Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting drama on friendship and betrayal
State of Grace is filmaking at its finest- a beautiful modern drama with superb performances.
The protagonist, Sean Penn as Terry Noonan, is looking to face his past in Hell's Kitchen and do his duty as an undercover police officer-only to find out that he will have to harm people he grew up with and love him.He soon meets and bonds with his best friend, Jackie...
Published on 31 July 2003 by Sofia Ikonomou

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent movie - worth a watch
This is a decent movie, good story line, Ed Harris, not sure he was the right selection to be boss but Sean Penn great stuff as usual and Gary Oldman puts in a quality performance, top English actor! It's worth a watch if you like gangster movies, a good addition to a gangster movie collection at a great price too if you get it for under a fiver!
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by Dtizda1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting drama on friendship and betrayal, 31 July 2003
By 
Sofia Ikonomou (Rhodes, Dodecanese Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
State of Grace is filmaking at its finest- a beautiful modern drama with superb performances.
The protagonist, Sean Penn as Terry Noonan, is looking to face his past in Hell's Kitchen and do his duty as an undercover police officer-only to find out that he will have to harm people he grew up with and love him.He soon meets and bonds with his best friend, Jackie Flannery (one of Gary Oldman's most beautiful performances-and his personal favourite), who is working for his brother Frank (Ed Harris),the boss of the Irish mafia, and his Jackie's sister Kathleen who was his first love. Soon, he will discover that it he cannot easily turn on his own people, especially not Jackie who, despite his drinking and his violent, borderline paranoid character, sees him as a friend and trusts him immediately.
Director Phil Joanou has created a beautiful film that relies on a good, heart-felt story, and excellent acting from all the protagonists. The absolute highlight of this movie is Gary Oldman, whose presence lights up every scene he is in. As Jackie Flannery he is constantly drunk and in need of a shower, yet incredibly human and looking for affection and the approval of his older brother.
I loved the film when I first saw it, and was just as impressed now that I got to see it again on DVD.It feels real and honest.The only drawback of this edition is its Spartan menu,featuring only a trailer but that may have to do with the film being made back in 1990... Appart from that it is an absolute must for movie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked classic of it's kind, 10 Mar 2004
By 
tom (Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
First saw this film on long term absense from work years ago. I'd just about seen every film in my local video store and what attracted me was the cast and the fact it was a gangster film. Say no more. I was tempted and took a chance - what a choice!
It'a fair to say that the themes of this film are set in stone yet what the last reviewer fails to say is how thrilling the plot is. I was hooked. If you can accept that films about street level hoods and mob based crime have long been the norm since the Godfather then you can focus on the plot details rather than pointing out the cliches.
I will say no more about the plot than it follows Terry Noonan (Sean Penn) returning to his old neighboorhood wher he hooks up with his old pal Jackie Flannery (Gary Oldman) and becomes involved with Jackie's bro Frankie's (Ed Harris) mob who rule over Hell's Kitchen.
It is a brutally violent film yet no matter how repulsive the actions of each character become (watch Gary Oldman wipe out a couple of drinking hoods with no remorse if you know what I mean) you find yourself rooting for them.
The central trio of actors are as good as they've ever been and are supported by a collection of underratedactors - John C Reilly, John Turturro to name a few. Gary Oldman and Sean Penn are the two that bind the film together yet it is Ed Harris that holds the attention, he is repulsive yet vunerable in his scenes with his boss leading the viewer to empathise with his crucial decision.
I have recommended this film to many friends who would never have seen it otherwise and they all agree that it kicks arse! If you are a fan of filma such as Mean Streets, Donnie Brasco, King Of New York and (of course) Goodfellas then give this one a try as I feel it is truly underrated and deserves to sit alongside those afore mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gangster flick, 7 Jun 2010
By 
Alexander Mcque (Perth, WA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This film has to be the best kept cinematic secret ever. When you look at the cast I dont know how it slipped under the radar, gritty hells kitchen crime film. Must see !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Gangster Film Ever Made, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This film catches absolutey brilliant performances by 6 very talanted actors. The theme is real. Read a book called The Westies by T.J. English and you will see how close this film is to real life. the moods, the scenes, the dialogue and the story all work up to a true masterpeice. This is an undiscovered treasure and If Phil only made one brilliant work then this is it. It happens to many artists. Nevertheless this film is fantastic work or art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Australian blu ray, 2 Jan 2014
Although there is much to admire in this solid gangster flick the movie is laboured with the romance between Penn and Wright - the ending is a bit handbags at dawn but State of Grace is graced by a standout performance by Gary Oldman at the peak of his acting power. A strong supporting cast also carry a somewhat bland performance from Penn.

The blu ray offers a decent upgrade over the old MGM dvd. Colour balance is good with significant additional clarity and detail in the image. The audio unfortunately is not lossless, indeed is presented only as Dolby digital 2.0 but I was very surprised by how well the sound holds up - probably helped by a dialogue driven movie -

The Australian blu ray has been on the market for a while and with no domestic release in sight this disc presents the best quality offering of an under appreciated movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oldman at his best, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State of Grace (Blu Ray) (Blu-ray)
this has been one of my top five movies since I saw it years ago however this rating is for the movie itself and not the blu ray transfer as I have not yet received the blu ray yet after two weeks.
However the movie itself purchase it its a no brainer a movie with heavyweights such as Sean Penn,Ed Harris,Robin Wright who all deliver great performances but the show belongs to one man the chameleon Gary Oldman, I still believe it is his best performance yet. To walk the line of playing a guy who is a bit of a phsyco yet at the same time you could understand why Sean Penns character was best friends with him which is so important when things happen late in the film.

I will just finish by saying If you have not seen this film then this will be some of the best money you have ever spent on a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant...., 14 April 2014
By 
Jayne H (West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Without going deeply into the plot of the film (who needs spoilers....I certainly don't, but some reviewers feel the need to post them - why?!), it's a great movie; well-developed characters, pacy, absorbing plotline & some great acting. If you're a fan of the very brilliant Mr Oldman, definitely a must-see! Loved it, will definitely watch again, so well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first rate, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
State Of Grace is for me one of the best,( if little known) gangster films I have seen. The stand out for me amongst a brilliant cast, is the performance of Gary Oldhman. Just masterful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty New york setting., 9 Oct 2013
By 
Mandeep Hara "mj fan" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant performances from all actors definitely worth a watch!. Never been to new York, hell's kitchen but always wanted to see the old New York which you just about get to see before the way it looks nowadays, Sanitized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Stuart Carroll (Kettering, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Haven't seen this film for years and still as good as I remember, Gary Oldman is first class as bad boy Jackie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

State Of Grace [DVD] [1991]
State Of Grace [DVD] [1991] by Phil Joanou (DVD - 2003)
7.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews