Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return To Form
Ms. Annie Lennox has finally done it. She's come up with the goods that I know a great deal of her fans have been waiting for.
Throughout her career, Annie has played with image, gender and her audience's emotions - creating vast muscial landscapes (along with Dave, for the most part) with which people can lose themself in and really feel as if they belong. Now, as...
Published on 15 Jun 2003 by Mr. Matthew D. Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark
Annie Lennox is one of our great female artists with many accolades over her long career. This album sees Annie in a very dark place. The songs are deep, some are troubled, some are almost pleading. The album appears to be an honest exploration of her feelings at the time, hence the title, Bare.
Published on 17 July 2011 by Grahame


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return To Form, 15 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. Matthew D. Robinson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
Ms. Annie Lennox has finally done it. She's come up with the goods that I know a great deal of her fans have been waiting for.
Throughout her career, Annie has played with image, gender and her audience's emotions - creating vast muscial landscapes (along with Dave, for the most part) with which people can lose themself in and really feel as if they belong. Now, as she says herself, all that has gone before has been cast aside in favour of the true, musical Annie Lennox. The songs are still about despair, hope and all that love stuff but this time they seem to mean so much more. I've always judged Annie (and Dave) by the first three tracks on an album. Do I connect with what she's saying? Does it uplift me instead of allowing me to wallow in my own self pity? The only problem I've found with her previous material is that the music somehow doesn't match the mood. I know that in some cases that's the point she's trying to make musically, but still. Give me the hook and I'm hooked. From the moment her 'backing singers' proclaim "A thousand beautiful things" I'm hooked on the lyrics AND the music. There are also echoes of previous songs and for a fan that's great. There's a link to the past and the feeling that you have some personal conversation going with Annie, but she takes it one step further and really makes me feel like her charge. She's the all-knowing matron and I'm there to take her advice and get on with my life.
Bare really is a personal journey come to fruition. This is the real Annie Lennox and by God I hope I don't have to wait so long next time to hear what she's got to say. The woman should be knighted for her services to humankind! Amen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track By Track Review, 3 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
'1000 beautiful things' is an elegant starter with an acousitc loop.
'Pavement cracks' - the most powerful and catchy song on the album with a rocking melodie - waking up the listener.
'The hurtin time' is with nearly 7 1/2 minutes the longest song on the album - a calm, neverending, meditative flow, layers of sound and voices appear from a distance and diappear slowly into eternity.
'Honestly' is a tricky, groovy little song with 2 levels: the singer's voice and the voice in the singer's head that's singing and talking all the time and makes it hard to understand what you're singing - brilliant.
'Wonderful' is soft and sad with a suddenly whipping chorus that reminds of 'Precious' from the album 'Diva', but it is also the weakest song on the album.
'Bitter pill' is a jumping 70s party rock song, stamping like 'Sisters are doin' it for themselves', simple, direct, cool.
'Loneliness' is a song like a bright hurricane; first the deep soul of Annie Lennox's voice breaks the silence before the storm and makes you shiver, the sound rises until the shining eye of the storm and disappears again.
'The saddest song' is not the saddest song, but the most beautiful song of 'Bare' - you can hear Annie Lennox smile while she sings "This is the saddest song I've got" -, a warm lullaby like a red sunrise, a feeling like woken up by sunbeams, so beautiful you could cry.
In 'Erased' Annie Lennox gets back to rythm - with a funky piano and a slim drum machine the song gives the feel of fast walk along the road of your life, waving goodbye to memories along the road.
Bells ring in 'Twisted' and the walk becomes a swinging march, not one of the best songs, but with exciting sound breaks.
'Oh god', the last song of the album, is sung to a swamp organ by a half-hearted, disillusioned prayer who doubts that her sad prayer will change anything.
'Bare' doesn't sound like a collection of songs, it is a grown album, like the harvest of many, many years. A must for any lover of brilliant voices and timeless, classical songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album!, 19 May 2006
By 
J. A. Cumming "jacumming01" (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
As a fan of Annie I have to admit being disappointed by Medusa, so it was with some trepidation that I bought Bare. Nevertheless, I was totally hooked from the first time I played it. This is full of tracks which are classic Lennox - deftly blending haunting lyrics with beautiful vocals and all full of emotion. Major highlights for me include 'Honestly', 'Wonderful' and 'Bitter Pill'.

Some people have reported problems with copy protection on the disc preventing them from playing on their PC, but it played just fine in my desktop under XP.

In summary, don't be put off by the cover (as I nearly was) - this is a great album and shows Annie Lennox shining at her true best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BARE classic Annie Lennox., 6 Jun 2003
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
This album is simply the best album Annie Lennox has done in a long time. The tracks are typicaly haunting and relaxing sounds and a pleasure to listen to. Her voice is still as pleasent to listen to now as it was in the days of the eurythmics. She has a range to her voice that simply can not be matched by todays singers. Her style of music hits both young and older audiences around the world. This album is a sure fire hit with Annie Lennox fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 7 Jun 2003
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
'Bare' as the tiltle suggest is a very personal account of Annie's life as it stands. Centered around the recent break up of her marriage the songs are from the heart. There are some beautiful tracks like the haunting and richly sung 'Honesty', the sublime 'Pavement Cracks' and the innovative 'Twisted'. Again a couple of upbeat tracks make 'Bitter Pill' and 'Loneliness' slightly change the impression the album gives. 'Erased' is a very clever tune which builds into one of the stand out tracks. Suprisingly the album moves away from Annies love of strings and features a more acoustic and modern sound. Her backing vocals on all tracks are both different and especially amazing on 'Honestly' and 'Wonderful' Without doubt these 11 tracks will instigate soul searching into even the hard minded synic, which itself is an acievement and moreover, curiousley sureal. Admititely, the album takes two or three listens before the true worth becomes apparant, but, boy is it worth it! 12 years since her last 'real' album and well worth the wait. All tracks are written with pure feelings and with that of a natural genius, Annie Lennox is sounding better that she ever has. This may be due to the true worth the lyrics are to her, or maybe that she has just got better over the years.
In sum this album is a MUST from the youngest to the oldest appreciator of genius in music and lyrical terms, and that said without mentioning the best female voice to come out of the UK...............................EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
Just a brilliant artist ! Always a pleasure to listen and watch her on video. Great inspirational cd for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Disc., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
This CD was one of three I got for my Wife's Birthday, as she loved Annie Lennox's music this one of her popular sonngs on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is she magic, or what?, 19 May 2013
By 
Mr. Pj Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
She is, of course, and if you like this lady's voice, she is in fine form here. I'm quite a hi-fi fan and several of the tracks, such as A Thousand Beautiful Things are wonderful, enveloping creations.

For those of Annie's fellow-slaves wondering if they need another fix of Lennox, this album is of a comparable quality with Diva and Medusa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dark, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
Annie Lennox is one of our great female artists with many accolades over her long career. This album sees Annie in a very dark place. The songs are deep, some are troubled, some are almost pleading. The album appears to be an honest exploration of her feelings at the time, hence the title, Bare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great and honest record...., 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare (Audio CD)
This a sad, honest, brutal account of the breakdown of a marriage. It is also a collection of beautiful melodies, acute instrumentation and majestic singing from a major talent. This is Annie Lennox's Plastic Ono Band or perhaps her Blood on the Tracks and its sits very comfortably alongside those two master works. Wonderful record .........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare
Bare by Annie Lennox (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews