Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars brill
got this film for my daughter ,she loves stallone film so cant go wrong getting them but i think you have to be a fan of him
Published 12 months ago by Graham k

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie but .......
This is definitely one of Stallone's best movies with a good plot and fine performances from the likes of Rod Steiger & Peter Boyle.
The period feel (it starts in the 30's and moves through to the 60's) is well captured. The riot and strike breaking scenes are particularly well done and the verbal clash between Stallone's union leader and Rod Steiger's Senator are...
Published on 16 Jun 2005 by C. M. Street


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie but ......., 16 Jun 2005
By 
C. M. Street (Edgware, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: F.I.S.T. [DVD] (DVD)
This is definitely one of Stallone's best movies with a good plot and fine performances from the likes of Rod Steiger & Peter Boyle.
The period feel (it starts in the 30's and moves through to the 60's) is well captured. The riot and strike breaking scenes are particularly well done and the verbal clash between Stallone's union leader and Rod Steiger's Senator are highlights of the movie.
So why only 3 stars ? Because the print used here is a cut down version ! A key sequence towards the end where the mob bosses plan to eliminate Stallone or Steiger (it is never clear which until the end of the movie) is missing. This scene is always missing from TV prints also, but I expected it to be included in the DVD version.
Even more unforgiveable the opening (which IS shown when the film has played on tv) is also cut out.I am deeply aggrieved at paying out for a version which is chopped and not even as complete as one taped from TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stallone's most ambitious film - but avoid the European DVD!, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
What is it about some directors and stars that make them follow up their biggest hits with misleadingly titled movies that just set them up for audience disappointment? Audiences seeing a film called Sorcerer from the director of The Exorcist advertised with a grimacing statue probably weren't too thrilled to find a thriller about truck drivers in South America and an audience lured into a film called F.I.S.T. by posters of Sly Stallone, fresh from Rocky, wielding an axe handle at the head of a mob probably weren't best pleased to find they'd bought a ticket to a drama about the growth and corruption of the American union movement. F.I.S.T. in this case stands for Federal Inter-State truckers - not, absolutely not, the Teamsters - and Stallone plays the union organiser who brings the mob in to win a strike only to find he can't get them out who absolutely isn't Jimmy Hoffa even if he does end up as a question mark on a bumper sticker.

Directed by Norman Jewison from a Joe Esterhas script with cinematography by Lazlo Kovacs, it's an admirably ambitious film. Charting the union from its days as hungry men with no rights to fat men by the pool with young girls who aren't their wives as the small group of bullied workers in the 30s grows into the biggest bully on the block by the 60s when Stallone comes up against Rod Steiger's racket busting senator, it's strangely lacking in punch or impact. There are good scenes and some inspired casting - not least Kevin Conway in the kind of role Brian Donlevy would have played in the 30s and 40s - but it often feels flat and underdeveloped. Jewison manages to keep Steiger and Peter Boyle's performances in check, but he's less successful with Stallone. Still in the period when he wanted to be the next Brando rather than the first Arnie, the star does some good work but loses some of his potentially best moments by incoherent mumbling or inaudible whispering under his breath that makes stretches of dialogue incomprehensible without subtitles. Still, it's nice to see De Mille regular Henry Wilcoxen as a blithely patronisingly patrician boss and Bill Conti's sweepingly epic score is impressive even if some of the music editing does it no favors.

On the subject of edits, the US DVD is the uncut 145-minute version - avoid the European DVDs, which are the cut 131-minute international version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Release On DVD, 12 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: F.I.S.T. [DVD] (DVD)
F.I.S.T. is a bad release on DVD on Region 2, not only is it in the full frame, there's a lot edited from it. From what the Region 1 version states, it's wide screen with a lot more footage in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Graham k (portsmouth ;uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F.I.S.T. [DVD] (DVD)
got this film for my daughter ,she loves stallone film so cant go wrong getting them but i think you have to be a fan of him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated gem, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: F.I.S.T. [DVD] (DVD)
Stallone shows his acting worth in this depression-era masterpiece from Jewison. Peter Boyle plays his part well. Rod Steiger is fantastic opposite Stallone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars F.I.S.T., 25 Jan 2011
By 
Joe A. Morrison (Dysart,Fife,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F.I.S.T. [DVD] (DVD)
Very, very, good film. Loosely based on the Jimmy Hoffa story. Stallones best role since the original Rocky and 1st Blood. If you like a film with a good story, believeable characters and plenty of good action set pieces, this is the film for you! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F.I.S.T. [DVD] (DVD)
I have started a collection of Stallone DVD`s. This is just part of my collection. The DVD arrived in good condition and on time. I usual return to the same sellers providing they have what I require. I have confidence in mosts of the sellers I return too.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

F.I.S.T. [DVD]
F.I.S.T. [DVD] by Norman Jewison (DVD - 2003)
£6.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews