Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than Schindler's list!
To say this film is comedy gold would be doing it a disservice. The script is magnificent, the direction top quality, and the acting is Oscar worthy. The best film of its year, nay, its decade.

Martin Lawrence puts in a powerhouse performance as a young man coming to terms with his journey through time. Not only is he out of his time, he is out of his mind, and...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by M. Lawrenceson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Messy Medieval Monstrosity.
Jamal Walker (Martin Lawrence) works in a medieval theme park until one day he's magically transported back to the Middle Ages. Bluffing his way into the royal court as an ambassador from Normandy, he gets involved with a peasant revolt.

I don't mind Martin Lawrence as a rule, Bad Boys is berserker action fun, Big Momma's House has its moments and Blue Streak...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than Schindler's list!, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
To say this film is comedy gold would be doing it a disservice. The script is magnificent, the direction top quality, and the acting is Oscar worthy. The best film of its year, nay, its decade.

Martin Lawrence puts in a powerhouse performance as a young man coming to terms with his journey through time. Not only is he out of his time, he is out of his mind, and he's about to get medieval on you! The only disappointing scenes are when the brilliant Lawrence is not on screen, and we have to deal with Tom Wilkinson's turgid performance as Sir Knolte.

I, personally, see this film as the springboard of Lawrence's career. The plaudits he recieved for such a performance allowed him to star in such blockbusters as 'Big Momma's house 2' and 'Wild Hogs'. Two critically acclaimed successes, in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Messy Medieval Monstrosity., 29 Aug 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jamal Walker (Martin Lawrence) works in a medieval theme park until one day he's magically transported back to the Middle Ages. Bluffing his way into the royal court as an ambassador from Normandy, he gets involved with a peasant revolt.

I don't mind Martin Lawrence as a rule, Bad Boys is berserker action fun, Big Momma's House has its moments and Blue Streak I confess to laughing at. But this is scraping the barrel, an unfunny spin on the time travel theme that sees Lawrence attempt to get laughs by bringing Ghetto speak to days of yore. That he doesn't succeed isn't down to him, he's full of his usual energy and gurning antics as always, it's kind of endearing in its simpleness, but the script (Darryl J. Quarles/Peter Gaulke/Gerry Swallow) is lazy and the direction from Gil Junger lifeless. Those actors working around Lawrence barely register as he blunders his way through scene after scene like a tornado in a greenhouse. Where you have to ask just what was Tom Wilkinson thinking of when he signed on for this turgid mess? I mean, he was Oscar nominated for In The Bedroom this same year. Now that's far more funnier than Black Knight all by itself.

Moronic, in fact it's beyond moronic, and those who support such a movie should be rounded up, put in the stocks and pelted with rotting fruit and vegetables. 2/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars recommend., 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mohammed87 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
funny guy, anyways I would recommend this movie, I read some reviews saying it was crap, what do they know, I liked it.

cheap, good movie, seller thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK Film, 21 Dec 2013
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Hi
Just seen Black Knight for the first time.
I gave it a 4 out of 10 to.
If your into time travel its worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True comedy film, 18 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have to totally disagree with 2 of the reviewers. This is a hilarious movie with non stop laughing! If you want to have a great laugh then get it! One of the best Martin Lawrence movie I have seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Knight to be reckoned with, 7 Mar 2005
By 
malcolm galvin (Dagenham, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having read the on-line comments, I felt I had to write and disagree with the reviewer. The only thing I did agree with, was the acting of Martin Lawrence. I found this film to be entertaining, mainly because IT IS SILLY! One man's struggle to come to terms with the fact that he'd travelled back in time was quite amusing! teaching the king's court a "futuristic" song and dance and then teaching a band of "low-life" villagers the "fighting" tactics of American football (Grid-iron) had me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A black day for all comedies, 28 Jan 2004
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
'Black Knight' is a dire comedy with very few entertaining elements. The only redeeming feature is the performance of Martin Lawrence who doesn't let the fact he is in a poor film damage his acting ability. The main problem with this film is that the plot is unrealistic to the point of utter stupidity. The king, evil knight and princess are such shallow characters that you cannot even begin to relate to them or find them amusing. Add to this an incredibly dull script and very few interesting jokes and you will begin to have some idea of the quality of this film.
The basic story is that of a man going back in time and 'saving the land' from an evil king and learning honour and righteousness while he's at it, (and of course he falls in love along the way). This tedious tale is occasionally interrupted by a moment of hilarity (far too few and far between) before retuning to the same painful disgrace. The only thing that saves this from being a one star film is Martin Lawrence who never fails to lift the overall standard of any film.
In conclusion, to buy this film would be a crime against any other DVD in you're collection and I would strongly advise against it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be NO stars, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
It's a one trick pony, and its trick is such that if you're brain-damaged or think that black-bro-homey wise-ass streetspeak in a mediaeval setting is endlessly funny, then you'll love this mindless trash. Because that's the one laugh-line, repeated till it's an embarrassment to fail to watch something else. ANYTHING else. Like commercials, they have way more entertainment value.

Amazed that anyone after reading the script could be prevailed on to finance this utter travesty, they must have been drunk or high or blackmailed into an involvement such as this.

Possibly the very worst film ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie I didn't think would be funny..., 31 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. M. W. Lawson (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Films like this are often such marvellous concepts but are pulled off very badly. This is an exception.

I thought Lawrence played his part very well as a typical 'homie' from the big city. The clash of cultures produced laughs throughout the film - especially when he picks something off the floor which he wasn't expecting!

Cheap laughs, admittedly, but laughs nonetheless. Worth buying if it's still only a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*, 26 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Black Knight [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I watched this film on BBC 1 a couple of weeks ago. I thought it was really amazing and really funny. I think this is one of the best films with martin Lawrence. Yeah, so I decided to go buy it it so I could watch it over and over again. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Knight [DVD] [2002]
Black Knight [DVD] [2002] by Gil Junger (DVD - 2003)
6.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews