Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Listen to critics
a young girl dreams of a family so she decides to get one by stealing one off her best friend. Ivy (Drew Barrymore) will do anything but when she gets it she wants more.
She will use murder , seduction and sex to get it.
A very good film 1992 and made 2 sequels out of it , still a avery good film
only extra a trailer but cheap price BUY IT
Published on 27 Aug 2003 by Christopher Hill

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poison Ivy
I must be missing a trick about this film because every review I read seems to sum it up as a credible and interesting movie, and yet for me it swung between sheer boredom and tired trotted out formulaic film tricks in equal amounts.
The story idea is intriguing but not that original; a beautiful young girl from the wrong side of the tracks befriends the geeky...
Published on 10 April 2005 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Listen to critics, 27 Aug 2003
By 
Christopher Hill "thedrazen" (Plymouth, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
a young girl dreams of a family so she decides to get one by stealing one off her best friend. Ivy (Drew Barrymore) will do anything but when she gets it she wants more.
She will use murder , seduction and sex to get it.
A very good film 1992 and made 2 sequels out of it , still a avery good film
only extra a trailer but cheap price BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drew should have done more like this..., 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
...rather than the bland rom-coms that she did after this film. Poison Ivy has a TV film feel about it and having just watched it recently for the first time in several years I feel that she could have had more credibility if she had continued on the serious side of acting, rather than frivolous rom-coms that became her staple.

Drew Barrymore never looked better than she did in this film and it's easy to see why Tom Skerritt is tempted by the teenage temptress. Sara Gilbert, who older readers may remember from Roseanne and younger readers as an occasional actress in The Big Bang Theory, plays a very good supporting role in this tight, memorable, and erotic thriller.

There is a little too much on the music playing in the background but all in all, this is a good film to kill an hour-and-a-half with, particularly as it involves Ms Barrymore at her sexy looking best in a role that she excelled in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sexy,seductive, very drew!, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Poison Ivy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I expected this to be another shallow film,a meaningless excuse to have endless sex scenes but it turned out to be a very deep, psychologically thriller. It's the tale of outsider, Cooper, who befriends the new wild girl in town, who thrives on the love and attention of others. She becomes infatuated with Cooper's father and will let nothing get in her way.Seeing Drew play the secuctive teen is like magic. This is not a film to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drew Is A Beautiful Poison, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Drew Barrymore is stunning here as a femme fatale seducing her best friends father,she manipulates the entire family and is just superb in a rare serious role,i love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just in response..., 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Firstly, I do think this is a worthwhile watch, it has depth and chills and its one of the few films that still makes my hairs stand on end.

However, in response to a previous comment about the rating, I'm not sure what version she was watching but this film is an 18 with good reason for at least a couple of sex scenes between a teenage Barrymore and older man Skerrit, I watched it at about 13 and it was more than I'd seen elsewhere so I'd say the label is deserved. Wouldn't be happy watching this with my 12 yr old daughter...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poison Ivy, 10 April 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I must be missing a trick about this film because every review I read seems to sum it up as a credible and interesting movie, and yet for me it swung between sheer boredom and tired trotted out formulaic film tricks in equal amounts.
The story idea is intriguing but not that original; a beautiful young girl from the wrong side of the tracks befriends the geeky insecure rich girl from her school class. She then worms her way into the family's affections in differing ways. She sympathises and comforts the mother, a neurotic who believes she is on death's door. She seduces the father, a reforming alcoholic, even steals the affections of the family dog. Finally she generally turns nasty on her so called friend and sets her up for many a bad fall.
Where it just didn't work for me is that all the tricks used to show the development of the story line just seem so hackneyed and generally tired. They are nothing new and possess no subtlety whatsoever is they way they are presented. They are rammed down the audience's throat with a sense that if they had been done with any delicacy at all the film maker's were scared that their "idiot" audience wouldn't understand.
The performances aren't shockingly bad but they certainly aren't fantastic. Drew Barrymore is certainly good looking but can she pull off the necessary malice for this role? For me she didn't come anywhere close. Sara Gilbert is more believable as the misunderstood outsider that Barrymore befriends but even here there is something missing.
For me this is a movie you watch when you're a misunderstood teenager yourself, you watch it feeling convinced it's full of hidden messages that only you can understand and thinking that the film is speaking to you on a level that no-one else can. It isn't, it's just a worn out mechanical acting by numbers flick which soon looses it's shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poison Ivy, 5 Dec 2007
By 
This is a fantastic film! I very much enjoyed it, and I must say, it is one of the best films I have watched in a long time. It is brilliant, and full of meaning. I absolutely LOVE Drew Barrymore, I have literally every single movie by her. She is my idol and role model. This is a MUST SEE film. Definitely 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Dec 2003
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Okay, Ill admit that its hard for me to be unbiased about this film as it stars one of my heroines in Sara Gilbert. Ill do my best to look past this and give it a fair review based on actual opinion rather than bias.
The film is about a rich kid (Sylvia played by Sara Gilbert) who befriends a drifter (Ivy played by Drew Barrymore). The two are both outcasts and form a special bond based on actual friendship. Or so Sylvia believes. I dont want to give too much away because the film is paced perfectly, the story unravels a bit at a time making it a film that you really do have to watch all the way through.
Drew is brilliant as Ivy, catching the balance between loving friend and evil enemy just perfectly. Whats more, its all believeable, its not so over the top that you cant emphathise with the characters. Sara does a brilliant job also, playing a character thats different to her role as Darlene Connor in Roseanne. She plays the contradictions of her character, a rebel who wants to annoy her parents and also a caring daughter to perfection.
If you want your films to be more than just the moronic shoot em up Hollywood fare, then watch "Poison Ivy". You cant leave your brain at the door with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars twisting tdrama., 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
a movie I watched when I was a young man that I fancied a look at again now im nearly 50, I still enjoyed it 30 odd years on. drew Barrymore at her sexy temptress best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poison Ivy, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a classic 'Drew Barrymore' movie. The story line is about a lonely teenage girl becoming friends with 'Ivy' another teenage girl and how 'Ivy' becomes part of her family. However, there is more to 'Ivy' than meets the eye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992]
Poison Ivy [DVD] [1992] by Katt Shea (DVD - 2013)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews