Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DARK AND MYSTERIOUS: AN UNLIKELY KYLIE CLASSIC
After hearing some belated hype about the underrated 1998 Kylie album, "Impossible Princess," I took a chance and bought it as an import. Upon first listen, I was blown away by its power! This is the most interesting album I've come across in a while. One wouldn't even recognize that this was the same artist who was behind the infectious sugary "la, la, la's" of the...
Published on 31 Dec 2003 by Hernan Igot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit all over the place
Kylie’s 6th studio album and 7 in total, which was to be her final on the Deconstruction label, where again Kylie experiments with new sounds such as trip hop and indie rock, which seemed to be a bit too exereme for the record buying public to handle as this became her lowest selling album to date, and didn’t make much of an impact on the charts...
Published 1 month ago by paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DARK AND MYSTERIOUS: AN UNLIKELY KYLIE CLASSIC, 31 Dec 2003
By 
Hernan Igot (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
After hearing some belated hype about the underrated 1998 Kylie album, "Impossible Princess," I took a chance and bought it as an import. Upon first listen, I was blown away by its power! This is the most interesting album I've come across in a while. One wouldn't even recognize that this was the same artist who was behind the infectious sugary "la, la, la's" of the insanely catchy dance-pop single "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" back in 2001. Believe the reviews and critical acclaim: "Impossible Princess" is everything people describe it as, and more! Maybe it's because the general mainstream public was not ready for quite a drastic change in artistic direction that "Impossible Princess" was overlooked. It's pretty unfortunate that "Impossible Princess" (then changed to "Kylie Minogue") bombed upon its release because here is a hidden gem that's filled with remnants of an extremely brave, adventurous, and experimental female pop artist. Sure, it can get self-indulgent and claustrophobic when it comes to taking in such complex music that's not associated with the pint-sized Aussie beauty, but you better believe that every single note and word in this album is packed with genuinely pure emotion. It's not that amazingly ground breaking and innovative, but "Impossible Princess" is complex, intricately structured, and atmospheric enough to give the artist immediate credibility. I find it strange that the same artist that wrote the dark lyrics for this album turned into a dance-pop diva upon abandoning it and its commercial failure. From the first track, "Too Far," you're in for a treat of sonic textures and you're immediately brought inside Kylie's otherwordly realm. "Too Far" is one of the standout tracks in the album, being part rapid drum 'N' bass and part orchestral dramatics. Kylie "raps" the verses with such emotional distress that one might even feel uncomfortable with the eerieness of the whole song's aggressive delivery. "Cowboy Style" combines world beats and influences with a uniquely complex trip-hop-influenced structure. It's a mellowed out, yet very beat-influenced and heavily orchestrated track. "Some Kind Of Bliss," the lead single off the album, shows Kylie tackling Britpop and alternative pop/rock with a little distancing in her part. Very unfamiliar territory, but still great track. "Did It Again" takes some elements from "Cowboy Style" and "Some Kind Of Bliss" because of its jangly pulsating beats combined with garage-rock acoustics. "Breathe," another of a handful of slow and sassy trip-hop grooves, is filled with atmospheric, yet electronic arrangements that compliment its almost medidative melody and Kylie's breathy vocals. "Say Hey" and "Drunk," the two most dance/club-oriented tracks on the album, glow in a building crescendo of intricate instrumentation, orchestration, and electronica beats: you get soaked in an ornate underground electro-realm. "I Don't Need Anyone" is probably the track that is closest to "Some Kind Of Bliss" because of the Britpop and alternative production. It's probably the most lively pop track in the album, but it's not quite pop because of the garage feel of it. "Jump," a slow medidative drum-induced track, shows how Kylie's weariness truly conveys her emotional hurt and dissatisfaction upon writing it. It's like being in a late-night beat-poetry/jazz club house with a dab of electro. "Limbo" proves that the near-end of the album can still pack one more action. It's a raging, destructive alternative-rock/dance hybrid that shows Kylie at her most aggressive and exasperated. She seems to be having fun making the track while still being enraged with fury and stress. Its hard-rocking pulsating beats can be a sort of release from the stresses around us. "Through The Years" is a jazzy, yet slow trip-hop beatfest. "Dreams" is a orchestrated with such large dramatics. I highly recommend this album is you want to explore a new side of Kylie! It's amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie's nist artistic and creative., 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
After so much success with SAW, it is only natural that Kylie wanted to try something so different. This album is great because it has almost no boundaries, and it's just Kylie at her most personal and experimental.
Every song is co-written by Kylie herself, and although the album was considered a UK flop (even though it charted at No 10) it was a success in Australia spending much of 1998 in the charts peaking at No 4.
Every track is different on this album, and to date Kylie has not done anything as risky or as personal as this.

Too Far is a song solely written by Kylie, bledning trip hop beats with a frantic lyric.
Some Kind Of Bliss is a groovey pop rock track, and is a collaboration with Manic Street Preachers.
Drunk and Limbo are ballsy indie dance tracks which are full of angst and energy.
Dreams is the ballad moment, but not like any ballad you have heard.

Simply, get this Kylie album. It's a project which took 2 years to complete, and is one of Kylie many career turning points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album!!!!, 12 Mar 2009
By 
Eduardo R. Pessolani (Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
I'm in love with this album, it's such a perfect combination of pop, sexy voice and indie rock. the lyrics are perfect for example too far and say hey written by kylie. the sound of songs like drunk and through the years and the lovely ending by the beutiful song DREAMS, in just a few words this album is pure perfection in kylie's career, it's different that other albums but has that special thing that kylie adds to every song she makes!!!
you must have this remastered version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie's Most Interesting Record, 21 Jun 2008
By 
Alex (Bromsgrove, Worcs, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
1. Too Far. 8/10
2. Cowboy Style. 10/10
3. Some Kind of Bliss. 10/10
4. Did It Again. 10/10
5. Breathe. 10/10
6. Say Hey. 9/10
7. Drunk. 9/10
8. I Don't Need Anyone. 10/10
9. Jump. 9/10
10. Limbo. 10/10
11. Through the Years. 8/10
12. Dreams. 10/10

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10
This has to be Kylie's most misunderstood album, and didn't get the critical and commercial reception that it deserved, as the songwriting and compositions go much further. Exploring for the first time into the electronica-rock-dancepop genre, this shows Kylie as the title, as an Imposible Princess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A much underrated album, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
This was Indie Kylie - the pop Princesses' foray into the world of 'cool' music. Funnily enough, Kylie only really became 'cool' when she went back to her pop roots, but that's another story. Who cares anyway what others judge as cool or not? You make your own mind up.

This is a really, really good album. Stand-out track is 'Did It Again', but there's not one dud on the album. Kylie experiments with a range of style, and some more mature lyrics. She's also taken a hand in writing part of some of the tracks. I really can't see the likes of Cheryl Cole or Jessie J or Katy Perry being confident enough to step outside of their pop-dross bubbles and try something as daring as this. But then Kylie broke away from S/A/W to blaze her own trail - that's why she'll always be on the top of the pile.

If you fancy some music with a bit of a bite, a bit of attitude, then this is the album for you. And me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit all over the place, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
Kylie’s 6th studio album and 7 in total, which was to be her final on the Deconstruction label, where again Kylie experiments with new sounds such as trip hop and indie rock, which seemed to be a bit too exereme for the record buying public to handle as this became her lowest selling album to date, and didn’t make much of an impact on the charts.

1. Too Far 5/10
A weird way to start the album, beginning in almost spoken words and then bridging into trip hop, a bit too strange for my taste.

2. Cowboy Style 8/10
This is more like it, a funkier sound and different to anything that came before, released only in Australia as the 4th single, but in all a decent track.

3. Some Kind Of Bliss 10/10
Kylie goes indie rock on this track, and again a new direction never heard before, despite being the first single, it didn’t set the charts alight but in my opinion this song is still one of my faves from the album, I find it catchy and quite funky.

4. Did It Again 10/10
Now this is more like it, with Kylie going a bit more rock with trip hop influences and especially loved the guitar twangs to this song, and became the 2nd single and had much more success putting Kylie back in the top 20.

5. Breathe 9/10
Slowing the pace down a bit, is this gorgeous track, that would become the 3rd and final UK single and really takes you to another place, making it very psychedelic.

6. Say Hey 7/10
Another track that seems to take you to another place, a funky dance type number, where Kylie’s vocals shine.

7. Drunk 6/10
A bit to all over the place for me, just couldn’t get into this track at all, I do like the fact that Kylie’s trying something different, but this track is just way too out there.

8. I Don’t Need Anyone 8/10
Again another funky indie rock number, but with a bit more dance to it, and I love the chorus which really makes this song work.

9. Jump 6/10
A trancey number, where her vocals sound a bit strained in my opinion.

10. Limbo 7/10
A rocky start infused with trip hop, Kylie really sounds quite bouncy on this track.

11. Through The Years 5/10
A slowdown trip hop number that is not one of my faves, this just doesn’t really go anywhere.

12. Dreams 8/10
A great way too close the album, with this lovely ballad with beautiful sounds and Kylie really belts out the chorus.

HIGHLIGHTS = COWBOY STYLE, SOME KIND OF BLISS, DID IT AGAIN, BREATHE & I DON’T NEED ANYONE.

WEAKEST = TOO FAR, THROUGH THE YEARS & DRUNK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie's greatest accomplishment!, 31 July 2013
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
As the 1990's came to a close, Kylie released Impossible Princess. All lyrics written by kylie and co. The public did not take to Indie kylie, as dubbed by the press. Lead single, Some Kind Of Bliss was too much of a departure from what the public had come to expect of the pop princess. The album is full of passion and anger. If you buy just one kylie album, make sure it's this one! A true pop masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie Inventive!, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
As a life-long Kylie fan Deconstruction sent me a demo tape of this album and asked me (and others) to pick out 'my' singles from it. None of my 4 chosen 'singles' were released as singles. Maybe if even one of my chosen 4 had been released, this album might have performed a lot better commercially. The 3 released UK singles are easily the weakest tracks here. This gem of an album is very inventive (and none the worse for that) with great vocals - much more distinctive than Kylie's usual style and unusual production. I hope Kylie will one day release another album as idiosyncratic as IP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This has changed my life!, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
Amazing! I must say this album has been very positively received, as i suffer from panic attacks, i have found this music to help me calm down and focus. I would definitely buy from this merchant in the future should I desire their wares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie Minogue - Impossible Princess, 23 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc (Audio CD)
This was the first (and last, as of now) Kylie album, without any filler, where the best songs were NOT the singles, and where she actually experimented.

This is also one of the few Kylie albums where she didn't create an album for more commercial success ('Body Language', which was an obvious attempt to be successful in the US is a prime example), and thus took some time to experiment. She wrote all the songs, produced some, but every album after this, she only write a couple (i.e. 3-4) songs, and did not produces them, and did not have a lot of creative control at all. She should take some notes out of Dannii's book and at least write all of her music. After all, this is the 'fan-favourite' Kylie album, and, she obviously is a very good songwriter.

And now you have some background information, here is the review.

The album begins with the amazing "Too Far" it is a fantastic song that experiments with drum n bass and works fantastically. It combines so many types of genres, with themes such as sex and going 'too far' (if you know what I mean). The album goes down an accessible route with the next four songs, and "Cowboy Style" works well. As you may have guessed, the album feature some country influences and combines them with Kylie's famous dance/electronic pop. "Some Kind Of Bliss" is an experiment with indie and it works poorly. The song doesn't go anywhere, and it is too simple for its own good, and was the first Kylie single no to enter the UK top 20. "Did It Again" should have been the lead single instead of the last track. It peaked at #14 in the UK and despite being the most 'pop' sounding song on the album, I love it to bits and is just a great pop/dance song. "Breathe" follows and is an acceptable song, but is one the low points - it is kind of average (not that there is anything wrong with being average). It reminds me of a slower, less fun version of the previous track, and the reason I like the previous track so much is because of its energy, and fun-ness.

6 of the next 7 songs are the darkest songs Kylie has ever created (Confide In Me, Too Far and Loving Days can be in this list too), and are all fantastic.

"Say Hey" is an experiment with minimalism, and works excellently. It reminds me of a Bjork song - like a cross between something on her Vespertine album (the minimalism), Homogenic (hard beats and darkness) and Post (pop combined with alternate) - you will probably have to be familiar with Bjork to understand that, but I couldn't think of another way to describe the song. "Drunk" is another good song, that combines the energy of trance, the beats of techno, and some nice strings, and is another song that sounds Bjork influences. "I Don't Need Anyone" really affects the flow of this album. It is such a light, poppy and acoustic song, and tracks 6, 7, 9-12 area all quite the opposite. This is also my least favourite song from the album, and also one of my least favourite Kylie song.

Anyone that can appreciate something completely different and innovative should love "Jump" - one of my top-3 favourite Kylie songs ever, and THE BEST on this album. It is the darkest song Kylie has recorded, and I can just imagine Kylie performing this song with the Pagan Poetry dress (if you know what I mean, and sorry again for the Bjork comparisons - this album is obviously influences by her quite a bit). It is low tempo and very alternative and alienic. "Limbo" works well, and one of the few songs from this album that Kylie sometimes performed on her recent Showgirl tour. "Through The Years" is my equal-second-favourite song from this album, with tracks 1 and 12. Most Kylie fans don't seem to like this track at all, but I appreciate its darkness and originality. "Dreams" is the fan-favourite from this album, simply because there is something for everyone. It is catchy, as well as being dark, experimental and has some very distinctive Kylie lyrics.

(Like Kylie has implied in a way before, this is like a 'better' version of her previous self-titled album. If they were combined, the album would be just perfect, as there are so many great tracks on both, so I made my own tracklisting that flows very very well, combining them both: Too Far / Cowboy Style / Did It Again / Say Hey / Drunk / Jump / Falling / Limbo / Confide In Me / Through The Years / Dreams)

Therefore, an excellent experimental album with a great range of musical styles, just let down by a very small amount of below-par tracks. Her masterwork.

8 / 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9896fa4)

This product

Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc
Impossible Princess With Bonus Disc by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews