Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than Schindler's list!
To say this film is comedy gold would be doing it a disservice. The script is magnificent, the direction top quality, and the acting is Oscar worthy. The best film of its year, nay, its decade.

Martin Lawrence puts in a powerhouse performance as a young man coming to terms with his journey through time. Not only is he out of his time, he is out of his mind, and...
Published on 14 Nov. 2011 by M. Lawrenceson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars We're not in Kansas anymore
Jamal Walker (Lawrence) works in a struggling medieval world amusement park, where he sustains a fall & unknowingly wakes up in a real medieval 14th century England. Where upon he must help a group of rebels fight against a usurper King. Comedy & mayhem ensue.

Black Knight is essentially a medieval Wizard Of Oz tale, which has it's moments thanks to the...
Published 10 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars We're not in Kansas anymore, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jamal Walker (Lawrence) works in a struggling medieval world amusement park, where he sustains a fall & unknowingly wakes up in a real medieval 14th century England. Where upon he must help a group of rebels fight against a usurper King. Comedy & mayhem ensue.

Black Knight is essentially a medieval Wizard Of Oz tale, which has it's moments thanks to the combination of cultural differences in language, sanitisation, superstition & romance. Thinking he's experiencing a rivals amusement park & taking great fun in enjoying himself & playing along. The penny eventually drops into the realization of his predicament & changing his care free attitude into a more sincere one for the people that are being oppressed. And sets out to do something about it with the help of the cowardly lion....or rather Knight, Sir Knolte of Marlborough (Wilkinson).

The comedic talents of Martin Lawrence (Bad Boys) manage to keep this afloat, albeit noticeably struggling in parts, but still gets something out of the poor material, culminating in carrying the film into more watchable territory. Obviously being set in England, the support cast are thankfully primarily British, rather then Americans with bad accents. When given the chance Tom Wilkinson (Michael Clayton) shows his abilities as the washed up Knight with a regal air. Vincent Regan (Lockout) portrays a good baddie, which seems to be his niche now. The beautiful Marsha Thomason (White Collar) is credible in an early state side movie role as the romantic interest. And Kevin Conway uses a twist on his Irish/British accent from Gettysburg as a passable King.

In conclusion, Black Knight has a good premise, but suffers from an inconsistent script that even Martin Lawrence struggles to turn it into comedy gold. Otherwise it's a well presented, amiable comedy with an enjoyable ending. Contains mild language/mature themes & violence. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than Schindler's list!, 14 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
To say this film is comedy gold would be doing it a disservice. The script is magnificent, the direction top quality, and the acting is Oscar worthy. The best film of its year, nay, its decade.

Martin Lawrence puts in a powerhouse performance as a young man coming to terms with his journey through time. Not only is he out of his time, he is out of his mind, and he's about to get medieval on you! The only disappointing scenes are when the brilliant Lawrence is not on screen, and we have to deal with Tom Wilkinson's turgid performance as Sir Knolte.

I, personally, see this film as the springboard of Lawrence's career. The plaudits he recieved for such a performance allowed him to star in such blockbusters as 'Big Momma's house 2' and 'Wild Hogs'. Two critically acclaimed successes, in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Messy Medieval Monstrosity., 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jamal Walker (Martin Lawrence) works in a medieval theme park until one day he's magically transported back to the Middle Ages. Bluffing his way into the royal court as an ambassador from Normandy, he gets involved with a peasant revolt.

I don't mind Martin Lawrence as a rule, Bad Boys is berserker action fun, Big Momma's House has its moments and Blue Streak I confess to laughing at. But this is scraping the barrel, an unfunny spin on the time travel theme that sees Lawrence attempt to get laughs by bringing Ghetto speak to days of yore. That he doesn't succeed isn't down to him, he's full of his usual energy and gurning antics as always, it's kind of endearing in its simpleness, but the script (Darryl J. Quarles/Peter Gaulke/Gerry Swallow) is lazy and the direction from Gil Junger lifeless. Those actors working around Lawrence barely register as he blunders his way through scene after scene like a tornado in a greenhouse. Where you have to ask just what was Tom Wilkinson thinking of when he signed on for this turgid mess? I mean, he was Oscar nominated for In The Bedroom this same year. Now that's far more funnier than Black Knight all by itself.

Moronic, in fact it's beyond moronic, and those who support such a movie should be rounded up, put in the stocks and pelted with rotting fruit and vegetables. 2/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WOULDN'T PLAY FOR MORE THAN 10 MINUTES, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
HAVE TO GIVE THIS DVD 1 STAR DUE TO RECEIVING A USED BADLY SCRATCHED DVD RE-WRAPPED AND PALMED OFF AS NEW .
OTHER WISE THIS IS AN EXCELLENT FILM . 5 STARS FOR THE MOVIE .
1 FOR THE DISAPPOINTMENT WHEN IT ARRIVED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars recommend., 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Mohammed87 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
funny guy, anyways I would recommend this movie, I read some reviews saying it was crap, what do they know, I liked it.

cheap, good movie, seller thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK Film, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Hi
Just seen Black Knight for the first time.
I gave it a 4 out of 10 to.
If your into time travel its worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film worth buying, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I would watch this movie more then once it has it all comedy, action, romance, a great little family film I recomend to all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True comedy film, 18 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have to totally disagree with 2 of the reviewers. This is a hilarious movie with non stop laughing! If you want to have a great laugh then get it! One of the best Martin Lawrence movie I have seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Knight to be reckoned with, 7 Mar. 2005
By 
malcolm galvin (Dagenham, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having read the on-line comments, I felt I had to write and disagree with the reviewer. The only thing I did agree with, was the acting of Martin Lawrence. I found this film to be entertaining, mainly because IT IS SILLY! One man's struggle to come to terms with the fact that he'd travelled back in time was quite amusing! teaching the king's court a "futuristic" song and dance and then teaching a band of "low-life" villagers the "fighting" tactics of American football (Grid-iron) had me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value and quick delivery, 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As described, good value and quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Knight [DVD] [2002]
Black Knight [DVD] [2002] by Gil Junger (DVD - 2003)
£4.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews