Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thumpingly good album
Out of all the Marilyn Manson albums, I personally think this is by far the best and recommend it highly.
I think this is mainly because I started getting into his music post "Holywood". It doesn't surprise me that many of the Marilyn Manson purists don't like this album. It is more mainstream than his other albums, with less of the bizarre and disturbing "sound...
Published on 30 Mar 2004 by Mr. S. Dennis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bland in the extreme
So i have lissened many times, gave it time and i felt compeled to write a review of this ultimatly dissapointing album. Though i liked holywood there was alot of filler on there which dented the overall impact of the good stuff so i was hopeing this would be his definative album. While not his worst it certaintly isn't his best. This album starts strong with this is...
Published on 17 May 2003 by P. Haves


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A departure from Holywood?, 13 May 2003
By A Customer
AntiChrist superstar, although fantastic in its hard hitting music, was a little weak in lyrics (although does make a few unsubtle points about idolism of superstars in modern society...). Mechanical Animals rectified this with brilliant and intelligent lyrics addressing many issues of our society's obsession with appearance, money, stars, drugs, fun, sex..., but had a dramatically different musical style (although also brilliant, and perfectly complementing to the lyrics). Holywood seemed to combine the music quality with lyric quality, whilst adressing issues relating to religion, government, morality, and the use of violence.
Golden Age of Grotesque follows suite very nicely from Holywood, dealing with again the issues of morality, violence and selfimage / appearance. However, the lyrics are perhaps more varied, sometimes subtle, other times hard-hitting. It is certainly outwardly less dark than Holywood, but perhaps the issues hit a little closer to home on an individual level - you can relate to the thoughts, and certainly will have at least encountered friends or aquaintances who behave in these ways - showing in stark relief the disfunction of current society at the individual level. So, maybe more disturbing when you stop to think about it... maybe darker in another way than Holywood.
Highly recomended CD. Good background listening, but, more so excellent thought provoking music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age Of Grotesque, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age of Grotesque (Audio CD)
I'm not a Marilyn Manson fan so I'm not going to try and review this album. It's okay. That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow - just simple wow, 20 July 2004
By 
Mr. C. J. Bunyan "jak_amneziak" (Luton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Age of Grotesque (Audio CD)
ladies and gentlemen can i have your attention please. This album deserves respect. it is as we call it the muttz nuttz. The irst few tracks grip you like a grape in a vice. after that the momentum still keeps hitting you. the bonus material of baboon rape party and taintd love just add a new dimension.
FAVE TRACK: tough one. i would say use your fist and not your mouth but you could have picked any from mobscene, dulld agga buzz buzz ziggety zag and tainted love
WORST TRACK: para-noir i think. the only one i would struggle with
easily his best album and all the more for it. give it up for the maniac of metal sir mariyln manson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 30 April 2003
After waiting so long for this release, it does not come up to the standard i would expect from Manson, especially after releasing the brilliant "Holywood".
This album seems to be his happiest album yet - with no real statements made about religion, government, death or drugs - unlike Holywood which was loaded with lyrics that made you think.
However, there are a few great tracks on it- This is the New ****, mOBSCENE, Use Your Fist and Not Your Mouth, s(AINT), The Bright Young things. Some of these, (and some others not mentioned), are spoilt by daft lyrics.
It is definitely worth buying however -if not for the music, then for the excellent artwork and bonus disc.
"i woke up today and wished for tomorow, i dont want to be like anyone else" - Marilyn Manson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hrm...., 3 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Golden Age of Grotesque (Audio CD)
this is not one of mansons best but if you are a fan its a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its all about the money, 13 Sep 2003
By 
max (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Age of Grotesque (Audio CD)
My mom once said to me that Marilyn manson is someone who is really p****d. No chance he is just money grabbing his earlier stuff is good such as fightsong and beautiful people but this is terrible. I do not own the album but i have heard the 2 singles mobscene and they are terrible and the singles are supposed to be the best songs. If someone is really p****d they will have something to say not sing about. The lyrics are terrible and mobscene dont get me started he goes and makes up a word and sings about it. All Marilyn Manson is doing is laughing at everybody who buys this album its all about money now for him. If you really want an album with some power and meaning buy Rage against the machine or better yet any Alice in chains album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Age of Grotesque
The Golden Age of Grotesque by Marilyn Manson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews