownies" with Julia Roberts is not, not to me anyway. Meadows is a pure artist, the film is beautifully shot in black and white without pretension. Bob Hoskins dancing with his aunty to Blue Danube - beautiful. Some of the dialogue is perfect. Inspired and inspiring, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical, 16 Sep 2007
By 
R. J. Harvey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
After the short 'Where's The Money, Ronnie?' and the not-so-short 'Small Time', Lord Shane Meadows of Eldon's first feature film is this snappy black-and-white urban drama. Darcy (Bob Hoskins) is sick of seeing the local youths at each other's throats, so forms a boxing club to bring them together. It is a laudable plan; something to offer control and direction to a disaffected generation.

Meadows' greatest talent is in presenting a truthful working class landscape sympathetically, but without being patronising. Our heroes are disadvantaged, often stricken by a fearsome domestic environment (none more so than Danny Nussbaum's Tim); and yet they are also kind, witty, hungry, and joyful. The scenes in which Darcy brings the boys to Wales, with Ashley Rowe's sumptuous cinematography and Hoskin's lyrical voiceover, are so vibrant it's as if they're filmed in colour. It's quite something to find drama in scenes of great happiness, when the conflict is left at home - but Meadows always seems to find it, and that's what makes his films vital and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Debut From Meadows, 23 Nov 2006
By 
A. R. Davidson (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This debut feature from Shane Meadows is not only a good film in its own right but also a great piece of english cinema. The film itself boasts terrific performances from Bob Hoskins in the central role of Darcy but also of all the young guys who play the aspiring boxers. Meadows' protrayl of the east Midlands will ring true to anyone who has grown up there. Towns on the edge of cities with no jobs and nothing to do for the young people growing up there. The group of young men the film centres around are drifting towards a life of pointless petty criminality when Darcy (Hoskins) persuades them to form of boxing club in order to at least give them some direction in life and escape from the drudgery of life. The films strength is in its realism and comes from a similar angle to Loach's portrayls of working class life, most recently sweet sixteen. The style differs however as Meadows leaves overt politics out of the it and instead allows for the audience to draw out their own conclusions from the story he tells and also contains much more grim humour than Loach. Meadows later work in A Room For Romeo Brass and recently Dead Mans shows evidently draws from the milieu he portrayed for the first time here.

Also be sure the watch the short fim Three Tears for Jimmy Prophet. Those familiar with Paddy Considine brilliant work in Dead Man's shows will not be surprised as he turns in a similarly compelling performance as a man who has lost everything as a result of split second loss of control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its just ok, 30 Mar 2012
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
im from notts owt on it on dvd i want. yet again abit disapointed. he could of done better. its in b and w god knows why
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Slow and grim. Not worth sitting through for 2 hours. Characters were not very plausable and the violence was unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Here's an orangutan ...a serious monkey.", 20 Jan 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Twenty Four Seven is Shane Meadows second full length film (after the excellent Small Time) and again it's a black and white urban story of the regular folk who tend to fall off the radar when it comes to films.

A rough estate in Nottingham is the setting for former boxing coach to try and give the kids on the street something to do with their time. His vision of reducing crime by getting the youth involved in sport maybe nave but it's not without some success. Bob Hoskins is well cast as the grizzly, well meaning patriarch and his performance is stirring at times.

The local boys who becoming members of the boxing club are the sort of riff-raff who would be considered by many as delinquents, but we get to see their family lives and the way they are dismissed by people who should be encouraging them. Once they experience some commitment by someone prepared to show some faith in them they start to thrive. They may not be great boxers, but their friendship and humour are great to watch. The banter is funny and very realistic, the sort of conversation you might actually hear if you pass a group of friends.

This isn't a fairytale though, don't expect everything to turn out okay at the end. But once the film ends you are left with a sense that several lives have been changed for the better, their lives will continue on a better path now.

This DVD also contains the short film "Three Tears for Johnny Profit". It's a short which reflects on the consequences of once punch which was delivered during a fight one night. Meadows regular Paddy Considine is the man who philosophises on the impact it had on his life and the lives of others. It's not one of Shane Meadows' best short films but at just under ten minutes it provides an interesting monologue from one of our greatest yet largely undiscovered (by the masses) modern day actors.

In a nutshell: Atmospheric black and white adds an artistic look to this deep and often funny film. Where everything seems hopeless Shane Meadows shows us hope, a gang of seemingly ne'er-do-wells is shown to be a bunch of intelligent boys capable of warmth and humour the same as anyone else. That's the magic of a Shane Meadows' film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opinions on the film, 18 Oct 2007
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Everyone else has given a very good description of the content, so I will just explain what I thought.

I saw this film when there was nothing else on TV, I wasn't expecting much from a black and white debut film and only really wanted to see it to pass time and because I am a casual fan of boxing and Bob Hoskins. I was very glad I saw this film and bought it at my first opertunity.

People have said in many of reviews how sad this film is, they are wrong. I thought this was the most upbeat film I have ever seen, with nothing but positivity and a nice, witty story of people prevailing from what they were given to be as much as they could. The message seemed very positive, everything was happy; whenever you saw something considered a tragedy, the film focuses rather on how helpful Bob's character is to them/how much he loves them and how much he wants his club o work for the good of its users. Which is why the ending is so amazing and completely unexpected. It is something that if explained won't work, because it needs the whole film to work. The sudden tragedy is beatifully juxtaposed to the strong positive theme and works to show how much Bob's character put into his great plan and how determined he was to give these people a brighter future. He is a great character that you truly wish to succeed.
Rocky this is not.

And as for the black and white; well it is most likely to be due to cost. But I think it works to show the background/area as being gray and gritty, so the story is about trying to leave the black & white and have a 'brighter' and 'more colourful' future.

I only gave this four stars because I think 5 stars should be reserved for the VERY best of the best, and although I love this film and highly reccomend you buy it; it isn't up to the standards of some other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising, 15 Oct 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Twenty Four Seven is the kind of debut that gets hailed as promising, which is another way of saying the director clearly has talent but doesn't know what to do with it yet. Certainly compared to most of the substandard product in the UK over the past decade it's a cut above, but there's not much substance to its tale of Bob Hoskins' attempts to regain some self-respect and keep various teenagers out of trouble by starting a boxing club. For all the naturalism, there's not enough character to carry it over into tragedy when the feelgood factor takes an unexpected turn in the final third, one it sadly fails to exploit or investigate. Ironically, director Shane Meadows' subsequent film, A Room for Romeo Brass would have the opposite problem, delivering a brilliant character in a thin plot before he would finally deliver the goods with Dead Man's Shoes. Very watchable and not without its incidental pleasures nonetheless, the DVD includes an amiably down to Earth commentary by Meadows and writer Paul Fraser and the original trailer.

Also included on the UK DVD, 9-minute short film Three Tears for Jimmy Prophet isn't particularly memorable as a piece of filmmaking, but it's another impressive bit of corroborating evidence for the theory that Paddy Considine is the best British actor of his generation. There's nothing outstandingly original in the writing, but there's real emotional truth in his performance as a small-time boxer whose life has taken a turn for the tragic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30ab2b8)

This product

Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998]
Twenty Four Seven [DVD] [1998] by Shane Meadows (DVD - 2003)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews