Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, new songs from All About Eve!
This is a live recording from All About Eve's 2002 tour. If you are a big fan of the band, then you will definitely want this CD. It's very much a warts and all record of a gig - the sound quality is pretty poor, and mistakes and squeals of feedback are retained. But in a way that adds to the feeling of really being there.
The best thing for the fan however are the 5...
Published on 3 July 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Live All About Eve
One Of my favorite groups but the sound quality is not very good on this album, and I;m quite fond of live albums.
Published 9 months ago by Mr. P. Fletcher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, new songs from All About Eve!, 3 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
This is a live recording from All About Eve's 2002 tour. If you are a big fan of the band, then you will definitely want this CD. It's very much a warts and all record of a gig - the sound quality is pretty poor, and mistakes and squeals of feedback are retained. But in a way that adds to the feeling of really being there.
The best thing for the fan however are the 5 new songs: for me the standouts are the opening 'Let Me Go Home' and 'Daisychains'. There are powerful versions of 'Phased' and 'I Don't Know' from the criminally underrated Ultraviolet album, and a great cover of 'Life On Mars'. If there is a criticism, it's that the overall pace of the album is a little slow in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST, new material, and how!!!, 16 May 2003
By 
Arthur Gill (York, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
After enjoying the delights of the "Fairy Light Nights" releases, and the stonking "Live At Union Chapel" disc, at last we can enjoy the first new AAE material as a band, in years. (Iceland as a side project with just Jules and Andy, does not 'officially' count, as such!).
There are some great renditions of classic songs here, but the standout tracks must be the new ones. The song writing is just as good as always.
First off, one to shake off the cobwebs, 'Let me go home'. Great guitar form Toni, Andy pounding a meaty Bass line, and Julianne showing the kids how it *can* be done!
3rd track in, 'Somebody said'. A great song, really showing off Juliannes voice for what it is.. Amazing! After a live version of 'Blue sonic Boy’, a Mice track and one of Juliannes previous solo projects, we get to 'Daisychains'. A beautiful song, very reminiscent of (dare I say it) early AAE. A gentle melody with poignant lyrics. Sublime! After a couple more tracks (one from the very much underrated "Ultraviolet" album,) we get to 'Ctrl - alt - del'. A track that was underplayed on the recent live tour. Last new track here is 'Sodium'. Atmospheric, dark, and brooding.. All with a slight huskiness almost to the delivery from Julianne.
Last track is a stonking cover of David Bowies' 'Life on mars', delivered perfectly. Buy this, or even better, get the DVD as well. (great to listen to, but even better to watch, and with extra tracks!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinemasonic - All About Eve (Live), 16 May 2003
By 
Paul Cailes (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic release from a band at the peak of their powers. Recorded live and electric in May 2002 it features no less than 5 previously unreleased new songs including the awesome 'Let me go home' and 'Contol, Alt, Delete' plus the wonderful 'Somebody Said'. Other songs featured are 'Touched by Jesus', 'I Don't Know, the awesome 'Phased' and a great version of Bowie's 'Life on Mars'. I seriously can't tell you how good this is. 5 STARS NO QUESTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Songs, 3 May 2003
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
Went to see them live on 1st May 2003 at Newcastle....What a great set they played and I bought the CD straight after it. There were a few people shouting for the old stuff and Julianne quite rightly explained that "We do not want to be our own tribute band". She described Marther's Harbour as "Marther's Boring Harbour" and proceeded with the new songs. The Hightlight for me is "Daisychains" but can't fault all the other new songs either. I have eagrly been awaiting new songs for ages and AAE have delivered. Juilanne's voice is as etheral as ever, lyrics are perfect and the new Guitarist and drummer are fantastic. Good to see that AAE still have it and are still with us....recommed that you buy this album until a new, promised, studio album is out....me, I can't wait. Welcome back....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalising taster of things to come., 9 Jun 2003
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
Recorded on their May 2002 UK tour,this latest live offering from All About Eve sees them mix a sneaky preview of new material,which will surely grace a new studio album in the not too distant future,with timeless classics from a couple of their previous four studio masterpieces.In new guitarist,Toni Haimi,AAE have found a worthy replacement to recently departed,long time 'Eve, Marty Willson-Piper.And its testament to him and the rest of the band,including founder members Andy Cousin on bass and the utterly unique and sublimely talented Julianne Regan on voice and occasional keyboards,that they pulled this off so soon after such an influential force in the band had parted company.From the opening haunting but angelic sounds of Regan's voice,laced with subtle effects,over the PA,you're left in no doubt that this album is going to be an aural treat to savour time and time again.In all,there are five new songs here along with one from Julianne's side project,Mice and they show just how this band are still at the top of their game.From the industrial and distorted rock sounds of opener "Let me go home" and "Ctrl.Alt.Delete" to the beautifully soft "Somebody said" and dreamy "Daisychains" along with the melancholy and almost claustrophobic "Sodium", we are shown that AAE do not intend resting on their laurels.Older material is by no means out of place here either,with fans long time favourites "The Dreamer","Touched by Jesus" and a truly awesome delivery of the wonderful crescendo,"Phased",only adding to the over all atmosphere of this stunning live perfomance.Julianne Regan is blessed with just the most beautifully unique voice,which on the slower songs would melt a heart of stone,yet can also rise to be powerful enough not to be drowned out by the rest of the band when things really get going as they often do.A truly perfect combination.We'realso treated to a David Bowie classic "Life on Mars" which,in my humble opinion,outshines the original.If there's one criticism I can aim at this album,it's that it's over all too soon.But as they say,all good things come to an end,but with this you only have to reach and hit the play button again and theres only more to come.After a lengthy absence in the early to late nineties,All About Eve are thankfully back on top songwriting form once again and if you missed out on them the first time around,do yourself a huge favour and give this a spin and open yourself to the magic that is All About Eve.Heaven on a small silver platter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalising taster of things to come., 9 Jun 2003
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
Recorded on their May 2002 UK tour,this latest live offering from All About Eve sees them mix a sneaky preview of new material,which will surely grace a new studio album in the not too distant future,with timeless classics from a couple of their previous four studio masterpieces.In new guitarist,Toni Haimi,AAE have found a worthy replacement to recently departed,long time 'Eve, Marty Willson-Piper.And its testament to him and the rest of the band,including founder members Andy Cousin on bass and the utterly unique and sublimely talented Julianne Regan on voice and occasional keyboards,that they pulled this off so soon after such an influential force in the band had parted company.From the opening haunting but angelic sounds of Regan's voice,laced with subtle effects,over the PA,you're left in no doubt that this album is going to be an aural treat to savour time and time again.In all,there are five new songs here along with one from Julianne's side project,Mice and they show just how this band are still at the top of their game.From the industrial and distorted rock sounds of opener "Let me go home" and "Ctrl.Alt.Delete" to the beautifully soft "Somebody said" and dreamy "Daisychains" along with the melancholy and almost claustrophobic "Sodium", we are shown that AAE do not intend resting on their laurels.Older material is by no means out of place here either,with fans long time favourites "The Dreamer","Touched by Jesus" and a truly awesome delivery of the wonderful crescendo,"Phased",only adding to the over all atmosphere of this stunning live perfomance.Julianne Regan is blessed with just the most beautifully unique voice,which on the slower songs would melt a heart of stone,yet can also rise to be powerful enough not to be drowned out by the rest of the band when things really get going as they often do.A truly perfect combination.We'realso treated to a David Bowie classic "Life on Mars" which,in my humble opinion,outshines the original.If there's one criticism I can aim at this album,it's that it's over all too soon.But as they say,all good things come to an end,but with this you only have to reach and hit the play button again and theres only more to come.After a lengthy absence in the early to late nineties,All About Eve are thankfully back on top songwriting form once again and if you missed out on them the first time around,do yourself a huge favour and give this a spin and open yourself to the magic that is All About Eve.Heaven on a small silver platter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Live All About Eve, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. P. Fletcher "Karma" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinemasonic (Audio CD)
One Of my favorite groups but the sound quality is not very good on this album, and I;m quite fond of live albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cinemasonic
Cinemasonic by All About Eve (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews