Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing change from the bland films of today
This film is based on the original He Man cartoon and as cheesy as it is, it feels like you're part of an adventurous comic book story. What is refreshing is the lack of CGI and complete seriousness modern films now have. I saw this film as a child and it always makes me feel nostalgic. The acting in this film isn't brilliant apart from Frank Langella as Skeletor who in...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by MCF Master

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corny...but fun!
This was one of the films dolph lundgren made after rocky 4 made him a household name.It's a silly film but he-man is something I grew up with so I have a bit of a soft spot for it.It gets somethings wrong like not showing he-man as a normal prince before transforming into he-man.At long last masters of the universe is making it onto dvd,which it truly deserves to be.Now...
Published on 30 May 2003 by Mr. J. W. Mc Evoy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing change from the bland films of today, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This film is based on the original He Man cartoon and as cheesy as it is, it feels like you're part of an adventurous comic book story. What is refreshing is the lack of CGI and complete seriousness modern films now have. I saw this film as a child and it always makes me feel nostalgic. The acting in this film isn't brilliant apart from Frank Langella as Skeletor who in my opinion does a geat job, and I guess I can't really fault Courtney Cox, Robert McNeil, or James Tolkan because if it were to really happen chances are that's how a suspicious cop, and 2 confused teenagers would probably act. Even so it's just meant to be a fun action film and the acting really doesn't ruin the film. If you have never seen the cartoon series of He Man it doesn't really matter as you'll still understand the plot and story anyway.

So if you're bored of looking at CGI and bland films like Terminator 4, and you're looking for a fun retro fantasy/action film give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect, boxing day movie!, 24 July 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Gary Goddard's take on the classic He Man cartoon series is a cult classic, which kids, teens and younder adults will really enjoy... It would make an ideal Bank Holiday tea-time movie!

'Masters' finds HeMan and friends diving into our world and time, pursued by the evil Skeletor and his dark amy.

The brilliant cast include a young courtney cox, and the guy who played school-principal Mr. Strickland, in Back to the future.

Skeletor for me, stole the show - the make up is fantastic and it's actually very believable!

This movie rocks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of Masters of the Universe, 10 April 2000
He-man's one and only outing in the film industry features Dolph Lundgren as the butch hero and later star of friends, Courtney Cox as his heroin. The film is surprisingly classy in parts and isn't at all 'cheezy' or tacky in any way. The plot is well structured and keeps you glued to the screen throughout, as well as delivering a good balence of action,adventure, romance and humour. I would reccomend this film to fans of He-man the cartoon, although it doesn't warrent its PG certificate as some of the scenes are quite graphic. The acting is genreally sound and this film stands out as one of the better aspects of the He-man franchise. All in all a very good film that is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters of the Universe [25th Anniversary] [1987] [Blu-ray] [US Import], 16 July 2014
Masters of the Universe [25th Anniversary] [1987] [Blu-ray] [US Import] ONLY THE UNIVERSE COULD HOLD ADVENTURE THIS BIG!

Planet Eternia and the Castle of Greyskull are under threat from the evil Skeletor who wants to take over the planet. A group of freedom fighters, led by the heroic He-Man are accidentally transported to Earth by a mysterious Cosmic Key which holds the power to make Skeletor all-powerful. Once on Earth, He-Man joins alliances with two teenagers as they attempt to find the key and return home.

Cast: Dolph Lundgren, Frank Langella, Meg Foster, Chelsea Field, Jon Cypher, Billy Barty, Courteney Cox, Robert Duncan McNeill, James Tolkan, Christina Pickles, Anthony De Longis, Tony Carroll, Pons Maar, Robert Towers and Peter Brooks [Narrator]

Director: Gary Goddard

Producers: Edward R. Pressman, Menahem Golan and Yoram Globus

Screenwriter: David Odell

Composer: Bill Conti

Cinematography: Hanania Baer

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: English SDH, French and Spanish

Running Time: 105 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Warner Home Video

Andrew’s Blu-ray review – It's no coincidence that Dolph Lundgren took on the role of a franchise action hero character like He-Man directly after he starred in 'Rocky IV' with Sylvester Stallone. His enormous physique and menacing demeanour were truly awe-inspiring. Stallone was ripped, but Lundgren towered over him in that movie featuring a body with muscles in places I didn't think muscles could be found. It's natural that Hollywood thought Lundgren might end up being the town's new action star.

'Masters of the Universe' came out in theatres in 1987, at the height of He-Man's popularity. The cartoon and toys were extremely popular, and a movie seemed like a logical next step for the franchise. Lundgren fit He-Man's impossible body structure and mirrored his Scandinavian appearance. It was a perfect fit. It's too bad that Gary Goddard's movie turned into a cheesy B-movie right from the outset and became more of a laugh-at-it-with-a-bunch-of-friends cult movie than a respected fantasy action movie.

To Gary Goddard's credit, he creates a fairly kid-friendly universe in which He-Man and Skeletor [Frank Langella] appear as giant action figures duelling for the universe's ultimate power. The whole movie feels like something imagined by a child in the 80s as he plays with his He-Man toys in his room. The problem with this approach is that the movie never has any real sense of dread. It's a live-action cartoon and plays out as such.

He-Man lives on a planet called Eternia where Skeletor's forces of evil-doers are plotting to take control. They've already entombed the planet's sorceress in an impenetrable force field and are now seeking to harness the power of Grayskull in order to rule the universe. Because when you're big, evil and look like a giant skeleton, why wouldn't you want to rule the universe? He-Man battles back against Skeletor with the help of his ragamuffin group of renegades which includes an ugly little dwarf named Gwildor, a headstrong soldier (Jon Cypher) and the soldier's even more headstrong daughter (Chelsea Field). Skeletor has legions of Storm trooper looking troops and He-Man has these three allies. He's grossly outnumbered, but when you're sporting what I assume is a sixteen-pack (Lundgren is insanely ripped in this movie) then maybe numbers don't matter much.

The battle soon finds its way to Earth as He-Man and his crew are accidentally transported there. On Earth they meet a young teenage couple. Julie [Courtney Cox] and Kevin [Robert Duncan McNeill] soon become embroiled in the scuffle for universal power, as the movie checks another cliché off its growing list. Looking back on 'Masters of the Universe' it's glaringly obvious that it's a product of the 80s. The only way it could've been any more 80s is if there was a slap wrap included in the purchase of this Blu-ray. This isn't a bad thing per se, but it's almost too hard to get over the movie's era-related corniness. Especially the key that opens interstellar doorways by playing synthesized musical notes.

Personally, I find it fun to watch 'Masters of the Universe' having a good laugh all way throughout the film, as it is very tongue in cheek humour. Lundgren's acting flat lines, giving us a glimpse of what his future starring roles would be like. He was great in 'Rocky IV' because he simply had to stand there and look menacing as hell. Here, not so much. Most of the time it feels like Goddard is directly off screen telling him exactly what facial expressions to make ("Okay, now you're happy, so smile!" "Now He-Man is angry. Grimace!"). Frank Langella is great as Skeletor though. Buried underneath that dated make-up, Frank Langella provides a perfectly threatening voice for the villainous action figure that he is. The story is a hodge-podge of sci-fi/fantasy ideas and never feels like it really nails down who He-Man really is. However, it's a nostalgia thing, right? If you grew up loving He-Man and therefore loving 'Masters of the Universe' then you'll most likely be chomping at the bit to own this on Blu-ray. It's one of those movies that people remember fondly even though the corniness factor is off the charts.

Blu-ray Video Quality – As with most lower-tier catalogue titles from the 80s, 'Masters of the Universe' definitely shows its age. It's predominately soft in the mid- and long-range shots. It has some errant noise here and there. The colours seem a tad faded. Fans need not fear though. Even though the Blu-ray has some issues that should've been expected given its age, the movie has never looked better.

I was actually very pleased with the amount of detail provided in the movie's many close-ups. I don't remember the DVD of the movie offering nearly as much visible facial hair, pores, freckles, and intricate smile lines. Sure the added detail betrays the make-up that was used on Langella's face more than once, but overall the effect is accurate detail when the camera closes in. When the camera pans back is when the picture gets expectedly hazy. Hair becomes less detailed and clumpier. Skin tones appear a little washed out. Whites become fuzzy and bleed past their edges as softness takes its toll. Edges aren't nearly as crisply defined as they are in close-ups. Blacks seem deep enough, but nothing that should really detract from viewing. It isn't a flawless presentation by any means; however it's definitely worth the visual upgrade if you are a fan of this film.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – A new sound mix hasn't been provided here. This time around it has a stereo presentation. We get a 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio track this time around. I must admit that as a fan I was hoping for a surround sound remix for this movie. The stereo does produce quite a bit more resonance than its DVD counterpart. For one thing LFE in the mix seems to be quite a bit clearer. Explosions and laser blasts have a bit more heft than they did with the DVD's sound mix. Dialogue still sounds tinny though, along with the musical soundtrack. That's really all I can say about the audio here. Dialogue is clear and that's about it. It's a mix that will get you through the movie, but if you were hoping for Warner to do a little more with this release you'll probably end up disappointed.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Commentary with Director Gary Goddard: Goddard is an energetic commentator, but it had been almost fifteen years since he'd directed the film, and he hadn't directed another one since. (He moved from film directing into producing and directing major theme park attractions such as Jurassic Park: The Ride and Six Flags' Monster Mansion, though his company, Landmark Productions.) Re-watching the film is like revisiting an old scrapbook for him, and Goddard shares many memories from the shoot, but one can sense the distance and the shift in perspective that comes with a career change. Many of Goddard's items have been excerpted and listed in the film's "trivia" section at IMDb.

Theatrical Trailer [1:42] The narration is almost laughably solemn.

Finally, 'Masters of the Universe' what else is there to say, as it's a perfect example of just how corny many 1980s sci-fi movies were. Not only that, but we're able to witness Dolph Lundgren's movie career in a flawless microcosm, which fits the character perfectly. It starts out with a whole lot of promise and then slowly fizzles away into appreciative cult obscurity. 'Masters of the Universe' is fun to remember. It isn't a popcorn sort of film by any means, nevertheless nostalgic attachment is reason enough to enjoy and I can highly recommend it.

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic of the universe, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Joseph W Doyle (Ashford (Ireland)) - See all my reviews
Masters of the universe is a classic film and anyone who is a child of the 80's will remember the cartoon this film is based on. This film shows 2 up and coming stars of now such as robert duncan mc neill for star trek voyager and courteny cok from friends fame. The film covers action and comedy and some great moments to remember. I would give this film 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i have the power, 26 May 2013
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
A movie that on its release was dragged through the critical mud, but has the years have gone by it has been transformed into a cult classic. Based 100% on the he-man cartoon it surrounds skeletors invasion of greyskull and subsequent quest for untold power, With only he=man played by dolph lungren to save the day and a band of humans. The movie is great fun with lots of cheesey lines and a debut performance from courtney cox,
The movie is family friendly and very 80s, skeletor is the real star of the show and makes the movie
dont expect the best movie ever but enjoy it for what it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SciFi, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Ahriman (Heiligenhaus, Nrw) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Masters of the universe is one of the most inspiring films of my youth and it's the reason why I get started to become a real SciFi-freak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its only a little fun....., 4 May 2003
This review is from: Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Lets get one thing straight, Masters of the Universe doesnt have a strong link with the cartoon series that preceeded it. He-Man, Skeletor and another couple of the cast are characters from the cartoon but there are also large amounts that did not feature.
The plot is centered around a young female and her boyfriend who stumble upon the Cosmic key by accident. The key is needed by He-Man to save the sorceress and by Skeletor to gain super strength and leads to all kinds of crazy scenarios, at first on Earth and then on Eternia.
The cast could be stronger and features Courtney Cox and Dolph Lungdren as well as one of the crew from Star Trek Voyager (wow he gets around!). As with any Lungren film, the plot isnt too clever, the acting worse but the action is fun. Plenty of battles and destruction make it an easy film to watch without much thought necessary. A happy ending, a catchy tune, plenty of action, some genuine moments of amusement (particularly the whole Japanese synthesizer garb and police detective Lubik) and a happy ending make the film worth watching on more than one occasion, whether a fan of the cartoon series or not.
In an interesting side note, the actress who plays Monica's ( Courtney Cox) mother in friends also appears in the film as the sorceress. A script for a sequel was made but duo to the falling popularity of the cartoon it was adapted and becamse Cyborg starring Jean Claude Van Damme!
A note to all who rememeber this film or are yet to discover it - Dow-ne-now-ne-now-now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have the power!, 2 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A camptastic cheesy 80's scifi classic, this film based on the Masters Of The Universe toys sees He Man and friends come to Earth after their home planet Eternia is taken over by Skeletor who follows them wanting a cosmic key. Not to be taken seriously in any way though of course back in 1987 it was taken seriously by critics who slated the film which flopped but has become a cult classic since the film stars a young Dolph Lundgren as He Man with Frank Langella as Skeletor both hamming it up and a very young Courtney Cox years before Friends and Scream also stars as an Earth teenager that befriends He Man and his group of freedom fighters while her boyfriend Robert Duncan Mcneil would later go on to star in Star Trek Voyager and the film also includes James Tolkan from Back To The Future and Top Gun as a cop. Dated effects but a lot of fun to watch. Think of it as a kind of if Star Wars came to Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moo?, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
As someone who grew up watching He-Man as a child and loved every minute of the series and loved the live action film, imagine my joy when I find my old copy of Masters of the Universe in the back of one of my drawers, along with a stash of other old video tapes that, like MoTU, have been watched to near death.
Now imagine my utter dismay when I find out that my video player is too old and decrepit to do anything except to be used as a massive black paper weight.
That dismay lasted until I realised I have an internet connection, a bit of spare money and an amazon account. I immediately looked the film up and was over joyed when I found it as a region 2 DVD with plenty of excellent ratings. I loved this film so much as a little girl; the characters, the actors (I still giggle childishly when I watch Star Trek Voyager and I really don't know why...), the story and Gwildor's attempt at communicating with the 'locals'. Skeletor still gives me the creeps, and I still retain my crush on Evil Lynn. The practical effects are fantastic and, on a creative level, inspiring.
And considering the age of the film, it's been ported to DVD very well. The graphics are still as crisp as I remember, there's no wear in the footage and the DVD itself runs nice and smooth on my PS3. The DVD turned up very quickly (a day or two earlier than anticipated), so it gave me the perfect opportunity to have a retro movie marathon that night.
It was a good night.
If you haven't seen this film and you just want some good old fashioned 80s cheese and you like fantasy, scifi and comic book stuff (I've always found the balance between tech and magic in the MoTU universe to be fairly well balanced), then I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987]
Masters Of The Universe [DVD] [1987] by Gary Goddard (DVD - 2003)
£12.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews