Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I keep listening to it, again and again...
Brilliant and hugely addictive! Cerys's sympathetic yearning in 'All My Trials' is complemented by the harmonic base line (listen with DBB) and the outlandish upbeat swing of 'The Good in Goodbye' is an adventurous, exciting contrast. The lyrics are sometimes critical of society ('Weightless Again', 'Only a Fool')and sometimes cheerfully elevate it ('Caught in the...
Published on 29 Nov. 2003 by dazzlermary

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb album marred by copy protection
I've been listening to Cockahoop for quite some time now on Spotify, but had been put off from buying the physical CD by reports of copy protection. I then spotted the Philip's 'Compact Digital Audio Disc' logo on the back, which is supposed to only be for 'Red Book' compliant (music CDs to you and me). However, in spite of this the disc does contain copy protection in...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by David P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I keep listening to it, again and again..., 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
Brilliant and hugely addictive! Cerys's sympathetic yearning in 'All My Trials' is complemented by the harmonic base line (listen with DBB) and the outlandish upbeat swing of 'The Good in Goodbye' is an adventurous, exciting contrast. The lyrics are sometimes critical of society ('Weightless Again', 'Only a Fool')and sometimes cheerfully elevate it ('Caught in the Middle', 'Louisiana'). 'Arglwydd Dyma Fi' introduces gentle romanticism. The instruments used are varied - played by SKILLED musicians- and I particularly like the harmonius rumble of the bass clarinet. Cerys Matthews' unique voice animates the album and it was made to cheer the listener - an eclectic mix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A relaxed and happy Cerys with an album to brighten your day, 4 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
This album finally sees Cerys taking things at a gentler pace and enjoying making music for the sake of it. The feel is more Country than Catatonia, but the mix of tracks still allows Cerys to explore the full range of her vocal capabilities, from the light vocals of Only a Fool and Arglwyd Dyma Fi to the full-on blast of La Bague and If You're Looking for Love. Cerys has chosen her musicians well; the musical accompaniment is rich and full. I've had every one of the tracks stuck on my brain in succession over the past week, with Louisiana being particularly catchy. The closing track, All My Trials, must be the most beautiful performance of this particular song that I've ever heard. All in all, the perfect feelgood album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cerys finds her way, 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
If you are a tunnel-visioned Catatonia fan you probably won't like this album. Overall I think it is good and at times, really good. Hopefully Cerys will continue to mine even richer musical veins rather than returning to the sometimes excellent but often restrictive Catatonia formula. It you like it then have a listen to some of the other exceedingly talented alt.country/folk type musos out there: Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlins, The Be Good Tanyas, Erin McKeown and of course The Handsomes. It is a pity that our radio stations don't play more of this stuff instead of tedious manufactured pap (sorry pop) and mediocre pseudo R&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
Cerys Matthews always had a certain something; her distinctive voice defined Catatonia and helped power them to a number of hits. However, she has calmed down somewhat since then, and this, her debut solo album, shows a whole new change of direction. Folksy, featuring gentle melodies, a varied range of instruments and a simple, genuine feel makes Cock-a-hoop wonderfully easy listening, topped off by Cerys' brilliant delivery. Listening to the album leaves you in no doubt that Cerys is a lot happier than she used to be, she sounds like she is finally enjoying herself, and this is one of the reasons that this album is so good to listen to - there is such a happy vibe.
Fans of Catatonia's big chart successes should be warned that Cock-a-hoop is a completely different sound. Do not be lead astray - the first single 'Only a Fool' is easily the most chart-orientated song. Indeed, there are a number of traditional songs, which will not be to everyones tastes. If the idea of banjos puts you off, then this album probably isn't for you. However, for everyone else, 'Arglwydd Dyma Fi' in particular is tremendous reworking of an old Methodist Hymn, beautifully sung with a delightful accompaniment.
There are a number of tracks that appeal, at least at first, more than the others, but overall the album is a strong one, and will definitely grow on the listener with every listening.
A couple of slightly weaker tracks, and possibly the lack of real standout song prevent the album from being required listening, but for Cerys fans and for those after something different to all the seemingly endless bland pop music look no further. A very pleasing first effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year!, 13 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
Cockahoop is definetley the album of 2003. On the first few listens, especially if you're a Catatonia fan, it will confuse you, but it will grow and grow on you. Cerys' has been very brave in making an album that goes against the trends of the moment, and thats what makes this album very cool, because its different. I have had friends sing along to this who can't stand country music! The album has a certain americana vibe owed mainly to the impressive line up of musicians who play on Cockahoop. Chardonnay, Louisiana, The Good in Goodbye and All my Trials have to be the standout tracks for me, buy this album and you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, nice album, 19 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
Does anyone remember Cerys Matthews? As an avid fan of Catatonia I sure do, but this album is so very un-catatonia that at least a few hardcore fans will be dissapointed.
Although I don't like to say it, I think Cerys was stifled by Catatonia. This album is one by a person happy and living their life and free to express themselves, and therein lies the beauty.
All I can say is it's very good and you should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 15 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best I have heard - it's insightful lyrics and Bluegrass sounds combine to make a superbly poetic mix. It also has a mesmerising effect on my 5 week old son - calming him down when he gets agitated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 15 Jun. 2003
By 
Disco "Stu" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
Personally after the split of Catatonia I thought we'd never hear from Cerys again. I hoped we would though, and this is why. It's a great album. Note that the first reviewer has not reviewed the version that was released, which has 13 rather than 11 tracks. Anyhoo, the album is like a gentle stroll though a vibrant garden, if you can imagine it. My favourite is The Good In Goodbye, but it is really close. Other favourites are Caught In The Middle, Only A Fool, Ocean and Chardonnay. There is a real mix of original and covers, full on banjo'd country and classy pop on this album, but the outstanding quality shines through all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cockahoop - a sublime change of direction for Cerys Matthews, 2 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
I bought this alubum as a huge fan of Catatonia. Other than the angelic voice of Cerys Matthews there is no similarity, and Catatonia fans may not automatically warm to the Welsh singer's new change of direction. Yet this blend of Country and folk style songs has firmly cemented itself in my cd player. My addiction to this album has startled even me. Each individual song works with the next to create such a harmonious album. This truly is a gem. The only criticism I have is that it is all over a little too quickly. Otherwise Cockahoop is an aswesone album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sooth Your Roadrage !, 19 May 2003
By 
M. FAVER "mickfaver" (Leicestoh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cockahoop (Audio CD)
Catatonia - great singles ban, ok albums band. Cerys on her own ? Well, if this is anything to go buy absolutely bloody brilliant.
From the opening romp that is Chardonnay, through the marvellous Caught in The Middle and the pogue esque Labague this album oozes class. Cerys sounds the best I've ever heard her sound. Shes folky / alt country / bluegrass and superb. Love it. Buy it. Even if it only awakens you to the joy of The Handsome Family - cover of Weightless Again included here. Top track, top cover. Way to go Cerys !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cockahoop
Cockahoop by Cerys Matthews (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews