Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renoir's Masterpiece
They say at the time of its release in 1939 that Renoir himself once said "I wanted to depict a society dancing on a volcano".........When you watch this almost comedic pre-war gem you will see exactly what he means. It's a film to be lost in.. Soak up in the wit and cynical marvel of the characters..................Not to be missed..
Published 23 months ago by Taki34

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BFI pleeease, make it blu-ray
I couldn't decide whether to buy this region-2 BFI DVD or to wait for a B region blu-ray (as the only BD editions available are the french one with no subtitles, and Criterion region 1-locked). But I regret now I bought this DVD.

This is without doubt a masterpiece of cinematography, acting and narration, regardless of its age. In its uncensored version...
Published 10 months ago by M. Stencel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BFI pleeease, make it blu-ray, 10 Oct 2013
By 
M. Stencel (Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't decide whether to buy this region-2 BFI DVD or to wait for a B region blu-ray (as the only BD editions available are the french one with no subtitles, and Criterion region 1-locked). But I regret now I bought this DVD.

This is without doubt a masterpiece of cinematography, acting and narration, regardless of its age. In its uncensored version presented here, it leaves you speechless and wanting more.

But this release cannot offer you any more actually - very poor contrast, terribly unstable picture and incorrect ratio (looks like 1.78:1 instead of the correct 1.33:1 - and yes, I double-checked the TV settings).

I hope that Criterion edition looks much better than this. Anyway, it's high time to re-release this classic now in remastered HD, as well as other BFI milestones by Cocteau, Ghatak, Dreyer and others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renoir's Masterpiece, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Taki34 (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
They say at the time of its release in 1939 that Renoir himself once said "I wanted to depict a society dancing on a volcano".........When you watch this almost comedic pre-war gem you will see exactly what he means. It's a film to be lost in.. Soak up in the wit and cynical marvel of the characters..................Not to be missed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best foreign picture ever goes to......., 9 Mar 2007
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
I first viewed this film a few years ago now, then i was amazed and confused by it. i have seen it at least 10 times since and love every viewing. the plot is genius, renoir tackling the subject of different classes. though not dividing them but showing we are all the same, striving for something better and in this case love and lust. it is poigniant, hilarious, sad, dark, i could go on... personally i rate this as the second best film of all time (nothing betters citizan kane but it is the only film that is remotely close).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, true and touching, 13 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
I won't go on about it but I liked this film a lot. It is mostly a comedy about the social mores of the super rich, but it's a really well done piece of observation about different attitudes to adultery and love. I recommend it to anyone who likes well-made old films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Rules Of The Game" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK and EUROPEAN Buyers..., 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
At present this controversial 1939 French Black and White cult classic is only available on BLU RAY in the States. But therein lies a problem for UK and European buyers...

The US issue is REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK Blu Ray players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don't confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front - that won't help.

Until such time as someone like the BFI gives "The Rules Of The Game" a REGION B and C release - check your BLU RAY player has the capacity to play REGION A - before you buy the pricey Criterion issue...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best film in the french language, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
here goes. i first watched this christmas 2011. at that point in time i was getting back into french and wanted something new to watch. so a quick wikipedia search on french cinema 'claimed' this is among the best films ever made.

you would think that would be enough to buy a copy, but no - i rented it from my local library instead. i don't want to give the plot away but the there is an epic fight towards the end of the film involving the main characters - truly unmissable.

as regards language learning - on my 1st watch i only grasped maybe 20% of the french using the english subtitles which are 'old VHS style' meaning you can't remove them.

as of 2014 - i still find the french a little difficult (Just,Being,Honest).

BTW hopefully this review will balance out my other one on the most famous/notorious german film ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect film, 5 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the one film that everyone should see, and that everyone should see several times. It is the best film ever made by a very long way, in a different class to the American and British pretenders.
Ostensibly, it is a triangle of love triangles, but it goes so much further. It is dark, funny, moving, deep, complex and incisive. It is a film that is not only essential on DVD, but the only one that makes it essential to own a DVD player - just so you can watch this film over and over.
Yes, it is in French, but don't let that put you off. It could be the only subtitled film you ever see (although you would be missing out on many other fine films, of course). If this were the only film (foreign or otherwise) I were ever allowed to watch for the rest of my life, I would be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Film Ever Made, 2 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
I am delighted that at last this film is available on DVD. This is the finest film that has ever been made, streets ahead of any pretenders. If you only own one DVD, and I'm serious about this, it should be this one. In fact, I've read reviewers who recommend watching this film again every month as both therapy and education. I have seen it many times, and it just gets better and better. Yes, it is in French, but why should that stop you? It is also absolutely brilliant from start to finish in every department.
I don't want to try encapsulating the plot, because discovering it for the first time as it unwinds is something you will cherish. Then you will want to revisit it.
All I can say is that I hope the rest of Renoir's films are going to be coming out on DVD - they're not up there with this one, but they are all worth seeing. I think a lot of people will want to see more of them once they have watched this one.
What more do I need to say? It's better than the Godfather films, it's better than Star Wars, it's better than Casablanca or Pulp Fiction. If you have a DVD collection without it, then your collection is only second best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The class system under the microscope, 9 Jan 2002
This review is from: La Règle du Jeu [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Renoir's brilliant study of class warfare takes place during a shooting weekend. Protagonists from across the social (and gender) divide fight bitter and deadly battles as they seek to justify their positions and reinforce the jealousies that divide them.
Its wit, subtlety, incredible acting and sharp dialogue make it a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Renoir's Biting Satire, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
Jean Renoir's 1939 satire on the (French) class system is, for me, something of a mixed bag. It is a film which I consider to have been (certainly, historically at least) much overrated. Whilst it has a number of very good points, in my view it certainly does not deserve to have been featured highly (and repeatedly) in Sight and Sound's international critics poll of top ten films of all-time (#10 in 1952, #3 in 1962, #2 in 1972, 1982 and 1992, #3 in 2002) As a social satire, it ranks poorly alongside Bunuel's The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie, and, as a Renoir film, it is much inferior to his masterpiece, the war satire, La Grande Illusion.

That said, it is still a very good film, with numerous plus points. The overall premise of a large social gathering at the vast country house and estate at La Coliniere, mixing the upper class set of Robert Marquis de la Cheyniest (Marcel Dalio) and their social inferiors - the servants, butlers and gamekeeper - is ripe for satirical exploitation, and Renoir hits the mark repeatedly with a brilliant script. The director's principal target for his parody is (human) conformity, from sexual, social and class standpoints.

There are many great lines of dialogue here. Maid Lisette (Paulette Dubost) quips to her mistress Christine de la Cheyniest (Nora Gregor) in relation to the prospect of a platonic relationship 'Friendship with a man? That's like asking for moonlight at midday'. Then, on the shooting party expedition, one huntsman bemoans 'That's criminal. Like holding a gun badly. Incompetent'. Then, on his plan to run off with the Marquis' wife Christine, Andre Jurieux (Roland Tutain) states with resignation 'I can't just run off with the wife of my host, without some explanation'. And then, following his sacking of gamekeeper Schumacher (Gaston Modot) for running riot around the house in pursuit of newly enlisted servant Marceau (Julian Carette), who has been pursuing Schumacher's wife, Lisette, the Marquis admits 'Marceau, you must go too. It would be immoral of me to sack Schumacher and leave you with his wife'.

Performance-wise, there are outstanding turns from two Renoir regulars - Marcel Dalio as the Marquis and Julian Carette as an almost Groucho Marx-like (in terms of demeanour) Marceau. Also superb is French acting legend (and recently deceased) Paulette Dubost as Lisette, the unfaithful wife of gamekeeper Schumacher.

In summary then, an often overrated film, but still well worth seeing and, particularly for its time, an extremely sharp parody of class and sexual conformity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD]
La Règle du jeu [1939] [DVD] by Jean Renoir (DVD - 2003)
£8.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews