Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thumpingly good album
Out of all the Marilyn Manson albums, I personally think this is by far the best and recommend it highly.
I think this is mainly because I started getting into his music post "Holywood". It doesn't surprise me that many of the Marilyn Manson purists don't like this album. It is more mainstream than his other albums, with less of the bizarre and disturbing "sound...
Published on 30 Mar 2004 by Mr. S. Dennis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bland in the extreme
So i have lissened many times, gave it time and i felt compeled to write a review of this ultimatly dissapointing album. Though i liked holywood there was alot of filler on there which dented the overall impact of the good stuff so i was hopeing this would be his definative album. While not his worst it certaintly isn't his best. This album starts strong with this is...
Published on 17 May 2003 by P. Haves


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thumpingly good album, 30 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. S. Dennis "stevedee77" (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Out of all the Marilyn Manson albums, I personally think this is by far the best and recommend it highly.
I think this is mainly because I started getting into his music post "Holywood". It doesn't surprise me that many of the Marilyn Manson purists don't like this album. It is more mainstream than his other albums, with less of the bizarre and disturbing "sound effects" tracks that have featured in earlier offerings.
To be honest I think those tracks are rubbish and serve no purpose other than to have as background noise in a darkened room during a satanic ritual. For me, this album is more about thumping hard rock tracks that really do kick some serious ass, not about padding out an album with experimental nonsense.
If this is your first Marilyn Manson album, I would suggest you buy it. I think this is the most structured, well put together of all his albums musically speaking. I haven't listened to a new album so much for a long time, its a long term favourite in the car CD player.
If you like good, hard, angry rock music that you can play at ear-bleeding volumes, then you'll like this. It has thumping pounding beats, the occasional catchy guitar riffs and heavy basslines (Slutgarden, Para-noir, (s)AINT)) and plenty of good Marilyn Manson noise. The other great thing are the lyrics in so many of the songs, but this has always been something that Manson does well.
There really are a whole host of great tracks on this album, some will take a while to get into, others will immediately set you off. If you've heard one or two tracks you've liked, then you won't be disappointed with the rest that are on here.
My favourite tracks are The New Sh*t, mOBSCENE, (s)AINT, Slutgarden, Para-noir, The Bright Young Things, Better of Two Evils, Vodevil (must be played loud!).
Ok, so maybe I've been drugged with the commercialisation of his new stuff and don't hold the same view as the Marilyn Manson purists, but who cares? As a stand alone album this ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good album, 7 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Golden Age of the Grotesque (Audio CD)
This is a decent album, and although it's probably his second most mainsteam album to date alongside Mechanical Animals, it's also one of his best. His first album 'Portrait Of An American Family' had a couple of decent memorable tracks (the excellent Dope Hat, and Cake and Sodomy) but had a poor production, and the remix album that followed was also a rushed attempt (if you ignore the excellent Sweet Dreams and Rock n' Roll Nigger covers), but his albums since have been very good and worthy of all the praise that most music mags have given.
The worst tracks on GAOG? Definately 'Kaboom Kaboom' and 'Better Of Two Evils', rushed attempts at filling up the album perhaps, which struggle as they plods through each of their uninspiring 4 mins. The best however by far are 'Use Your Fist and Not Your Mouth','Slutgarden' , and 'Vodevil', possibly the best songs the band have written to date alongside Coma White, the Dope Show and the Beautiful People, with shout-out chorus's that'll rip everyone's head off at a fair pace. So to speak. (S)aint and Doll-Dagga-Buzz-Buzz Ziggety-Zagg have to be the most mainstream tracks on GAOG here, but that shouldn't mean that they couldn't be any good,(although Im sure those metal-kid disappointed after Mechanical Animals may disagree). What matters is the quality of the music in the first place, regardless of the type.
Although these tracks are complete rip-offs of certain mainstream 70-80's pop rock bands which I won't mention, Manson has never hidden where he lifts his ideas from, and is a true artist in the sense that he takes his inspiration in song writing from a wide variety of sources and combines them into forming his own mix -eg. the first lines of 'Lamb Of God'on the Hollywood album, and the guitar from 'Last Day on Earth' on Mechanical Animals, are obviously influenced/ripped directly from Radioheads 'Climbing Up the Walls' on OK Computer. I would recommend GAOG to anyone after a decent rock/industrial-esque album, sounding like the harsh b@strd son of Nick Cave, KMFDM, NIN and just about every 70's rock band out there. Give the album time, and you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age of Grotesque, 24 July 2004
By 
Matt Ison (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Right, I've had this album for over a year now and it's still amazing! I've given this album 5 stars, however I still don't think that it is as strong as Antichrist Superstar or Mechanical Animals, not lyrically anyway. Any listeners who listened to this and thought that Manson had sold out, just bear in mind that it has always been his intention to infect the mainstream and that's what has had so many American religious fanatics stressed. He has been succeeding for years and fighting back at their attempts to censor him. This album has some massively infectious pop choruses and beats, courtesy of Tim Skold, formerly of KMFDM. This is musical expression at its finest as the listener truly gets a sense that Manson is singing, not to prove a point, but simply because of his love of making music. If there is such a thing, this is Manson's feelgood album and one can only wonder where he's going to go from here. Album highlights include 'This is the New Sh*t', the bizarre 'The Golden Age of Grotesque', 'The Bright Young Things' and 'Vodevil'. This is an essential purchase for any hard rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *****, 27 Aug 2003
I dont know how you can all be dissopointed with it! This album is the first Manson album I got and got me into Manson more and now I have alot of his other albums. But GAOG is excellent - I recommend it to anyone who hasnt got a Manson album yet because its not as erm 'harsh' as the others then once you got into GAOG you will like his other albums - Wlel thats what happened to me anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grr!, 9 Sep 2003
By 
Lisa Garner "lissyloola" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Age of the Grotesque (Audio CD)
Dark, dirty and sexy. What an amazing album. Never heard any of his stuff before. Thought he was just for 14 yr old goth kids.(HE's NOT!) Saw him on Jonathan Ross and it was the best thing I'd seen on TV for years, had to buy the album the next day! Great to listen to ear-bleedingly loud, sing along to, dance around to, do anything to. Some great imagery in the packaging too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vodevil, 13 July 2003
This review is from: The Golden Age of the Grotesque (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. Right from the start, 'Thaeter' has very dark overtones before going into the first song proper, 'This Is The New Shit', this is a heavy album. Not in the death metal sense but heavy none the less. Unlike previous albums there are no acoustic tracks, but The 'Golden Age Of Grotesque' song, which Manson played live on acoustic guitar with the con-joined twins on keyboards at the album launch, is one of the best on the album. A lot of the songs are more head bangingly bouncy, 'Vodevil' and 'Doll-Dagga Buzz-Buzz Zigety-Zag' being particularly good. Manson says he wanted to make a more traditional rock n' roll album and while this disc is less conceptual (for manson) than previous works, it is still a masterpiece. On the DVD is a short film by Marilyn Manson. The dark sounds of the opening part of the album, 'Thaeter', is played on a constant loop while Manson recites some of his poetry over the top. It is a very dark and hypnotic piece of film. It compliments the album perfectly and has the con-joined twins in it. Burlesque, vodevil and caberet are all words Manson uses to describe his inspiration for this album. 30's Berlin and the caberet scene. Well, it may not be as good as the Antichrist Superstar trilogy, but it is head and shoulders above most things realesed today. A lot of the press just don't understand what Marilyn Manson is all about, he sell's most of his records without any airplay, and he sell's more albums than many teenie, manufactured chart crap bands could ever dream of. Open your mind and experiance this genius of our time. You will never look back. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bland in the extreme, 17 May 2003
By 
So i have lissened many times, gave it time and i felt compeled to write a review of this ultimatly dissapointing album. Though i liked holywood there was alot of filler on there which dented the overall impact of the good stuff so i was hopeing this would be his definative album. While not his worst it certaintly isn't his best. This album starts strong with this is the new s**t, mOBSCENE, Use Your Fist And Not Your Mouth & The Golden Age Of Grotesque. But after that be prepaired for a slow ride downhill. The lyrics on ALOT of the songs are laughable and no better than a childs. The music is what we have all now come to expect, a cross of the glam excess of mechanical animals with the industril beats of antichrist superstar. about half way through the album he seems to fall into the trap of trying to hard and ultimatly putting out songs that have little punch and no real sentiment. while there not bad i doubt you'll be singing along with the latter songs anytime soon.
the 2 bonous tracks that they seem to tack onto all cds now a days should have been on a second cd as it ruins the overall sound of the album.
While there is a loose concept for the album its more in terms of sound and style than lyricly. Which works well but unfortuanly without a wealth of strong material, poor lyrics and high filler content it just becomes a average album.
Unfortunatly were still gonna have to wait for mansons definatuve album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The boy comes of age......grotesque, 15 April 2003
By 
T. Carnell "Which Film?" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So just how quickly do we expect an artist of this calibre to turn out albums of this quality.? Well if only Guns n Roses or rather axel's new motley crue, could manage this then they would surely go global again. (admittly there fame will now always preceed them). Unfortunately, Manson is a charlatan of infamy and is now perhaps irretrievably too infamous for his own good. However, this is quite astonishingly a compilation of tracks with 'singles' written all over them, pardon the cliche. So much so that each and everyone would not be amiss (dare I say) on commercial radio minus the off profanity.
This album does not have the grandeur, diversity and perhaps longlife of mechanical creature to its name, and is no where near as dark as Antichrist, or Holywood. Though one thing is for sure, with its subliminal rythmn guitar, (stradlin-esque) this will hold every track firmly in the mind for a long long time to come yet.....which is just aswell as the lyrics you could probably pen yourself.
Still nothing much about today compares with the production on offer here (just like disposable teens and the death song), sounds fantastic, buy it, and if you dont own a manson album, then this is the most accessible to date...HENCE THE TITLE OF THIS REVIEW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true account of the album, 10 Aug 2003
By 
Jon (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Age of the Grotesque (Audio CD)
Before listening to this album,i already had a picture of Marilyn Manson in my mind- I thought he was a nutter. The make-up and clothes scare people from his music and the whole anti-christ thing wont help.
However, after listening to this album i came to believe that he is an intelligent man who puts passion and opinions into his music. He doesnt care what people think, which makes his music his own and pure. I also listened to his lyrics which are powerful and catchy. I love this album. Im not a huge mosh fan, but this album is far from average. I recommend you give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the art of egoism, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Golden Age of the Grotesque (Audio CD)
it's like the mechanical animal,you get bored of it the second time you listen to it.but it gives you the regular manson signatures ,great photos,great make up and catchy rock songs.
this time around it's techno,or light industrialmetal,like a pissed off depech mode,blame it on the new member,twiggy's replacement,tim skold ,from kmfdm fame.the metal sound is still there,but skold's stuff turned me off.it's still enjoyable,like his animals .less attacks on christianty this time around.
the industrialmetal songs can be found in this is the new shit,mobscene and use your fist and not your mouth.
the skold songs in theater,the golden age of grotseque,obsquey(the death of art)and the bonus baboon rape party.
the bonus dvd (doppelherz) a film by marilyn manson.shows us manson make up tips and an encounter with a female siamese twin,that's two models wearing a siamese twin outfit, with artificial pubic hair,a monson art thing.the band members are in it too,but manson is the focus.no dialogue,just manson's voice off screen, talking about himself ,god ,himself,me,himself,i and himself.it's an art thing.
and that's marilyn manson for ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Age of the Grotesque
The Golden Age of the Grotesque by Marilyn Manson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews