Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roaring back
Unlike some, I welcomed the new and revived Sepultura, as they took their sound into a new, brutal dimension post Max. And this, their debut for SPV, is confirmation that they are standing proud at the top of the metal tree. In case you were wondering Roorback means 'A false or slanderous story used for political advantage", and the Seps continue on the trail of...
Published on 27 May 2003 by Mr. H

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bore-back!
Sepultura are in my mind, legendary.they are one of the bands responsible for taking thrash and giving it a much needed slap in the face. Every release so far has seen them pushing boundaries further and further.It goes to show that after Max Cavalera left he carried on rehashing their "Roots" album with Soulfly while Sepultura released two creative and adventurous yet...
Published on 9 Nov. 2003 by Mr. Daniel J. Bache


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roaring back, 27 May 2003
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Unlike some, I welcomed the new and revived Sepultura, as they took their sound into a new, brutal dimension post Max. And this, their debut for SPV, is confirmation that they are standing proud at the top of the metal tree. In case you were wondering Roorback means 'A false or slanderous story used for political advantage", and the Seps continue on the trail of highlighting wrongs and misdemeanours.
If you wnat proof of the unrelenting power of this release then listen to the triple blow of "Godless", "Apes Of God" and "Corrupted". Metal at its best. And if you get in early and grab the limited edition 2CD set you get the pleasure of the "Revolusongs" Brazilian only EP featuring the Sepultura take on songs by Hellhammer, Massive Attack, Public Enemy, Devo, Jane's Addiction, U2 and Exodus.
Derrick Green has emerged from a long shadow, and now has confirmed that he is the ideal frontman for Sepultura with "Roorback" being a master statement of intent, building on from the base that was "Against" and "Nation".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i didnt think it would be this good, 9 May 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roorback (Audio CD)
nation was an album that pleased me and bored me in equal measures and that seemed to be standard formula for sepultira releases in the post max era,i aint sitting here wishing max would rejoin sepultura as soulfly havent set my world on fire either but when i heard roorback i started to sense that sepultura were becoming their won band again and that derrick green had something to say that we needed to hear and roorback is a fine album that has the punches and the kicks that sepultura spat out on chaos ad and arise,yes its that good.

the band truly sound focused and hungry again and instead of an album with fifteen or sixteen songs which outstayed their welcome we have a set of leaner ,meaner and shorter more precise album,excellent songs such as opener come back alive,mindwar,bullet the blue sky and leech can be found here,its an impressive album and as welcome as a cheque from your auntie when you are broke.keep up the good work lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come back alive!, 24 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
one of seps finist works,nice fast riffs and some killer solos.greens vocals r amazing.not 2 mention prob the best metal drummer around igor! every track is unique and this is a solid album that all sep fans shld own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell yeah!, 17 May 2003
By 
Anti (Santos, SP, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Since 2001's Nation, little had been heard from brazilian metal kings Sepultura. By the end of 2002 a mini-covers-album hit Brazil and Japan, but it wasn't an worldwide release. Therefore, we can consider Roorback as being their first effort since Nation.
And how well they did it! Roorback is fast, furious, angry and, yet, considerably different.
The album kickess off with "Come Back Alive". It's by far their angriest and fastest song since 93's Refuse/Resist. The initial riff reminds somehow "Roots Bloody Roots", while the rest of the song is completely insane.
"Godless" slow things down a little, with some percursion work in its end. Good song, though not one of the best in the record.
"Apes of Good" begins with a thrash-riff which could've easily been taken from a Slayer album, and continues with same violence. Killer!
"More of the Same" is a bit more slow and, sometimes, melodic. Gets very heavy by the end. Great song.
"Urge" is probably the worst song in the entire album. It seems they put together a whole bunch of riffs, which didn't work out. Bad song.
"Corrupted" is so heavy that as soon as the drums kick off you begin to imagine the mosh pit blowing away, once the song is played live.
"As It is" is just a regular song, though not bad.
"Mindwar" had already been released in the internet, and it's awesome.
"Leech" is completely hardcore, 2 minutes long.
"The rift" is a masterpiece.
"Bottomed Out" contains a long guitar-solo, which is very good. Slow song, completely different from the rest of the album, reminds me of "The Ways of Faith".
"Activist" finishes the hell of a great album, their best since 93's masterpiece "Chaos AD". Sepultura are coming back.
Come back alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sepultura - Roorback, 21 May 2003
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
The best so far by Sepultura, with new vocalist Derek Green. Roorback sets a new standard for Sepultura. This album is amazing. From thrash tracks such as Come Back Alive, to the Clean lyrical beginning of Bottomed Out. A definate must have for any Sepultura fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sepultura - Roorback, 21 May 2003
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
The best so far by Sepultura, with new vocalist Derek Green. Roorback sets a new standard for Sepultura. This album is amazing. From thrash tracks such as Come Back Alive, to the Clean lyrical beginning of Bottomed Out. A definate must have for any Sepultura fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 4 Jun. 2003
By 
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
sepultura is very strong again and i think this album is one of the bests. especially mindwar, come back alive, corrupted and leech are my favorites. also the U2 cover "bullet the blue sky" is cool. briefly, buy and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sepultura are back on track, 24 July 2003
This review is from: Roorback (Audio CD)
You somtimes feel sorry for sepultura becuse max left the band and Derrick Green did not find his feet on the last 2 albums.
But every thing is diffrent now becuse with a new label SPV
sepultura return with a masterpiece of a album.
The songs on the album use diffrent vocals on each track
from screamy vocals on come back around to melodic on as it is
Derrick green vocals are way better than maxs vocals becuse derrick has so many vocal ranges plus Andrea Kisser guitar skilll are amazing on this album with Paulo brillent bass lines and Igor Cavalera (in my opinion) is the best drummer in the world of metal.
with this album you get revolusongs which is full of cover version from exodus piranhato massive atacks angel.
But my favorite cover version is publc enamy(sorry about the spelling) black steel in the hour of power.
Over all a brillient album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to roots!, 29 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Yes Sepultura is back with another album, and yes they have truely found their feet again. Derrick Green is no longer the Max replacement, he is the lead singer of Sepultura and yes he can play guitar as seen in recent shows. The album has that thick heaviness that was frankly missing from Against and Nation, and it is a welcome return. The whole thing just gels and makes you sit up and listen. The added EP Revolusongs is an added extra well worth having, doing covers of everyone from Massive Attack to U2(they actually make U2 sound good, astounding I know). GREAT ALBUM NOW TRY AND GET THE SMILE OF MY FACE, THE SEPS ARE BACK TO SLAP YOU AROUND \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bore-back!, 9 Nov. 2003
By 
Mr. Daniel J. Bache "dbache" (plymouth devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roorback (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Sepultura are in my mind, legendary.they are one of the bands responsible for taking thrash and giving it a much needed slap in the face. Every release so far has seen them pushing boundaries further and further.It goes to show that after Max Cavalera left he carried on rehashing their "Roots" album with Soulfly while Sepultura released two creative and adventurous yet underrated albums,"Against" and" Nation ".But now it seems that sepultura are starting to lose interest." Roorback " is certainly not the supposed "return to form" that was publicised, in truth it discards all the progress that was present on their last few releases in favour of straight metal songs. but without that certain imaginative flair it just suonds startlingly remedial,it seems that they have given in and tried too hard to give every bone- headed metal fan that could'nt stand a change of clothes, let alone a change in sound what they want and end up sounding tired and bored in the process.Disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roorback (Ltd.)
Roorback (Ltd.) by Sepultura (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews