Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2001
The story of the life of Jerry Lee Lewis - this film manages to combine a fast pace with moving story-telling. Dennis Quaid is gorgeously sexy as the lead and Winona Ryder is very convinving as the thirteen-year-old cousin who adores Jerry. No holds are barred on his unfaithfulness but genuine love for Winona's character and the film is richer for it. The piano-playing's great too! Alec Baldwin plays a role very different from his usual ones as the preacher trying to guide Jerry (who ultimately fails!). Jerry finally tells him: "If I'm going to hell, then I'm going there playing the piana!" Don't miss this one - it's a classic!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2004
I am a huge fan of any biopic movie, but this was my favourite by a mile. I first saw this film as an impressionable teenager and have seen it too many times to count. It follows the rise to stardom of Jerry Lee Lewis, and his disasterous marriage to his thirteen year old cousin. Dennis Quaid is at his best here and, despite all the character's faults the viewer is still drawn to this lovable rouge.
The soundtrack is wonderful, with many of Jerry's biggest hits re-recored by the killer himself, I believe that they actually sound better than the originals, and again Dennis does a bang up job on the lip-syncing.
Overall a great film, that you will want to watch over and over again.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
This is a great movie that captures the late 50's rock'n'roll days when Elvis shook the music scene starting in Memphis. The story is about the lives and times of Jerry Lee Lewis, a much talented individual than Elvis, with his sheer brilliance in piano playing.Alas, the man was wild and his ill timed marraige to his 13 year old neice impacted his career adversely and he could never reach the heights that Elvis attained.

The picture quality and sound is very good and this is a must have item for anyone who value the rock'n'roll days.
Tissa de Alwis, Colombo, Sri Lanka.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 December 2008
Follow that Killer................

Britain in the 1950s and sixties was starved of rock and roll because we only had a state run radio stations. It wasn't until the pirates in the 1960 that we had unlimited pop music. We only heard the hits of people like Jerry Lee Lewis and that was strictly rationed.

I like biopics because they are not supposed to be taken too seriously they are not documentaries but they give a good impression of what 1950s USA was like or it at least confirms to our stereotypical view.

This film is a good romp and with plenty of good music to boot. The performances may be over the top but it is entertaining. I watch this film every time I see it come up on the television. I like the part where he wants to close the show but Chuck Berry has that in his contract. He then proceed to tear up the place and sets alight to his piano. He says to Chuck Berry "follow that killer. "

He is very famous in Britain for his trip in the fifties when he was found to have an underage bride. He never came back again for many years and his career never really recovered.he was feted by pope like the Beatles who reintroduced all the US pop music they loved to Britain. He could have been up there with Buddy Holly, Elvis, Johnny cash but he languished in the second division.

A very entertaining film
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
i enjoyed this film very much jerry lee lewis was a very funny man.didnt realise that he married someone so young
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
I was really looking foward to this film as i knew very about JLL other than he was a great rock n roll star,married an under age 2nd cousin and he diliked Elvis.At the end o the film i still only knew those three things really.Dennis Quaid played him like he was a half wit.No mention of his gate crashing into Graceland, his hard drinking, his Wembley apperance in 1973.I am surprised that Jerry let this film get released as it really is poor and made him look like a bit of an idiot and never dug deep to give us some thing of substance either good or bad.All rather dissapointing,shame really as there must have been a great story waiting to be told.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
An old film well acted by Dennis Quaid. He portrayed Jerry Lee to a T. The music was great the story well told.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Probably a film more geared up to those who remember the era, or are a fan of the early roots of rock and roll. Jerry Lee Lewis was certainly a one off! Probably would have been labelled a paedophile now, although it didn't feel seedy. Great music for all rockers. Drugs sex and rock and roll
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2006
As a fan of Jerry Lee Lewis I watched this film hoping for an insight into his character and life. The plot rolls along steadily, and the two stellar leads deliver a meaty performance giving this film much potential.

It's impact deflates somewhat by its clear bias towards the star. It is very pro Jerry pro American and leaves a little bit of a sour taste in the mouth.

I know biopics are not meant to be 100% factual but it is nieve for the director to treat the audience as thickle. Mr Lewis was a far from perfect character and although very talented it would have made much more of an impact if it showed more of his dark side instead of pandering to the fans.

A waste of Winnona and Dennis Quade. Not a bad film, but certainly not five stars.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
A brilliant film , much as I remembered the " Killer " in those days . . . Well worth seeing , if you are not a fan you sure will be after watching this film . . And Dennis Quaid portrays Jerry Lee amazingly Great Balls Of Fire [DVD]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)