Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moodies at their musical best
There are 14 songs performed live on this DVD and everyone of them holds you in applause. The sound of the Moodies with the Orchestra they did Days of Future Past with are perfoming in an acoustic paradise at the Royal Albert Hall and this is a treat for the ears..simply wonderful stuff. Nights in White Satin is breathtaking..Wildest dreams is an instumental...
Published on 4 Jun 2004 by Joan-Violet

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short concert with a heavily compromised play list
This concert registration will definately only 'work' for you if you like both the 'old' and the 'new' work of the Moody Blues (say, before and after Seventh Sojourn). But I can hardly imagine that anyone likes both periods. I've been a big fan for at least 20 years (I started listening to their work in the 1980's and 'worked my way back'). To me, the old songs are so...
Published on 6 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moodies at their musical best, 4 Jun 2004
By 
Joan-Violet "Jo" (Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Moody Blues: Hall Of Fame - Live From The Albert Hall [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There are 14 songs performed live on this DVD and everyone of them holds you in applause. The sound of the Moodies with the Orchestra they did Days of Future Past with are perfoming in an acoustic paradise at the Royal Albert Hall and this is a treat for the ears..simply wonderful stuff. Nights in White Satin is breathtaking..Wildest dreams is an instumental delight.Tuesday afternoon is stirring, Question is just so overpowering in that hall..Ray and his flute overtake you with melodious echoes and he does Legend of a Mind sensationally. John's perfomance with Isnt Life Strange is moving and expressive and his Im Just a Singer is Knock out..Justin does Haunted so inspiringly.There are standing ovations for their perfomance and audience contact is so embracing..Justin's wonderful voice reaches out across the dome surrounding the audit with echoes...a wonderful feeling that must have been for him to sing in such a place, it was perfect harmony....a must to buy an excelling live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for All Moodie Fans, 29 July 2001
By A Customer
Both picture quality and sound quality are an improvement on the previous Moodies excellent live video, A Night at Red Rocks. Performance wise the Moodies appear more relaxed, touring with orchestras has ironed out any snags, both Moodies and Orchestra giving virtually flawless performances. Justin's voice a bit weak on one number but otherwise performance first class. Gripes - why was the whole concert not recorded and why were both video and DVD subjected to the same editing as the Hall of Fame cd. That aside you can't afford not to be without HOF on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets a new standard in live performances, 2 Oct 2000
This is powerful! The band and the audience were on a high in the impressive setting of the Royal Albert Hall. The Moody Blues tour constantly but they don't seem to lose their energy or enthusiasm. On this 1st May 2000 concert, they were joined by the World Festival Orchestra under the direction of Larry Baird. What a combination. Talk about "raising the roof"! That all but happened that night. Graeme Edge still loves drumming, Ray Thomas' baritone only mellows with age, John Lodge reaches new heights with "Words you say" and Justin Hayward may have sung "Nights in White Satin" two thousand times but he makes it seem so special at this performance. Terrific mixing. I nearly knocked a star off because we don't get the whole concert and we don't always get it in the order it was performed and Ray's flute solo is left off "Legend of a mind" but it's a master class in how rock should be live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short And Nice..., 11 Nov 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moody Blues: Hall Of Fame - Live From The Albert Hall [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Somewhere in the nineties the Moody Blues decided they would turn from large outdoor venues to classical indoor music halls. It was a grand idea and works well for anyone who has seen them in a smaller arena. What better place than the Royal Albert Hall?
There are some great moments, mostly from the older songs, "Nights In White Satin" and "Question" with the great string arrangements. However, "Haunted" and "Words You Say" just don't scream Moody Blues like the classics. It's a nice grouping of songs from all stages, but the set is far too limited for a large scale DVD collection. The group has done some very long sets ("Moody Blues At Red Rocks") and although the setting is far more intimate, there just isn't enough.
The sound quality is very good, but not great and they do strive terribly hard to reach those notes, but are easily forgiven. They've been at this for over forty years. They have given the world a nice concert, but 'nice' just doesn't seem to be enough anymore. I really wanted to see and hear more with this great event. Sorry - no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 40 years on and still great!!, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I was lucky enough to be at this show. It transfers well to DVD. One of the worlds greatest bands shows just how great they can be. Justins voice falters on one song, but aside from that, they rock. They are one of the best live bands you'll ever see. The only moan i have is that the DVD could have benefitted from better editing. A MUST HAVE for any moodies fan. These troubadors have been at it for almost 40 years!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest, 27 May 2010
By 
Stephen Bloom "Steve B" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moody Blues: Hall Of Fame - Live From The Albert Hall [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I saw the Moodies live at the Royal Albert hall a few years ago, and this dvd does justice to one of the greatest British groups of all time. This includes Ray Thomas, the flute player who had left the band by the time I got to see them. Not a bad track, plus all the old favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moodies from Royal Albert Hall (2000), 2 April 2009
By 
Gary Tupholme "Tup" (Burlington, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been a Moodies fan for 44 years (that tells my age)and these guys can still perform. With the backing of a great orchestra I thought the performance was great. They sang most of the songs they are famous for and the orchestrations were not overdone. You can tell that the boys still enjoy performing. The audience was really enthusiastic and really into the concert. If you are a Moodies fan, this DVD is a must.
GT, Burlington, Ontario Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moody Blues What Could Be Better, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
The first classical rock band show they still have versitilaty and amazing talant with such powerful and musical songs that will never be defeated for sound quality. Nothing more needs to be said if your a fan as you already know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short concert with a heavily compromised play list, 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This concert registration will definately only 'work' for you if you like both the 'old' and the 'new' work of the Moody Blues (say, before and after Seventh Sojourn). But I can hardly imagine that anyone likes both periods. I've been a big fan for at least 20 years (I started listening to their work in the 1980's and 'worked my way back'). To me, the old songs are so exciting, inspired, musical and oftentimes absolutely brilliant. The new work basically consists of simple romantic love songs which never seem to go anywhere musically. It's no big surprise then that the audience of this concert, which seems to consist of mainly middle-aged women, embarrasingly manages to burst into full blown applause during a number of quiet periods embedded in the old songs (most notably, during Legend Of A Mind and Question). The concert is also way too short (about 80 minutes). If only they'd made this a two disc set, one with older, and one with newer songs, I'd have been happy. Needless to say, I'm not. The image and sound quality of the DVD, however, is pretty ok. Nearly perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moody Blues: Hall Of Fame - Live From The Albert Hall [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this as a gift for my partner and he thinks it's great! I'm not as dedicated a Moody Blues fan as he is, but I thoroughly enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moody Blues: Hall Of Fame - Live From The Albert Hall [DVD] [2003]
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews