Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Deconstruction Debut
Between 1988- 1992, Australian Pop diva, Kylie Minogue notched up a series of U.K Top 10 smash hits (4 of those going to No.1) on the PWL record label, under the guidance of Stock, Aikten And Waterman.

However in 1993 she left the label and completely re-invented herself, signing to the dance label, Deconstruction. In mid 1994 she returned to the charts with...
Published on 3 May 2006 by Ian Phillips

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy
Poor - and brave Kylie Minogue.
After years of scoring dance hits she decided, like a lot of successful artists, to change her image and do something new. In her case, it meant changing her record label and work with a whole bunch of new people. Strangely enough, a lot of them came from the Pet Shop Boys family. Mark Farrow on design, Brothers-in-Rhythm on...
Published 17 months ago by Autonome


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Deconstruction Debut, 3 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
Between 1988- 1992, Australian Pop diva, Kylie Minogue notched up a series of U.K Top 10 smash hits (4 of those going to No.1) on the PWL record label, under the guidance of Stock, Aikten And Waterman.

However in 1993 she left the label and completely re-invented herself, signing to the dance label, Deconstruction. In mid 1994 she returned to the charts with the hauntingly atmospheric, Confide In Me, which still stands as one of her most compelling recordings. Kylies vocal delivery had clearly improved since the days of I Should Be So Lucky and now had a neat little sound of her own going on. Confide In Me with its mesmerising musical arrangements, quickly catapulted to No.2 on the U.K charts. (however she has never really cracked the American market though has indeed gathered up a series of loyal fans over there).

Surrender is a funky slice of Pop where Kylies delivery is breathy and seamless and really brings out the natural qualities in her voice. The multi-talented, Prince produced the funky, swinging, If I Were Your Lover, which is uplifting in its tone and was worthy of a single release with its striking mixture of musical arrangements.

The fantastic dance cut, Where Is The Feeling?, is of significant musical value. Merrily bouncy, the track features an uplifting performance from its star which coats the infectious rhythm. Put Yourself In My Place is a more mid-tempo track where again her true vocal abilities gets chance to shine brightly.

What stands as one of the albums highlight is the breathtakingly beautiful ballad, Dangerous Game, with its compelling musical arrangments to Kylies sensual and exuberant vocal delivery. The track leads to an exalting climax on which she sounds utterly fabulous. Kylie proves she certainly can indeed hold a note on the sensational, Automatic Love where her performance is assertive and vastly solid.

The album then scores one of its ultimate highlights with the fantastic Dance/Pop track, Where Has The Love Gone? which again leads to an exalting climax and is so jamming and infectious with its arrangements. More mesmerising is the hypnotic, trance-like tone of Falling, which features an angelic performance from its star.

What then appears to be leading up to a grand final, is let down by the surprisingly lacklustre, Time Will Pass You By, which was produced by 1990's pop sensation, M People, which was fronted by Heather Small. Its average enough but lacks spark and the dynamic force of the rest of the album.

Still, all in all, this album refreshingly revitalised Kylies recording career and is amongst the divas greatest accomplishments. It became a big seller in the U.K though received little recognition in the U.S. A classic in her repotoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A break for freedom......, 13 April 2006
By 
A. Snape (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
This is the first album released by Kylie Minogue when working with deConstruction and in my opinion deserved much more acclaim than it originally received. People now seem to be re-discovering this period of Kylie Minogue's career and this album is a great and very diverse introduction. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, Elegant and concise Kylie grows up,, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Julia Havard "Heights47" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
Gone are the tinny sounds of PWL with their cheesey upbeat styling's and out comes Kylie Minogue. A sensuous elegant affair that takes the best of the early 90's and creates a ten track album that is endlessly addictive. There are elements of house traversed with cool jazz and funk and some light smatterings of Pop/R&B. The tracks range from the brilliantly danceable that go like great house remixes to the more laid back and dramatic ballads such as dangerous games. A truly underrated gem that is one of her most consistent well crafted and has what is possibly her best vocal delivery to date. Only thing that would have made it better would have been Nothing can stop Us on the original not just as a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want good 90's pop + some jazzy style then buy this, 4 April 2009
By 
Eduardo R. Pessolani (Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
GOD! Kylie is a great artist, this album has the power to make you feel like you are in another world. long instruemntal parts, electronic pop, jazzy style, EXCELENT VOCALS yes!!!! everything on 1 album... but wait this edition has a bonus cd... aha it's also great it has unreleased songs like the cover "if you don't love me" and "nothing can stop us" plus an unreleased new version of "falling" the song that the Pet shop boys made for kylie for this album. ohhh i almost forgot! a super sexy and chic french version of confide in me... and everything is remastered so the sound quality is fab! I listen to this album everyday and trust me it's not an album... it's an experience!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylies most awesome album, 22 July 2007
By 
D. rogers "Deanofrom essex" (great brirain!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
This album is in a class of its own, It was incredibly ahead of its time and i'v heard it so many times but it always sounds so fresh. It reflects a period in the early 90's pre sept 11th when their was an air of optimism, a whole generation of young people exited about the change ofthe century. This album really reflects such a confidence and a turning point in kylies life. The power and dynamics are so captivating and the beats are very r&b, but there is also a 'raw kylie' element to this album and her voice sounds so beautiful and crystal clear that you cannot help but become captivated by this album. These records particualy 'automatic Love'really give you an insight into why Kylie is the huge star she is now. She gives this record her all and delivers one of the most magnificently produced albums of that era, if not of all time. Dont forget Kylie co-wrote most of these tracks! This album will leave you enchanted and refreshed as the whole sound on this album is refreshing and invigorating. I think this album is Kylies biggest gift to her fans. It may not be the best album for the mass market appeal she has today but for the fans that know all her music this one really towers above all of the others. I saw Kylie promote this album in the London astoria2 in 1994 and it was like watching 'evolution in motion'her voice,looks ,confidence and presence had suddenly propelled eons ahead and this album will propell you into a new dimention........The fabulous Kylie dimention xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Kylie!, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
1994 saw the rebirth of Kylie Minogue. Her debut album For the super cool Deconstruction record label was released in September 1994. Kylie's vocals were amazing. She's never sounded so good. Full of super cool cuts, she delivered on this number 4 charting album. Contains the singles Confide In Me, Put Yourself In My Place and Where Is The Feeling?. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie grows up, 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
This is Kylie's first post-Stock Aitken Waterman album, and it shows musical maturity in many ways. Of course, the album sounds a little dated now but then it is almost 20 years old. Confide In Me is the undoubted highlight of the album, it's a brilliant song and Kylie pulls off the more stretching vocals really well. All I can say is give this album a try and you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
Poor - and brave Kylie Minogue.
After years of scoring dance hits she decided, like a lot of successful artists, to change her image and do something new. In her case, it meant changing her record label and work with a whole bunch of new people. Strangely enough, a lot of them came from the Pet Shop Boys family. Mark Farrow on design, Brothers-in-Rhythm on producing/writing some songs, Richard Niles arranging the orchestra, and even Tennant and Lowe writing a track, the disappointing "Falling" (badly massacred by Farley & Heller, while the demo - available in the "Further Listening" re-issue of Pet Shop Boys's album "Very" reveals what could have been the best track of Kylie's album - if she had stuck with the Boys' production...).
All these changes, combined in an eponymous album called "Kylie Minogue", result in a very sloppy, disjointed effort that really takes itself too seriously. In-between the acceptable opening track ("Confide in me") and the closing track (also acceptable "Time will pass you by") there are a good 50 minutes of boring, character-less music, not made any better by the fact that the tracks are all way too long (more than 5 minutes on average) and that Kylie's high register is not at her best.
By asking too many people to help on the album and by trying to reach too many music genres, her music gives up a lot of character and the whole effort ends up sounding pretentious.
But all great artists learn from their mistake - the same way Pet Shop Boys learned from "Behaviour.".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Totally underrated!, 26 May 2013
By 
Franciszek Dul (Warszawa, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
In the past Ms Minogue was definitely not in my music world. It has changed totally two months ago after listening this (and other) fantastic Kylie's records. Now I love her (in the musical context, of course)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab CD, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
I bought this for my partner as a birthday gift as he is a huge Kylie fan and he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kylie Minogue
Kylie Minogue by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews